SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2007-119:Jacket (Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 409 times 
Reviewed by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LoriBstarstar
AE GERMANY
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/17/08 9:38 PM
Last Updated:7/17/08 10:01 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elaine Dougan said...
I like your fabric. How did you decide that it was rayon?
7/17/08 10:58 PM
joan said...
Lori, Your jacket is lovely and you did a professional job on the pressing. It looks great and the fabric is out of the ordinary too. Overall a very nice garment that you will enjoy wearing, especially since it is knit......very comfy.
7/18/08 0:46 AM
LoriB said...
Elaine - I found it was rayon when I went to wash out the stabilizer (from my sample, thank goodness). When wet, the fabric became very heavy feeling, which is what rayon does. I did a burn test and confirmed it was rayon or at least a high percentage of rayon. Then I washed a sample square and it shrank quite a bit. Lesson learned but good to know before I washed the jacket!
7/18/08 1:52 AM
Margie T said...
I like your jacket better than the one in the magazine.
7/18/08 3:18 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Gorgeous jacket! I'm with Margie T, better than Burda's version!
7/18/08 4:25 AM
Fran G said...
Your version has caused me to give this pattern another look! I liked it in the magazine..especially the flounce..but I like yours better.
7/18/08 7:58 AM
Jane S said...
What a gorgeous jacket and fabulous fabric. You did a wonderful job on this one.
7/18/08 8:03 AM
Dei said...
Lovely jacket and thanks for the "little things you learned".
7/18/08 8:48 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely jacket!
7/18/08 10:08 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Beautiful fabric! and it looks gorgeous in this jacket. Just the right weight/drape for the flounces. So pretty!
7/18/08 11:36 AM
Amanda S. said...
SO PRETTY! I love the gently draping ruffles. What lovely fabric as well. GREAT JOB!
7/18/08 12:26 PM
LindsayT said...
Perfect jacket! I love your list of "things learned" at the end of your review.
7/18/08 4:24 PM
elliesews said...
Beautiful jacket. Tips well taken. Now I can learn from you! Love, Mom.
7/19/08 1:39 AM
Winifred said...
This jacket is very lovely - I have this issue and had noticed this jacket! have put it on my wishlist so i dont forget it. Enjoy wearing it- would look great with black dress pants
7/19/08 6:12 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! Eyecatchingly very attractive! Great work!
7/19/08 7:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

New Look 6789

photo
by: slmstyle

Review
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Buy Now