SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Lazy Girl Designs> bb (Bold Bags Book)

Viewed 913 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 352
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 287 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/5/08 1:29 PM
Last Updated:2/5/08 1:31 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LindsayT said...
Um, you made this?! Wow, I am so impressed. It is so cute and trendy (trendy in a good way, that is).
2/5/08 1:56 PM
Joan Hawley said...
Hi Deepika, Your Cup of Coffee bag is fabulous! I love it in the green/black combination. And the charm is a perfect addition. Great job! Joan, Lazy Girl
2/5/08 3:05 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
CUTE!! Deepika, are the edges raw? That is, are the seam allowances innies or outies? ;-)
2/5/08 3:20 PM
Re Becca said...
Did you need a heavy duty machine to sew this? It looks very cute, I love the color
2/5/08 3:24 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
CUTE, Deepika! Do you carry your purse so that the zippered part is showing in front--for security reasons?
2/5/08 3:54 PM
Deepika said...
Leslie The edges are all raw. Its sewn wrong sides together. The book suggests using acrylic paints to "seal" the edges, which I am going to try. Rebecca, I actually used my old Kenmore to sew this bag as my Janome is in the shop. All you need is a teflon foot and a leather needle. Read my tips on sewing with leather. Always do a test first on your sewing machine to see if it'll sew it but my guess, you'll be fine. Rhonda Yes actually I do carry it sideways, but I dont mind. The zipper is pretty secure. And the pull is towards the handle is I know it's closed. Hope this makes sense.
2/5/08 4:19 PM
ConnieBJ said...
Love the purse Deepika!! I am looking for red leather (or faux) and will try that from Joanns - and I see they now ship to Canada!
2/5/08 5:13 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your bag is beautiful; the leather choice results in a Cup of Green Tea, and happens to be my favourite color. It is both charming and a bit sophisticated. I'm quite envious. -Lily
2/5/08 5:55 PM
Kim Winson said...
Wonderful! Amazing! Stylish! Cool! Love the bag!
2/5/08 10:26 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Deepika, this looks so professional! Love the unique style.
2/6/08 0:17 AM
cindyann said...
What a cute bag! Just love that color.
2/6/08 8:01 AM
marjenann said...
Now how sharp is that bag??? I may have to have one of my very own!!
2/6/08 8:09 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Oh this is just the coolest! Love the moc crock. So professional!!
2/6/08 8:44 AM
Hilary said...
That is adorable!! What a great design, I love the coffee cup style :o) only I'd make it a cocoa cup since I don't drink coffee, lol. Great job! Oh and that is such a cute charm Annika made!
2/6/08 9:57 AM
Mufffet said...
Looks "store bought!" Love the color!
2/6/08 11:37 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love your color combo and that bag just couldn't be any better!! Love the charm.
2/6/08 11:38 AM
CynthiaSue said...
WHAT? you MADE this?? I would pay$$$ for this in a store. This color is fab!! Thank you for introducing me to bags that don't have to be sewn with fabric!
2/6/08 5:38 PM
croglodyte said...
Deepika - I am SO impressed with this! Wonderful job!!!
2/9/08 4:26 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I don't really love making bags, but this one could force me into it. I love it!
2/9/08 5:14 PM
HeyJane said...
That looks VERY 'expensive boutique'. Thanks for the info and adding to my bag addiction because I MUST check out moc croc and Bold Bags!
2/10/08 8:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now