SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2007-119:Jacket (Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 410 times 
Reviewed by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LoriBstarstar
AE GERMANY
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews written: 99
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 75
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/17/08 9:38 PM
Last Updated:7/17/08 10:01 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
Wow! Eyecatchingly very attractive! Great work!
7/19/08 7:17 PM
Winifred said...
This jacket is very lovely - I have this issue and had noticed this jacket! have put it on my wishlist so i dont forget it. Enjoy wearing it- would look great with black dress pants
7/19/08 6:12 PM
elliesews said...
Beautiful jacket. Tips well taken. Now I can learn from you! Love, Mom.
7/19/08 1:39 AM
LindsayT said...
Perfect jacket! I love your list of "things learned" at the end of your review.
7/18/08 4:24 PM
Amanda S. said...
SO PRETTY! I love the gently draping ruffles. What lovely fabric as well. GREAT JOB!
7/18/08 12:26 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Beautiful fabric! and it looks gorgeous in this jacket. Just the right weight/drape for the flounces. So pretty!
7/18/08 11:36 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely jacket!
7/18/08 10:08 AM
Dei said...
Lovely jacket and thanks for the "little things you learned".
7/18/08 8:48 AM
Jane S said...
What a gorgeous jacket and fabulous fabric. You did a wonderful job on this one.
7/18/08 8:03 AM
Fran G said...
Your version has caused me to give this pattern another look! I liked it in the magazine..especially the flounce..but I like yours better.
7/18/08 7:58 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Gorgeous jacket! I'm with Margie T, better than Burda's version!
7/18/08 4:25 AM
Margie T said...
I like your jacket better than the one in the magazine.
7/18/08 3:18 AM
LoriB said...
Elaine - I found it was rayon when I went to wash out the stabilizer (from my sample, thank goodness). When wet, the fabric became very heavy feeling, which is what rayon does. I did a burn test and confirmed it was rayon or at least a high percentage of rayon. Then I washed a sample square and it shrank quite a bit. Lesson learned but good to know before I washed the jacket!
7/18/08 1:52 AM
joan said...
Lori, Your jacket is lovely and you did a professional job on the pressing. It looks great and the fabric is out of the ordinary too. Overall a very nice garment that you will enjoy wearing, especially since it is knit......very comfy.
7/18/08 0:46 AM
Elaine Dougan said...
I like your fabric. How did you decide that it was rayon?
7/17/08 10:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Buy Now
McCall's 6534

photo
by: Bendy

Review