SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2006-103 (Peplum jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1116 times 
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
Netherlands
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 150
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 137 people
patterns reviewed: 144
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/15/08 4:51 PM
Last Updated:2/15/08 4:53 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LisaLady said...
What a wonderfully creative variation of the patterns! It is just stunning! Your workmanship would be found in only the highest quality garments! Good job! Your daughter looks lovely, too!
4/1/08 11:52 AM
Birgitte said...
What a truly amazing knockoff. You did impeccable work, from start to finish, inside and out. Your daughter looks fantastic in it too! Thanks for your very thorough and well-documented review, it's inspiring.
3/10/08 4:42 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful. Excellent review.
3/8/08 11:22 PM
Athene said...
A fantastic jacket for your DD. The workmanship is impecable. Thank you so much for all the pictures. I really enjoy viewing the work that went into this project.
3/7/08 1:40 AM
So So said...
You are such an inspiration, your jacket is a fantastic sucess
3/4/08 5:04 PM
SewVeryTall said...
This jacket is so cute, I want one! You did a wonderful job of knocking this off. The details are beautiful. I love the lining too.
2/27/08 11:40 AM
Nancy K said...
Great job Sigrid! You have one lucky daughter. It looks great on her.
2/22/08 6:21 PM
RachelMM said...
I absolutely love the jacket! You did an amazing job and your daughter will definitely turn heads when she is wearing this incredible work of art!
2/20/08 1:55 AM
Nancywin said...
Sigrid - this jacket is incredible! I am SO IMPRESSED!!! Now, I know I'm too old, but you adopt me as your daughter anyway?? I am always so inspired by the work you do.
2/17/08 0:23 AM
Heatherrique said...
Sigrid, your jacket is better and more stunning than the original! Thanks for sharing! You inspired all of us! BTW: your sewing level is incorrect! You are beyond that!
2/16/08 11:10 AM
BillieJean said...
Gorgeous jacket and wonderful review. Thank you so much for all the time you put into this review. It will be so helpfu.
2/16/08 11:04 AM
ChristineBR said...
I agree with lilyofthevalley; yours is all-round much better than the original. But I'm sure you know that!
2/16/08 8:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow, your jacket looks better and more professional that the RTW one. Great job! I can tell your daughter loves the jacket very flattering fit on her.
2/16/08 8:06 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful..just beautiful! What a great mother/daughter project..lucky daughter, lucky mom!
2/16/08 7:57 AM
SusiM said...

2/16/08 5:04 AM
SusiM said...

2/16/08 5:04 AM
SusiM said...
Your review was so informative, and the jacket is superb. Very impressive workmanship. It must have taken a good deal of time.
2/16/08 5:04 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Fabulous knock-off. Enjoy reading your review and blog.
2/16/08 3:12 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, you've done it again! Your so-called "knock-off" puts the original to shame, and that's a fact. Every detail is perfectly executed, and I can see that your daughter is thrilled with the results!
2/16/08 2:05 AM
EveS said...
Just gorgeous! Your details are exquisite!
2/16/08 0:50 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket, Sigrid. Your details are amazing.
2/15/08 11:41 PM
Kay Y said...
Your sewing is meticulous & the jacket looks wonderful on your daughter.
2/15/08 9:58 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Beautiful, inspired version of the Designer Knockoff (and you do know, don't you, that your lapel lays much better than his?). I think you've exceeded the mark and given your DD a very special garment. Thank you for sharing this with us. -Lily
2/15/08 9:37 PM
SandraB said...
This is such a beautiful jacket. Your sewing is impeccable.
2/15/08 9:28 PM
chemmom said...
You made a very stylish yet classic looking jacket. I wish I had your talent. I want one just like it!!!!
2/15/08 8:19 PM
CynthiaSue said...
You are a master at sewing!! Can you come and be my mentor?
2/15/08 7:24 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is just too wonderful. Congratulations on a terrific job.
2/15/08 7:13 PM
blue mooney said...
Nice, nice, nice! Thanks for a great review.
2/15/08 6:18 PM
nellc said...
This is a lovely jacket, you obviously put a lot of thought and time into this, the details and finish of the inside are wonderful.
2/15/08 6:04 PM
willowsmum said...
Oooooooh fabulous....I love it, well done
2/15/08 5:22 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I am really impressed with your ability to 'see' the Rodriguez jacket in the Burda pattern that you started with. What a fantastic result!
2/15/08 5:13 PM
LindsayT said...
Sigrid, this jacket is just amazing. The details are impeccable! It looks so stylish on your daughter; she is a lucky girl that you can make something like this for her.
2/15/08 4:59 PM
Cheryl Reeves said...
Very, very pretty! I really love the back of the jacket. You did a great job.
2/15/08 4:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Butterick 4132

photo
by: MrsCharism...

Review

Pattern

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

More Info
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

More Info