Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 12-2007-119:Jacket (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 407 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR
About LoriBstarstar
AE GERMANY
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/17/08 9:38 PM
Last Updated:7/17/08 10:01 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elaine Dougan said...
I like your fabric. How did you decide that it was rayon?
7/17/08 10:58 PM
joan said...
Lori, Your jacket is lovely and you did a professional job on the pressing. It looks great and the fabric is out of the ordinary too. Overall a very nice garment that you will enjoy wearing, especially since it is knit......very comfy.
7/18/08 0:46 AM
LoriB said...
Elaine - I found it was rayon when I went to wash out the stabilizer (from my sample, thank goodness). When wet, the fabric became very heavy feeling, which is what rayon does. I did a burn test and confirmed it was rayon or at least a high percentage of rayon. Then I washed a sample square and it shrank quite a bit. Lesson learned but good to know before I washed the jacket!
7/18/08 1:52 AM
Margie T said...
I like your jacket better than the one in the magazine.
7/18/08 3:18 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Gorgeous jacket! I'm with Margie T, better than Burda's version!
7/18/08 4:25 AM
Fran G said...
Your version has caused me to give this pattern another look! I liked it in the magazine..especially the flounce..but I like yours better.
7/18/08 7:58 AM
Jane S said...
What a gorgeous jacket and fabulous fabric. You did a wonderful job on this one.
7/18/08 8:03 AM
Dei said...
Lovely jacket and thanks for the "little things you learned".
7/18/08 8:48 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely jacket!
7/18/08 10:08 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Beautiful fabric! and it looks gorgeous in this jacket. Just the right weight/drape for the flounces. So pretty!
7/18/08 11:36 AM
Amanda S. said...
SO PRETTY! I love the gently draping ruffles. What lovely fabric as well. GREAT JOB!
7/18/08 12:26 PM
LindsayT said...
Perfect jacket! I love your list of "things learned" at the end of your review.
7/18/08 4:24 PM
elliesews said...
Beautiful jacket. Tips well taken. Now I can learn from you! Love, Mom.
7/19/08 1:39 AM
Winifred said...
This jacket is very lovely - I have this issue and had noticed this jacket! have put it on my wishlist so i dont forget it. Enjoy wearing it- would look great with black dress pants
7/19/08 6:12 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! Eyecatchingly very attractive! Great work!
7/19/08 7:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Tessuti Eva Dress Eva Dress
photo
Review by CissieW on 1/22/14
Read Review

Butterick 5391 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5391 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0109 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0109 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Advance Pattern Company 4440
photo
Review by BrightFeat... on 6/10/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Dreess Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Dreess Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Easy Coat
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us