Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2934 (Vintage Vogue Misses Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1189 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 30 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/8/08 5:00 PM
Last Updated:2/8/08 7:55 PM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Oh how beautiful! Love it with the scarf!
2/8/08 5:22 PM
Linda G said...
You did a wonderful job. I really like the fabric....two years that is nothing to be embarassed about!!! I don't think you will win the oldest stash contest if two years embarasses you ;-)
2/8/08 6:02 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, that's a contest we could have: Who can make a winning garment from the OLDEST fabric in their stash. :o)
2/8/08 7:30 PM
frame said...
Your jacket is beautiful. You did a wonderful job. Great review.
2/8/08 7:31 PM
carolynw said...
Ooh la la Madame Annette - c'est tres bon - hey I don't know if that's correct French but I absoloutely love what you have done. You must have taken great care and time because it looks totally perfect - ever get tired of it - well you know who would want it don't you? Thanks for such a helpful review but one question - the pattern does not look like it has sleeves - are there really sleeves in it?
2/8/08 7:35 PM
ryansmumAria said...
It is beautiful! Congratulations. I agree, it would look better much longer but you may not be able to do it due to the style. Just gorgeous.
2/8/08 8:08 PM
frankenpattern said...
Thank you for the review. You've made a beautiful jacket and it was very clever of you to make it reversible. Do you think that the pattern could be adapted into a coat?
2/8/08 9:21 PM
Kay Y said...
Just lovely - beautiful fabric! I can see why you wanted to use both sides of it.
2/8/08 9:36 PM
marjenann said...
What a classy, exquisite jacket! The details, the fabric, the style! Fabulicious! -Annette
2/8/08 10:03 PM
marjenann said...
What a classy, exquisite jacket! The details, the fabric, the style! Fabulicious! -Annette
2/8/08 10:03 PM
Nancywin said...
This turned out beautifully. I love both sides of the fabric and your button choices as well. With the double layers of fabric, this should keep you nice and warm. It really is beautiful
2/8/08 10:10 PM
Peggy L said...
Gorgeous!! I love what you've done with this one. Great review. I have a Vintage Vogue coat/jacket ready to cut. There is a contest later this year for the "oldest fabric". Somehow I don't think two years would even get an Honorable Mention.
2/8/08 10:16 PM
Mahler said...
Annette, this is an excellent review. The fabric, your reversible creation, your personnal touch , all of that combines to make a perfect garment. Superbe realy ! Three tumbs up.
2/8/08 10:28 PM
Annette1 said...
Allegro: I don't know. I was toying with the idea of making it longer somehow, but since I hadn't ever even made it in the first place, I thought, well, I'll just make it right out of the envelope (pretty much). I think it COULD be done (made into a coat), with a little thought, but you'd end up having to rework those sleeves completely, if you really wanted a true sleeve. I suppose in that case we could just start with a true coat pattern -- ha! I keep trying to put it on as if it WERE a coat, and when I sling it around to put my other arm in the "sleeve," my elbow goes in the sleeve instead. :o) (I love your name, by the way.)
2/8/08 10:43 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Fabulous fabric (both sides) which you have transformed into a stunningly chic retro 40's cape/jacket. You look lovely. Wonderfully instructive review; thank you for sharing it with us. And Punkin knows a walkin' cape when he sees one. -Lily
2/8/08 11:52 PM
CharityAK said...
What a wonderfully detailed review! And it's just beautiful. It looks fantastic on you.
2/9/08 0:05 AM
Athene said...
Lovely jacket - I especially like it being reversible.
2/9/08 1:09 AM
Athene said...
Lovely jacket - I especially like it being reversible.
2/9/08 1:10 AM
rivergum said...
That is such a gorgeous jacket, Annette! I wish I had your talent.
2/9/08 3:20 AM
Shrazzy said...
Darling jacket!
2/9/08 6:17 AM
Karen8320 said...
Annette, just magnificent work as all your sewing is!!! I have such admiration for anyone who does a reversible garment because you have to get it just right and can't hide anything. I love what you've done with the buttons and loops. They look fantastic and the fabric is just perfect for this! Well done!
2/9/08 7:18 AM
Fran G said...
Looks great, Annette..very elegant! Love the fabric!
2/9/08 7:33 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Your review is a sewing tutorial. I so appreciate all the effort and expertise you shared. I love you cape/jacket. It is beautiful.
2/9/08 8:22 AM
Jane S said...
What a wondeful, beautiful jacket. I saw that fabric at Fabric Mart and thought it was beautiful. And you took great advantage of such a unique fabric and turned it into something so special...two jackets!! Thanks for such an instructive review on making a reversible jacket as well.
2/9/08 9:11 AM
Heatherrique said...
Ah........I adore your jacket, Annette! Vintage, but so cutting edge! I appreciate you taking the time to share this with us and I will keep your review handy because of the cool techniques! Yeah!
2/9/08 11:20 AM
HeyJane said...
Wow extremely elegant. I love your button and loop ideas, and the trim. Thank you for informative review! P.S. I have silk retrieved from a deceased relative's house (still in a plastic box thank goodness) that was from Hong Kong, my husband brought back when he was in the navy. I do not want to admit how many years ago that was. whoa
2/9/08 3:07 PM
cmarie12 said...
What a wonderful jacket and a well-written review! I love the fact that you made the jacket reversible and that you chose your buttons to reflect the fabric on either side! Absolutely stunning!
2/9/08 4:03 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, this is utterly fabulous! With the gloves it's to die for :-).
2/10/08 7:22 AM
Grammy Gin said...
So beautiful Annette! The scarf & gloves really add a nice touch! I really love it & will keep it for reference when making a reversible jacket or coat... great review!! ;-)
2/10/08 4:38 PM
cathy45 said...
I love it! It's so elegant and stylish (and your aqua gloves make it to die for!). Thank you for all the how-tos. Your work is always so inspiring.
2/10/08 5:16 PM
gabc said...
Your jacket is so beautiful! Thank you so much for all these tips on the construction.
8/11/12 9:19 AM
Lenarciak said...
Wow! Wonderful job! Great garment!
2/3/14 2:54 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Self Drafted Pattern 106177-1002 jeans
photo
Review by geraldine on 10/23/08
Read Review

New Look 6889 Pattern
New Look 6889 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1280 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 130436-1001
photo
Review by NicholeMc on 8/17/08
Read Review

Archer Shirt
Archer Shirt

Details
Price: $10.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us