Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2794 (Sweetheart Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1556 times 87 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:2/13/08 11:19 AM
Last Updated:4/26/08 12:01 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
Very nice, Peggy. I think I need to add this to my wishlist.
2/13/08 11:46 AM
Re Becca said...
Very, very nice for something so quick. The neckline is very flattering on you, so is the color. It is great that you will get so many tops from this one pattern. Those lbs. are definitely a camera trick!
2/13/08 11:47 AM
Annette1 said...
GREAT top, Peggy! I have this pattern too, and yours has turned out so nicely, I'm inspired to find some knit to make one for myself. :o)
2/13/08 12:12 PM
carolynw said...
Love it Peggy - nice review - was lookign at thsi pattern yesterday on the web and wasn't sure - maye will re-think after your recommendation
2/13/08 1:01 PM
cabinbaby said...
Love you shirt and review. I have this one too; just haven't cut into it.
2/13/08 1:30 PM
PegL said...
Great looking top! Your good review makes me want this pattern too. ;>)
2/13/08 2:04 PM
cindy-lou said...
You look like a million-- no, a TRILLION! Love the top. Instant gratification is always a good thing-- even moreso when it looks like this!
2/13/08 2:45 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Pretty top, Peggy! I like those colors on you.
2/13/08 2:55 PM
janetbrooke82 said...
Cute top, mom! Will I be getting one in the mail soon? :)
2/13/08 3:14 PM
Peggy L said...
Thanks everyone!! Yes, janetbrooke, in a week or two! Black print with solid black binding!!!!
2/13/08 3:27 PM
2BSewing said...
Great looking knit top. I definitely need to get this pattern. Thanks for the review.
2/13/08 3:37 PM
Sherril Miller said...
A very pretty top. I love the pattern and the way it makes you look so I guess I'm going to have to shell out the $$ for it. I'll tell Deepika to send you your cut. I don't see any extra 10 lbs.
2/13/08 6:01 PM
Deepika said...
Lovely top Peggy. Looks so good on you. You need to make more. I am working on my 2nd one. This is a winner!
2/13/08 6:10 PM
j222b said...
Thanks! I didn't know Jalie had internet instructions... "I did print them off the website so they would be more convenient."
2/13/08 6:23 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Peggy, I love the top on you and the fabric is lovely, too. Yes, in fact, the camera adds a good bit of weight, and even more if you point the lens at yourself 'straight on.' Stupid question, please: is it necessary to trace a Jalie pattern? Could I just cut out my size w/o tracing? -Lily
2/13/08 6:35 PM
cabinbaby said...
Lily, You can just cut them but, to me, it would be a bit of a waste. I love their patterns b/c they fit so well AND they have all sizes from toddler 2 to women's size 22. I can use this pattern for years and years if I just trace off the patterns. My girls are almost two now so they can go through a lot of sizes. :) If, however, you only want to use it on yourself, you could just cut them out. HTH.
2/13/08 6:40 PM
Peggy L said...
Lily - like Cabinbaby said I would definitely trace. I have already traced this in 4 different sizes for other members of my family. Jalie's are sometimes a little hard to trace because there are so many sizes but the paper is nice and thick and I just "focus"! There are instructions you can print from the website for some of the more popular patterns - this is one of them. Give this one a try!!!
2/13/08 6:47 PM
Leora said...
What a nice top!!! I need this pattern now that I've seen how great it looks on you.
2/13/08 8:36 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I love this style. This top looks great on a very lovely lady.
2/13/08 8:58 PM
Kim Winson said...
I love this pattern and it looks great on you. Must buy pattern...
2/13/08 9:31 PM
ryan's mom said...
What a great top! It looks terrific on you!!
2/14/08 6:21 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
I just got this in the mail and can't wait to start. Thanks for the review. The top is very flattering
2/14/08 8:19 AM
BettyMike said...
Great looking top! I have this pattern, just haven't gotten around to making it yet.
2/14/08 8:47 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!! That is soooooo cute!!! I love your fabric!!!
2/14/08 9:20 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely top - the fabric is great and I love the fit on you!
2/14/08 12:15 PM
patsy Wylie said...
Peggy, I am impressed; you do a very good job sewing. Thanks for telling me about this site and I look forward to seeing you at Apple.
2/14/08 3:39 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Like Sherril, I'm placing my order. Deepika owes you a commission.
2/14/08 10:26 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very Nice!!!!
2/15/08 8:06 AM
blue mooney said...
SOLD! That looks great on you! What a fab neckline. You look good in purple, too.
2/15/08 6:15 PM
CynthiaSue said...
really lovely on you!
2/16/08 10:15 PM
cecelia said...
Very pretty, Peggy--nice job--the trim really makes it.
4/26/08 12:12 PM
CarolynGM said...
Love the use of contrast binding on the new top. These are so cute, I hope you'll keep making them.
4/26/08 1:09 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
LOVE the polka dots, Peggy!! Adds a touch of "pop/zing".
4/26/08 2:48 PM
Patti B said...
I like them both but especially love the polka dot trim. I'll take note of the forward shoulder idea for my #3.
4/26/08 3:47 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Great looking top, Peggy L! Did you topstitch the front bands (just to the sides of the bust) as per the pattern instructions? It doesn't show up on your photos. I am making one of these now and the top stitching is wonky on this stretchy knit. Suggestions? Thank you for sharing! Carla
4/26/08 4:00 PM
Peggy L said...
Carla - I did do that top stitching so the bands would lay flat. I did it in white on the polka dot fabric so it wouldn't show.
4/26/08 4:45 PM
AngieC said...
Love your tops! Thank you for the great reviews~
4/26/08 10:30 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Another nice tee! I really like the polka dot trim.
4/26/08 10:54 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, my gosh, how CUTE, with that polka-dot trim. :o) You'd have a tough time ever finding a RTW top as cute as this one, and if you did, it probably wouldn't fit nearly so well either. :o)
4/26/08 11:26 PM
blue mooney said...
Love, love, LOVE this new one. The polkadot trim is inspired! I need to knock off your top - it would fit perfectly in my SWAP.
4/27/08 7:59 AM
Heatherrique said...
Another sharp looking top! Very nice, Peggy!
4/27/08 11:34 AM
Jodi B. said...
Love the new version, too! And thanks for letting us know about the trims from Marcy Tilton.
4/27/08 8:07 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Peggy, your black and white is wonderful and the polka dot trim - delicious. This is high end boutique territory. Lovely, Lily
4/28/08 12:13 PM
Deepika said...
I love the use of contrast fabric for the binding. I might have to "steal" your idea. Fabulous top!!!
4/28/08 3:16 PM
Annie- oh said...
Marcy is offering trims with orders, and I made my first fabric order to her this week. Now I know I will use them! What a lovely top you've reviewed.
5/3/08 7:12 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Butterick 5235
photo
Review by Sewlful on 3/10/11
Read Review

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $27.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)
Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6354
photo
Review by Trinity. on 3/9/06
Read Review

Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3133 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3133 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us