SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 02-2008-117 (Runway Trenchcoat)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1936 times 
Reviewed by:LauraLo
photo

 
 
About LauraLostarstarstarstar
Member since: 1/25/06
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 177 people
patterns reviewed: 69
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/12/08 4:41 AM
Last Updated:2/12/08 9:36 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 43 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
66 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewingQueenKym said...
Goregous Coat! Beautiful fabric choice, and it looks great on you. Good choices in alterations (extra snaps, more topstitching, etc.)
2/26/09 6:35 AM
DivaQ said...
This is beautiful!!
3/13/08 1:02 AM
Jolet said...
What an awful lot of work did you put in your coat!! But what a result, you can really wear it as a dress too!
3/9/08 4:08 PM
Erica B. said...
This coat is so gorgeous! Just flawless!
2/15/08 2:55 PM
EveS said...
I'm exhausted just looking at that topstitching!!! Not much to say that hasn't already been said, but you rock!!!
2/13/08 11:57 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
The topstitching on the collar and lapels is very classy. This is a beautiful coat/dress!
2/13/08 9:27 PM
Karine said...
Simply fabulous!
2/13/08 4:29 PM
Sewing Geek said...
Such a STUNNING jacket!! Love it!
2/13/08 1:52 PM
Sewing Geek said...
Such a STUNNING jacket!! Love it!
2/13/08 1:51 PM
kim*brown said...
Gorgeous!
2/13/08 12:16 PM
Stitchcakes said...
Your work is something to aspire to. This is SO much nicer than the original. The blue is TDF. You're my hero! :-)
2/13/08 10:18 AM
seaweed said...
Beautiful!!! I love it.
2/13/08 9:40 AM
Peacock Chic said...
absolutely GORGEOUS!!! I love it
2/13/08 2:02 AM
Karen6790 said...
I hate to do topstitching, but you've just convinced me that it has to be done. This is fabulous, no other word for it.
2/12/08 11:01 PM
gaby said...
bdeger just took the words out of my mouth! Couldn't agree more with her! You and your coat are absolutely beautiful!
2/12/08 9:10 PM
Bonnie O said...
OMG! You outdid yourself Laura. That is absolutely fabulous. The style... the color.... the fabric. Everything!
2/12/08 8:41 PM
Margie T said...
Stunning!
2/12/08 7:55 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your patient and meticulous detailing has produced a masterpiece in which you look perfectly stunning! And I agree that the color is SO flattering on you. Thank you for this superb review. -Lily
2/12/08 7:41 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Absolutely gorgeous!! I love the fabric, colour and all the topstitching. That's a LOT of topstitching. Beautiful!
2/12/08 6:40 PM
Membear said...
you did qa great job and it looks GORGEOUS
2/12/08 6:33 PM
LindsayT said...
Soooooo stunning!
2/12/08 4:56 PM
michellep74 said...
Wow! Your coat is absolutely gorgeous!
2/12/08 2:50 PM
Grammy Gin said...
What a fantastic creation by you, as usual! You look so gorgeous! Your work is impeccable! ;-)!!!
2/12/08 2:43 PM
Aixoise said...
Isn't there some contest we can invent so that this coat can win the grand prize? Fabulous work, Laura - as always. Brava!
2/12/08 1:47 PM
Avril said...
Lovely, just lovely!
2/12/08 1:10 PM
Twinset said...
This is simply sensational! What else can I add?
2/12/08 12:48 PM
Ann Smith said...
This is absolutely incredible. So gorgeous. How can you get this project done when I don't even have this issue yet??
2/12/08 12:17 PM
Annette1 said...
Absolutely IMPECCABLE, as always.
2/12/08 12:09 PM
annie11 said...
Very inspiring! Your coat is drop dead gorgeous!
2/12/08 12:06 PM
Huldra said...
Fantastic! This coat is on my list too, so thank you for your helpful review! I'm a bit intimidated when you say that it's time-consuming, but with results like this it's worth it!
2/12/08 11:29 AM
CShelley said...
Girl you are fearless and that coat/dress is amazing. I bow down before your top stitching! Beautiful, beautiful details.
2/12/08 11:15 AM
loohoo44 said...
this is so beautiful, the fabric is just lovely! And you look stunning in it, I'm so impressed by all your work!
2/12/08 11:02 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
that.is.gorgeous!
2/12/08 10:40 AM
Sara The Slayer said...
That is BEAUTIFUL. I think you are well past intermediate.
2/12/08 10:30 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
That is so fabulous! I love your version better than the picture in the magazine.
2/12/08 10:08 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I think you really must be the envy of all the other women in your city... this is gorgeous.
2/12/08 10:05 AM
SarahSM said...
That trench is beautiful, Laura. The color---wow! You did an amazing job!
2/12/08 9:55 AM
Tany said...
Just breathtaking! Thank you for sharing this masterpiece and for this very helpful review!
2/12/08 9:52 AM
Sigrid. said...
WOW, this is an awesome coat. That blue is very flattering on you. All the details are so beautifully done. Your eye for details and the capacity to work it out is something to strive for.
2/12/08 9:46 AM
Knitsandsews said...
Beautiful! This is one of my favorite patterns from this issue. Did you use batting in the cuffs and hem as suggested to give the topstitching definition? Whatever you did, it looks great!
2/12/08 9:40 AM
Linda E. said...
wow that is fabulous..
2/12/08 9:04 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
There are no words to describe the awesomeness of this trench! It is a beautiful color and really looks fabulous on you!! Your topstitching is flawless!!
2/12/08 8:56 AM
inkstain said...
Well, Laura, you've knocked one right out of the ball park. I grovel, I drool for this coat. I can see why it can't be lined, but it's perfect for spring and summer evenings. Brava!
2/12/08 8:56 AM
TwilaO said...
Your version is SOOO much more fabulous than the Burda example! Great job!
2/12/08 8:54 AM
EleanorSews said...
Elegant trench! Truly beautifully crafted and your review is well detailed on how you did it all. Kudos!
2/12/08 8:49 AM
emelle said...
lovely...lovely.
2/12/08 8:36 AM
PegL said...
Beautiful coat! Your construction technique skill is amazing!
2/12/08 8:29 AM
KrystalL said...
I wanted to make this too when I saw it. Yours is simply beautiful, and I will be referencing your review when I get around to making mine.
2/12/08 8:26 AM
Jan Flaherty said...
Simply Gorgeous.
2/12/08 8:09 AM
nellc said...
Beautiful coat, your attention to detail is wonderful and the colour is gorgeous.
2/12/08 8:03 AM
Nancy K said...
Incredible! I love this coat. It is very flattering on you, both fit and color. Brava!
2/12/08 7:58 AM
cindyann said...
I love that color and you are right, it is very runway looking. Wonderful work as usual.
2/12/08 7:40 AM
MissCelie said...
Wow Laura. This is STUNNING.
2/12/08 7:35 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Absolutely stunning. Whilst your work is always amazing, this time you have absolutely excelled yourself, jaw droppingly gorgeous.
2/12/08 7:32 AM
VtMartha said...

