SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3559 (Retro '60s Dress (Swell Dress))

7 more reviews
Viewed 1116 times 
Reviewed by:SarahSM
photo

 
 
About SarahSMstar
OR USA
Member since: 1/17/07
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/3/08 10:35 PM
Last Updated:2/3/08 10:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lana E said...
Great review! You have alot of useful information here. I'm about to sew this dress and appreciate your input on the sleeve problems. Your dress turned out so lovely, and you look beautiful in it too!
12/9/08 8:25 PM
SarahSM said...
Lily: The "fly-by" is, I guess one, of the advantages of living near the airport---fortuitous photo ops!
2/4/08 2:21 PM
michellep74 said...
That color is gorgeous on you! You really did a nice job both fitting and sewing this!
2/4/08 1:10 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent review of a beautiful blue dress which you sewed to perfection. Killer color for you! And your photo is really gorgeous; how did you arrange for the plane 'fly by'? You look great. -Lily
2/4/08 12:37 PM
moss said...
Gorgeous dress. And the pictures are great too :)
2/4/08 11:53 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
That dress looks amazing on you! It is perfect for winter - love that wool!!
2/4/08 11:04 AM
Sic said...
Gorgeous - the color, construction, fabric and fit! Thank you for the review - I recently re-discovered this pattern while browsing my stash last week and now am motivated to make it!
2/4/08 7:39 AM
CharityAK said...
This is meticulously executed and looks fabulous on you. The color is perfect for your beautiful eyes. And what a deal! Beautiful job.
2/4/08 0:20 AM
SarahSM said...
svenskaflicka: Thanks for the tip about the gusset. I googled it and that makes sense. I'm completely ignorant about vintage patterns, so I was at a loss. I wonder if the original had that element and it was edited out of the re-issue? Hmmm...
2/4/08 0:11 AM
Peggy L said...
Very flattering style on you - and what a great deal on that beautiful fabric. I remember sewing something very similar - when it wasn't vintage!:)
2/3/08 11:30 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Wow! That is a great dress. Love the lines, love your fabric. I can't believe it was only $1.99/yd.! Perfect color for you and looks expertly sewn. One of my favorite vintage details is a diamond-shaped underarm gusset. That would have solved the ease problem, too. Love your fashion shoot location, too!
2/3/08 11:06 PM
mrs quickly said...
You look amazing in that color! The dress is beautiful. Love the look of the tights and boots.
2/3/08 11:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

New Look 6448

photo
by: zoeope

Review
Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Urban T-Shirt & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1292

photo
by: Quickie

Review