Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2008-117 (Runway Trenchcoat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1931 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 43 people   
Reviewed by:LauraLo
photo
About LauraLostarstarstarstar
ROMANIA
Member since: 1/25/06
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 177 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/12/08 4:41 AM
Last Updated:2/12/08 9:36 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
66 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Squeezylemon said...
Fabulous coat/dress! Looks fantastic on you, pity I'm not a petite!!!!
2/12/08 5:18 AM
valerie sews said...
OH wow. Fabulous coat. I like this pattern. Your workmanship is excellent.
2/12/08 5:19 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Wow you've been busy! It's so worth all the extra effort and time for the shirring and topstitching - they really add pizazz to the standard trench coat! And that colour is just gorgous on you!!
2/12/08 5:38 AM
Ronda Rae said...
OMG! Definitely a labor of love. It's gorgeous- to match the recipient. I love the blue and am excited about it being a hot color this year. Very nice work! Ronda
2/12/08 5:49 AM
Robbie Jo said...
As usual, you have constructed a beautiful garment that looks lovely on you!
2/12/08 5:55 AM
MarilynB said...
This is spectacular!! What beautiful work. This coat/dress is very flattering.
2/12/08 6:59 AM
jent said...
LauraLo you make the most beautiful clothes! This coat may be the most adorable trench I've seen. I love the color!
2/12/08 7:03 AM
VtMartha said...
Gorgeous coat! I'm sure Tany will be honored.
2/12/08 7:16 AM
PhyllisC said...
THAT is a runway look Laura! I love it.
2/12/08 7:16 AM
Lori V said...
This is beautiful, Laura. Your eye for detail is amazing. The blue is your color.
2/12/08 7:18 AM
VtMartha said...
whoops! The back button played tricks with me.
2/12/08 7:23 AM
VtMartha said...

2/12/08 7:24 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Absolutely stunning. Whilst your work is always amazing, this time you have absolutely excelled yourself, jaw droppingly gorgeous.
2/12/08 7:32 AM
MissCelie said...
Wow Laura. This is STUNNING.
2/12/08 7:35 AM
cindyann said...
I love that color and you are right, it is very runway looking. Wonderful work as usual.
2/12/08 7:40 AM
Nancy K said...
Incredible! I love this coat. It is very flattering on you, both fit and color. Brava!
2/12/08 7:58 AM
nellc said...
Beautiful coat, your attention to detail is wonderful and the colour is gorgeous.
2/12/08 8:03 AM
Jan Flaherty said...
Simply Gorgeous.
2/12/08 8:09 AM
KrystalL said...
I wanted to make this too when I saw it. Yours is simply beautiful, and I will be referencing your review when I get around to making mine.
2/12/08 8:26 AM
PegL said...
Beautiful coat! Your construction technique skill is amazing!
2/12/08 8:29 AM
emelle said...
lovely...lovely.
2/12/08 8:36 AM
EleanorSews said...
Elegant trench! Truly beautifully crafted and your review is well detailed on how you did it all. Kudos!
2/12/08 8:49 AM
TwilaO said...
Your version is SOOO much more fabulous than the Burda example! Great job!
2/12/08 8:54 AM
inkstain said...
Well, Laura, you've knocked one right out of the ball park. I grovel, I drool for this coat. I can see why it can't be lined, but it's perfect for spring and summer evenings. Brava!
2/12/08 8:56 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
There are no words to describe the awesomeness of this trench! It is a beautiful color and really looks fabulous on you!! Your topstitching is flawless!!
2/12/08 8:56 AM
Linda E. said...
wow that is fabulous..
2/12/08 9:04 AM
Knitsandsews said...
Beautiful! This is one of my favorite patterns from this issue. Did you use batting in the cuffs and hem as suggested to give the topstitching definition? Whatever you did, it looks great!
2/12/08 9:40 AM
Sigrid. said...
WOW, this is an awesome coat. That blue is very flattering on you. All the details are so beautifully done. Your eye for details and the capacity to work it out is something to strive for.
2/12/08 9:46 AM
Tany said...
Just breathtaking! Thank you for sharing this masterpiece and for this very helpful review!
2/12/08 9:52 AM
SarahSM said...
That trench is beautiful, Laura. The color---wow! You did an amazing job!
2/12/08 9:55 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I think you really must be the envy of all the other women in your city... this is gorgeous.
