SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1049 (Epic DB leather Jacket Quest)

Viewed 1536 times 
Reviewed by:Re Becca
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Re Beccastarstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/12/05
Reviews written: 71
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/16/08 11:31 PM
Last Updated:4/17/08 0:06 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lilyofthevalley said...
Your details are gorgeous; this is going to be a stunner just like your former leather jacket.
2/11/08 6:29 PM
hongkongshopper said...
This is going to be great. And I don't think it will ever go out of style. Good luck!
2/11/08 6:50 PM
Peggy L said...
This is a classic. Its going to be gorgeous.
2/11/08 8:02 PM
Nancy K said...
Your jacket is looking great. I am making a leather jacket too and I needed a gin and tonic after I made the bound buttonholes! By the way, I found that low tack painting tape is great for holding things in place.
2/11/08 10:35 PM
lmg said...
Wow..this will be gorgeous! I think I need a whole bottle of wine before I plan on any pattern for leather, but Marfy would be my first choice.
2/11/08 11:07 PM
Re Becca said...
NancyK, Low tack painter tape is a great idea. I tried scotch tape and it took the finish off. I am still not making all those buttonholes unless absolutely NOTHING else works. ETA: I didn't say that alcohol wasn't involved!
2/12/08 0:18 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow, impressive.
2/12/08 5:22 AM
Karine said...
You, my dear, have grossly understated your sewing level! Leather AND Marfy - very impressive! It's going to be fabulous.
2/12/08 8:20 AM
Kay Y said...
You are very brave, making a MARFY LEATHER JACKET with no muslin! But sometimes, you have to just take the plunge. It looks great so far.
2/12/08 9:43 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, WOW! What fantastic details you're incorporating into this jacket. And don't worry, no matter how long it takes you, it'll never go out of style. :o)
2/12/08 12:26 PM
JulieP said...
Wow! You are brave and it looks great so far. Just an option - you could do a zipper instead of buttons on the front. I don't know if it would be any easier or not, and it would change the look. I guess that would make it more of a biker jacket than a trench. Never mind.
2/19/08 5:51 PM
Annette1 said...
I love the flaps -- much more than patch pockets. (NATURALLY, since they're harder.) :o) Everything looks so professional!
2/26/08 11:27 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Mmm...mmm...mmm. Your meticulous and challenging work is slowly progressing into a killer of a leather (Marfy -wow!) jacket! Love the cognac color, too, so timeless. -Lily
2/27/08 0:36 AM
RobinE said...
Wow! Thanks so much for sharing your experiences. Your jacket is going to be amazing when complete!
2/27/08 12:20 PM
Karen6790 said...
Beautiful job. I just finished a leather jacket and my workroom is full of binder clips, paper clips and bobby pins (whatever works for whichever seam)! I'm looking forward to the final jacket.
2/27/08 8:26 PM
mylittleelephant said...
This is going to be exciting! Just can't wait for the photos of your finished jacket!
3/6/08 1:19 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
You're coming along beautifully. Your thumbnail doesn't enlarge but I can tell that your lapel lays perfectly. And I'm sure your topstitching is excellent, too. -Lily
3/11/08 1:00 AM
Beek said...
Truly designer quality. It will never go out of style and will always look sophisticated!
3/11/08 7:48 AM
Erica B. said...
What a great leather jacket!
4/17/08 0:24 AM
Jatman said...
I have never laughed so hard reading a review here! Thank you for the entertaining and enlightening review. The jacket is gorgeous!
4/17/08 0:55 AM
Dmd4106 said...
A fantastic jacket. Really enjoyed your review.
4/17/08 2:20 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Fabulous leather jacket, Re Becca, as I knew it would be! Your review made me laugh throughout and I'm sure your cats will miss the binder clips. What amazing beautiful work you've done here. Lovely, Lily
4/17/08 2:34 AM
yorkshire lass said...
wonderful jacket. I am sure you will be wearing it for years to come. Congratulations on finishing it.
4/17/08 3:46 AM
Peggy L said...
Wow!! It turned out really, really great!! Congratulations on "finishing". I'm glad you got to wear it once before the heat and humidity descend on us.
4/17/08 5:35 AM
dorothyn said...
Holy smokes, this is SO professional looking. I have a few deerskin pelts in my stash that my dad gave to me, but I've never had the nerve to do anything with them. Your efforts are certainly inspiring.
4/17/08 7:11 AM
Marji said...
You can go back to feeling invincible again. WOW! this is just fabulous - looks so professional - your fit is great, your workmanship is great. I hope you enjoy this and get some semblance of winter to wear it for years to come. Bravo!
4/17/08 7:36 AM
cindyann said...
What a fantastic looking jacket! I have some leather destined to become a jacket this fall so your review will really be helpful to me when I get to that project.
4/17/08 7:38 AM
Sic said...
Wow! I love this jacket and am so impressed with your construction skills! Thank you for giving a beginning sewer something to aspire to!
4/17/08 8:30 AM
Kay Y said...
Beautiful jacket - congratulations on getting it to the finish line!
4/17/08 9:07 AM
LindsayT said...
Can I add some more wows to the ones you've already gotten? Wow, wow, wow...
4/17/08 9:33 AM
meli88a said...
gorgeous. beautiful. awe-inspiring. Thank you for sharing this jacket with us! I am amazed. I have looked at your pictures 3 times over already just reading the review. I love the leather you chose and the snaps - it looks so modern and sleek.
4/17/08 9:36 AM
goldenthreads said...
You deserve giant applause. Your coat looks great, it fits great, and the tailoring is superb. Congratulations
4/17/08 9:58 AM
LisaG said...
Your jacket is incredible, even without the "montgomery"! Obviously, it wasn't needed for this to be a success! I'll echo what everyone else said here. The fit is great, the style is cool and the details are superb. Great job--and congratulations for having the courage to sew leather. BTW, my favorite picture is the back flap, which shows one of your gorgeous cats hunting binder clips!
4/17/08 11:40 AM
CarolynGM said...
What a challenging, but interesting project this was. Congratulations on your resounding success.
4/17/08 4:54 PM
jhansby said...
Very nice!!
4/17/08 5:08 PM
carolynw said...
Oh boy have you ever done an expert job here - this looks like really expensive RTW
4/19/08 9:08 AM
Jupiter, FL said...
So, five and a half years on, I'd like to thank you for your review! I have never attempted ANYTHING with leather, but am now contemplating a modest try on adding some leather detail to a wool skirt. Your fearless plunge into such an amazing project and your really exceptional results are an inspiration!
10/23/13 3:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

More Knits
More Knits

Register

Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now