2/12/08 7:24 AM
VtMartha said...
whoops! The back button played tricks with me.
2/12/08 7:23 AM
Lori V said...
This is beautiful, Laura. Your eye for detail is amazing. The blue is your color.
2/12/08 7:18 AM
PhyllisC said...
THAT is a runway look Laura! I love it.
2/12/08 7:16 AM
VtMartha said...
Gorgeous coat! I'm sure Tany will be honored.
2/12/08 7:16 AM
jent said...
LauraLo you make the most beautiful clothes! This coat may be the most adorable trench I've seen. I love the color!
2/12/08 7:03 AM
MarilynB said...
This is spectacular!! What beautiful work. This coat/dress is very flattering.
2/12/08 6:59 AM
Robbie Jo said...
As usual, you have constructed a beautiful garment that looks lovely on you!
2/12/08 5:55 AM
Ronda Rae said...
OMG! Definitely a labor of love. It's gorgeous- to match the recipient. I love the blue and am excited about it being a hot color this year. Very nice work! Ronda
2/12/08 5:49 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Wow you've been busy! It's so worth all the extra effort and time for the shirring and topstitching - they really add pizazz to the standard trench coat! And that colour is just gorgous on you!!
2/12/08 5:38 AM
valerie sews said...
OH wow. Fabulous coat. I like this pattern. Your workmanship is excellent.
2/12/08 5:19 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Fabulous coat/dress! Looks fantastic on you, pity I'm not a petite!!!!
2/12/08 5:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2011-131

photo
by: pdiddly

Review
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

More Info
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

More Info