SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2794 (Sweetheart Top)

90 more reviews
Viewed 1557 times 
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:2/13/08 11:19 AM
Last Updated:4/26/08 12:01 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annie- oh said...
Marcy is offering trims with orders, and I made my first fabric order to her this week. Now I know I will use them! What a lovely top you've reviewed.
5/3/08 7:12 PM
Deepika said...
I love the use of contrast fabric for the binding. I might have to "steal" your idea. Fabulous top!!!
4/28/08 3:16 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Peggy, your black and white is wonderful and the polka dot trim - delicious. This is high end boutique territory. Lovely, Lily
4/28/08 12:13 PM
Jodi B. said...
Love the new version, too! And thanks for letting us know about the trims from Marcy Tilton.
4/27/08 8:07 PM
Heatherrique said...
Another sharp looking top! Very nice, Peggy!
4/27/08 11:34 AM
blue mooney said...
Love, love, LOVE this new one. The polkadot trim is inspired! I need to knock off your top - it would fit perfectly in my SWAP.
4/27/08 7:59 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, my gosh, how CUTE, with that polka-dot trim. :o) You'd have a tough time ever finding a RTW top as cute as this one, and if you did, it probably wouldn't fit nearly so well either. :o)
4/26/08 11:26 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Another nice tee! I really like the polka dot trim.
4/26/08 10:54 PM
AngieC said...
Love your tops! Thank you for the great reviews~
4/26/08 10:30 PM
Peggy L said...
Carla - I did do that top stitching so the bands would lay flat. I did it in white on the polka dot fabric so it wouldn't show.
4/26/08 4:45 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Great looking top, Peggy L! Did you topstitch the front bands (just to the sides of the bust) as per the pattern instructions? It doesn't show up on your photos. I am making one of these now and the top stitching is wonky on this stretchy knit. Suggestions? Thank you for sharing! Carla
4/26/08 4:00 PM
Patti B said...
I like them both but especially love the polka dot trim. I'll take note of the forward shoulder idea for my #3.
4/26/08 3:47 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
LOVE the polka dots, Peggy!! Adds a touch of "pop/zing".
4/26/08 2:48 PM
CarolynGM said...
Love the use of contrast binding on the new top. These are so cute, I hope you'll keep making them.
4/26/08 1:09 PM
cecelia said...
Very pretty, Peggy--nice job--the trim really makes it.
4/26/08 12:12 PM
CynthiaSue said...
really lovely on you!
2/16/08 10:15 PM
blue mooney said...
SOLD! That looks great on you! What a fab neckline. You look good in purple, too.
2/15/08 6:15 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Very Nice!!!!
2/15/08 8:06 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Like Sherril, I'm placing my order. Deepika owes you a commission.
2/14/08 10:26 PM
patsy Wylie said...
Peggy, I am impressed; you do a very good job sewing. Thanks for telling me about this site and I look forward to seeing you at Apple.
2/14/08 3:39 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Lovely top - the fabric is great and I love the fit on you!
2/14/08 12:15 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!! That is soooooo cute!!! I love your fabric!!!
2/14/08 9:20 AM
BettyMike said...
Great looking top! I have this pattern, just haven't gotten around to making it yet.
2/14/08 8:47 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
I just got this in the mail and can't wait to start. Thanks for the review. The top is very flattering
2/14/08 8:19 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a great top! It looks terrific on you!!
2/14/08 6:21 AM
Kim Winson said...
I love this pattern and it looks great on you. Must buy pattern...
2/13/08 9:31 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
I love this style. This top looks great on a very lovely lady.
2/13/08 8:58 PM
Leora said...
What a nice top!!! I need this pattern now that I've seen how great it looks on you.
2/13/08 8:36 PM
Peggy L said...
Lily - like Cabinbaby said I would definitely trace. I have already traced this in 4 different sizes for other members of my family. Jalie's are sometimes a little hard to trace because there are so many sizes but the paper is nice and thick and I just "focus"! There are instructions you can print from the website for some of the more popular patterns - this is one of them. Give this one a try!!!
2/13/08 6:47 PM
cabinbaby said...
Lily, You can just cut them but, to me, it would be a bit of a waste. I love their patterns b/c they fit so well AND they have all sizes from toddler 2 to women's size 22. I can use this pattern for years and years if I just trace off the patterns. My girls are almost two now so they can go through a lot of sizes. :) If, however, you only want to use it on yourself, you could just cut them out. HTH.
2/13/08 6:40 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Peggy, I love the top on you and the fabric is lovely, too. Yes, in fact, the camera adds a good bit of weight, and even more if you point the lens at yourself 'straight on.' Stupid question, please: is it necessary to trace a Jalie pattern? Could I just cut out my size w/o tracing? -Lily
2/13/08 6:35 PM
j222b said...
Thanks! I didn't know Jalie had internet instructions... "I did print them off the website so they would be more convenient."
2/13/08 6:23 PM
Deepika said...
Lovely top Peggy. Looks so good on you. You need to make more. I am working on my 2nd one. This is a winner!
2/13/08 6:10 PM
Sherril Miller said...
A very pretty top. I love the pattern and the way it makes you look so I guess I'm going to have to shell out the $$ for it. I'll tell Deepika to send you your cut. I don't see any extra 10 lbs.
2/13/08 6:01 PM
2BSewing said...
Great looking knit top. I definitely need to get this pattern. Thanks for the review.
2/13/08 3:37 PM
Peggy L said...
Thanks everyone!! Yes, janetbrooke, in a week or two! Black print with solid black binding!!!!
2/13/08 3:27 PM
janetbrooke82 said...
Cute top, mom! Will I be getting one in the mail soon? :)
2/13/08 3:14 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Pretty top, Peggy! I like those colors on you.
2/13/08 2:55 PM
cindy-lou said...
You look like a million-- no, a TRILLION! Love the top. Instant gratification is always a good thing-- even moreso when it looks like this!
2/13/08 2:45 PM
PegL said...
Great looking top! Your good review makes me want this pattern too. ;>)
2/13/08 2:04 PM
cabinbaby said...
Love you shirt and review. I have this one too; just haven't cut into it.
2/13/08 1:30 PM
carolynw said...
Love it Peggy - nice review - was lookign at thsi pattern yesterday on the web and wasn't sure - maye will re-think after your recommendation
2/13/08 1:01 PM
Annette1 said...
GREAT top, Peggy! I have this pattern too, and yours has turned out so nicely, I'm inspired to find some knit to make one for myself. :o)
2/13/08 12:12 PM
Re Becca said...
Very, very nice for something so quick. The neckline is very flattering on you, so is the color. It is great that you will get so many tops from this one pattern. Those lbs. are definitely a camera trick!
2/13/08 11:47 AM
cindyann said...
Very nice, Peggy. I think I need to add this to my wishlist.
2/13/08 11:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Simplicity 2599

photo
by: Dilliander

Review
Runaround Bag

Runaround Bag

More Info
Towne Purse

Towne Purse

More Info