SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1049 (Epic DB leather Jacket Quest)

Viewed 1540 times 
Reviewed by:Re Becca
photo

 
 
About Re Beccastarstarstar
Member since: 9/12/05
Reviews written: 78
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/08 11:31 PM
Last Updated:4/17/08 0:06 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jupiter, FL said...
So, five and a half years on, I'd like to thank you for your review! I have never attempted ANYTHING with leather, but am now contemplating a modest try on adding some leather detail to a wool skirt. Your fearless plunge into such an amazing project and your really exceptional results are an inspiration!
10/23/13 3:24 PM
carolynw said...
Oh boy have you ever done an expert job here - this looks like really expensive RTW
4/19/08 9:08 AM
jhansby said...
Very nice!!
4/17/08 5:08 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a challenging, but interesting project this was. Congratulations on your resounding success.
4/17/08 4:54 PM
LisaG said...
Your jacket is incredible, even without the "montgomery"! Obviously, it wasn't needed for this to be a success! I'll echo what everyone else said here. The fit is great, the style is cool and the details are superb. Great job--and congratulations for having the courage to sew leather. BTW, my favorite picture is the back flap, which shows one of your gorgeous cats hunting binder clips!
4/17/08 11:40 AM
goldenthreads said...
You deserve giant applause. Your coat looks great, it fits great, and the tailoring is superb. Congratulations
4/17/08 9:58 AM
meli88a said...
gorgeous. beautiful. awe-inspiring. Thank you for sharing this jacket with us! I am amazed. I have looked at your pictures 3 times over already just reading the review. I love the leather you chose and the snaps - it looks so modern and sleek.
4/17/08 9:36 AM
LindsayT said...
Can I add some more wows to the ones you've already gotten? Wow, wow, wow...
4/17/08 9:33 AM
Kay Y said...
Beautiful jacket - congratulations on getting it to the finish line!
4/17/08 9:07 AM
Sic said...
Wow! I love this jacket and am so impressed with your construction skills! Thank you for giving a beginning sewer something to aspire to!
4/17/08 8:30 AM
cindyann said...
What a fantastic looking jacket! I have some leather destined to become a jacket this fall so your review will really be helpful to me when I get to that project.
4/17/08 7:38 AM
Marji said...
You can go back to feeling invincible again. WOW! this is just fabulous - looks so professional - your fit is great, your workmanship is great. I hope you enjoy this and get some semblance of winter to wear it for years to come. Bravo!
4/17/08 7:36 AM
dorothyn said...
Holy smokes, this is SO professional looking. I have a few deerskin pelts in my stash that my dad gave to me, but I've never had the nerve to do anything with them. Your efforts are certainly inspiring.
4/17/08 7:11 AM
Peggy L said...
Wow!! It turned out really, really great!! Congratulations on "finishing". I'm glad you got to wear it once before the heat and humidity descend on us.
4/17/08 5:35 AM
yorkshire lass said...
wonderful jacket. I am sure you will be wearing it for years to come. Congratulations on finishing it.
4/17/08 3:46 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Fabulous leather jacket, Re Becca, as I knew it would be! Your review made me laugh throughout and I'm sure your cats will miss the binder clips. What amazing beautiful work you've done here. Lovely, Lily
4/17/08 2:34 AM
Dmd4106 said...
A fantastic jacket. Really enjoyed your review.
4/17/08 2:20 AM
Jatman said...
I have never laughed so hard reading a review here! Thank you for the entertaining and enlightening review. The jacket is gorgeous!
4/17/08 0:55 AM
Erica B. said...
What a great leather jacket!
4/17/08 0:24 AM
Beek said...
Truly designer quality. It will never go out of style and will always look sophisticated!
3/11/08 7:48 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
You're coming along beautifully. Your thumbnail doesn't enlarge but I can tell that your lapel lays perfectly. And I'm sure your topstitching is excellent, too. -Lily
3/11/08 1:00 AM
mylittleelephant said...
This is going to be exciting! Just can't wait for the photos of your finished jacket!
3/6/08 1:19 PM
Karen6790 said...
Beautiful job. I just finished a leather jacket and my workroom is full of binder clips, paper clips and bobby pins (whatever works for whichever seam)! I'm looking forward to the final jacket.
2/27/08 8:26 PM
RobinE said...
Wow! Thanks so much for sharing your experiences. Your jacket is going to be amazing when complete!
2/27/08 12:20 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Mmm...mmm...mmm. Your meticulous and challenging work is slowly progressing into a killer of a leather (Marfy -wow!) jacket! Love the cognac color, too, so timeless. -Lily
2/27/08 0:36 AM
Annette1 said...
I love the flaps -- much more than patch pockets. (NATURALLY, since they're harder.) :o) Everything looks so professional!
2/26/08 11:27 PM
JulieP said...
Wow! You are brave and it looks great so far. Just an option - you could do a zipper instead of buttons on the front. I don't know if it would be any easier or not, and it would change the look. I guess that would make it more of a biker jacket than a trench. Never mind.
2/19/08 5:51 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, WOW! What fantastic details you're incorporating into this jacket. And don't worry, no matter how long it takes you, it'll never go out of style. :o)
2/12/08 12:26 PM
Kay Y said...
You are very brave, making a MARFY LEATHER JACKET with no muslin! But sometimes, you have to just take the plunge. It looks great so far.
2/12/08 9:43 AM
Karine said...
You, my dear, have grossly understated your sewing level! Leather AND Marfy - very impressive! It's going to be fabulous.
2/12/08 8:20 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow, impressive.
2/12/08 5:22 AM
Re Becca said...
NancyK, Low tack painter tape is a great idea. I tried scotch tape and it took the finish off. I am still not making all those buttonholes unless absolutely NOTHING else works. ETA: I didn't say that alcohol wasn't involved!
2/12/08 0:18 AM
lmg said...
Wow..this will be gorgeous! I think I need a whole bottle of wine before I plan on any pattern for leather, but Marfy would be my first choice.
2/11/08 11:07 PM
Nancy K said...
Your jacket is looking great. I am making a leather jacket too and I needed a gin and tonic after I made the bound buttonholes! By the way, I found that low tack painting tape is great for holding things in place.
2/11/08 10:35 PM
Peggy L said...
This is a classic. Its going to be gorgeous.
2/11/08 8:02 PM
hongkongshopper said...
This is going to be great. And I don't think it will ever go out of style. Good luck!
2/11/08 6:50 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your details are gorgeous; this is going to be a stunner just like your former leather jacket.
2/11/08 6:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 4236

photo
by: Miss Jasmi...

Review

Pattern

StyleArc Polly Top

photo
by: michellep7...

Review
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

Sew Chic Spin Skirt Pattern (ln1209)

More Info