SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 12-2007-119:Jacket (Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 409 times 
Reviewed by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LoriBstarstar
AE GERMANY
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/17/08 9:38 PM
Last Updated:7/17/08 10:01 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elaine Dougan said...
I like your fabric. How did you decide that it was rayon?
7/17/08 10:58 PM
joan said...
Lori, Your jacket is lovely and you did a professional job on the pressing. It looks great and the fabric is out of the ordinary too. Overall a very nice garment that you will enjoy wearing, especially since it is knit......very comfy.
7/18/08 0:46 AM
LoriB said...
Elaine - I found it was rayon when I went to wash out the stabilizer (from my sample, thank goodness). When wet, the fabric became very heavy feeling, which is what rayon does. I did a burn test and confirmed it was rayon or at least a high percentage of rayon. Then I washed a sample square and it shrank quite a bit. Lesson learned but good to know before I washed the jacket!
7/18/08 1:52 AM
Margie T said...
I like your jacket better than the one in the magazine.
7/18/08 3:18 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Gorgeous jacket! I'm with Margie T, better than Burda's version!
7/18/08 4:25 AM
Fran G said...
Your version has caused me to give this pattern another look! I liked it in the magazine..especially the flounce..but I like yours better.
7/18/08 7:58 AM
Jane S said...
What a gorgeous jacket and fabulous fabric. You did a wonderful job on this one.
7/18/08 8:03 AM
Dei said...
Lovely jacket and thanks for the "little things you learned".
7/18/08 8:48 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely jacket!
7/18/08 10:08 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Beautiful fabric! and it looks gorgeous in this jacket. Just the right weight/drape for the flounces. So pretty!
7/18/08 11:36 AM
Amanda S. said...
SO PRETTY! I love the gently draping ruffles. What lovely fabric as well. GREAT JOB!
7/18/08 12:26 PM
LindsayT said...
Perfect jacket! I love your list of "things learned" at the end of your review.
7/18/08 4:24 PM
elliesews said...
Beautiful jacket. Tips well taken. Now I can learn from you! Love, Mom.
7/19/08 1:39 AM
Winifred said...
This jacket is very lovely - I have this issue and had noticed this jacket! have put it on my wishlist so i dont forget it. Enjoy wearing it- would look great with black dress pants
7/19/08 6:12 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! Eyecatchingly very attractive! Great work!
7/19/08 7:17 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

McCall's 6503

photo
by: Natasha Jo...

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now