SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3559 (Retro '60s Dress (Swell Dress))

7 more reviews
Viewed 1116 times 
Reviewed by:SarahSM
photo

 
 
About SarahSMstar
OR USA
Member since: 1/17/07
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/08 10:35 PM
Last Updated:2/3/08 10:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mrs quickly said...
You look amazing in that color! The dress is beautiful. Love the look of the tights and boots.
2/3/08 11:05 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Wow! That is a great dress. Love the lines, love your fabric. I can't believe it was only $1.99/yd.! Perfect color for you and looks expertly sewn. One of my favorite vintage details is a diamond-shaped underarm gusset. That would have solved the ease problem, too. Love your fashion shoot location, too!
2/3/08 11:06 PM
Peggy L said...
Very flattering style on you - and what a great deal on that beautiful fabric. I remember sewing something very similar - when it wasn't vintage!:)
2/3/08 11:30 PM
SarahSM said...
svenskaflicka: Thanks for the tip about the gusset. I googled it and that makes sense. I'm completely ignorant about vintage patterns, so I was at a loss. I wonder if the original had that element and it was edited out of the re-issue? Hmmm...
2/4/08 0:11 AM
CharityAK said...
This is meticulously executed and looks fabulous on you. The color is perfect for your beautiful eyes. And what a deal! Beautiful job.
2/4/08 0:20 AM
Sic said...
Gorgeous - the color, construction, fabric and fit! Thank you for the review - I recently re-discovered this pattern while browsing my stash last week and now am motivated to make it!
2/4/08 7:39 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That dress looks amazing on you! It is perfect for winter - love that wool!!
2/4/08 11:04 AM
moss said...
Gorgeous dress. And the pictures are great too :)
2/4/08 11:53 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent review of a beautiful blue dress which you sewed to perfection. Killer color for you! And your photo is really gorgeous; how did you arrange for the plane 'fly by'? You look great. -Lily
2/4/08 12:37 PM
michellep74 said...
That color is gorgeous on you! You really did a nice job both fitting and sewing this!
2/4/08 1:10 PM
SarahSM said...
Lily: The "fly-by" is, I guess one, of the advantages of living near the airport---fortuitous photo ops!
2/4/08 2:21 PM
Lana E said...
Great review! You have alot of useful information here. I'm about to sew this dress and appreciate your input on the sleeve problems. Your dress turned out so lovely, and you look beautiful in it too!
12/9/08 8:25 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

StyleArc Nina cardigan

photo
by: Sigrid.

Review
Simplicity 7083

photo
by: Jenny Jo

Review
Chloe Handbag

Chloe Handbag

Buy Now
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now