2/12/08 10:05 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is so fabulous! I love your version better than the picture in the magazine.
2/12/08 10:08 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
That is BEAUTIFUL. I think you are well past intermediate.
2/12/08 10:30 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
that.is.gorgeous!
2/12/08 10:40 AM
loohoo44 said...
this is so beautiful, the fabric is just lovely! And you look stunning in it, I'm so impressed by all your work!
2/12/08 11:02 AM
CShelley said...
Girl you are fearless and that coat/dress is amazing. I bow down before your top stitching! Beautiful, beautiful details.
2/12/08 11:15 AM
Huldra said...
Fantastic! This coat is on my list too, so thank you for your helpful review! I'm a bit intimidated when you say that it's time-consuming, but with results like this it's worth it!
2/12/08 11:29 AM
annie11 said...
Very inspiring! Your coat is drop dead gorgeous!
2/12/08 12:06 PM
Annette1 said...
Absolutely IMPECCABLE, as always.
2/12/08 12:09 PM
Ann Smith said...
This is absolutely incredible. So gorgeous. How can you get this project done when I don't even have this issue yet??
2/12/08 12:17 PM
Twinset said...
This is simply sensational! What else can I add?
2/12/08 12:48 PM
Avril said...
Lovely, just lovely!
2/12/08 1:10 PM
Aixoise said...
Isn't there some contest we can invent so that this coat can win the grand prize? Fabulous work, Laura - as always. Brava!
2/12/08 1:47 PM
Grammy Gin said...
What a fantastic creation by you, as usual! You look so gorgeous! Your work is impeccable! ;-)!!!
2/12/08 2:43 PM
michellep74 said...
Wow! Your coat is absolutely gorgeous!
2/12/08 2:50 PM
LindsayT said...
Soooooo stunning!
2/12/08 4:56 PM
Membear said...
you did qa great job and it looks GORGEOUS
2/12/08 6:33 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Absolutely gorgeous!! I love the fabric, colour and all the topstitching. That's a LOT of topstitching. Beautiful!
2/12/08 6:40 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your patient and meticulous detailing has produced a masterpiece in which you look perfectly stunning! And I agree that the color is SO flattering on you. Thank you for this superb review. -Lily
2/12/08 7:41 PM
Margie T said...
Stunning!
2/12/08 7:55 PM
Bonnie O said...
OMG! You outdid yourself Laura. That is absolutely fabulous. The style... the color.... the fabric. Everything!
2/12/08 8:41 PM
gaby said...
bdeger just took the words out of my mouth! Couldn't agree more with her! You and your coat are absolutely beautiful!
2/12/08 9:10 PM
Karen6790 said...
I hate to do topstitching, but you've just convinced me that it has to be done. This is fabulous, no other word for it.
2/12/08 11:01 PM
Peacock Chic said...
absolutely GORGEOUS!!! I love it
2/13/08 2:02 AM
seaweed said...
Beautiful!!! I love it.
2/13/08 9:40 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Your work is something to aspire to. This is SO much nicer than the original. The blue is TDF. You're my hero! :-)
2/13/08 10:18 AM
kim*brown said...
Gorgeous!
2/13/08 12:16 PM
Sewing Geek said...
Such a STUNNING jacket!! Love it!
2/13/08 1:51 PM
Sewing Geek said...
Such a STUNNING jacket!! Love it!
2/13/08 1:52 PM
Karine said...
Simply fabulous!
2/13/08 4:29 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
The topstitching on the collar and lapels is very classy. This is a beautiful coat/dress!
2/13/08 9:27 PM
EveS said...
I'm exhausted just looking at that topstitching!!! Not much to say that hasn't already been said, but you rock!!!
2/13/08 11:57 PM
Erica B. said...
This coat is so gorgeous! Just flawless!
2/15/08 2:55 PM
Jolet said...
What an awful lot of work did you put in your coat!! But what a result, you can really wear it as a dress too!
3/9/08 4:08 PM
DivaQ said...
This is beautiful!!
3/13/08 1:02 AM
SewingQueenKym said...
Goregous Coat! Beautiful fabric choice, and it looks great on you. Good choices in alterations (extra snaps, more topstitching, etc.)
2/26/09 6:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 3877
photo
Review by divaknitti... on 7/18/09
Read Review

Burda 7037 Pattern
Burda 7037 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2314 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2314 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5225
photo
Review by FullertonR... on 7/27/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us