Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 11-2006-103 (Peplum jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1113 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 144
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
patterns reviewed: 139
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/15/08 4:51 PM
Last Updated:2/15/08 4:53 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cheryl Reeves said...
Very, very pretty! I really love the back of the jacket. You did a great job.
2/15/08 4:57 PM
LindsayT said...
Sigrid, this jacket is just amazing. The details are impeccable! It looks so stylish on your daughter; she is a lucky girl that you can make something like this for her.
2/15/08 4:59 PM
Christina Sonja said...
I am really impressed with your ability to 'see' the Rodriguez jacket in the Burda pattern that you started with. What a fantastic result!
2/15/08 5:13 PM
willowsmum said...
Oooooooh fabulous....I love it, well done
2/15/08 5:22 PM
nellc said...
This is a lovely jacket, you obviously put a lot of thought and time into this, the details and finish of the inside are wonderful.
2/15/08 6:04 PM
blue mooney said...
Nice, nice, nice! Thanks for a great review.
2/15/08 6:18 PM
Judy Wentz said...
This is just too wonderful. Congratulations on a terrific job.
2/15/08 7:13 PM
CynthiaSue said...
You are a master at sewing!! Can you come and be my mentor?
2/15/08 7:24 PM
chemmom said...
You made a very stylish yet classic looking jacket. I wish I had your talent. I want one just like it!!!!
2/15/08 8:19 PM
SandraB said...
This is such a beautiful jacket. Your sewing is impeccable.
2/15/08 9:28 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Beautiful, inspired version of the Designer Knockoff (and you do know, don't you, that your lapel lays much better than his?). I think you've exceeded the mark and given your DD a very special garment. Thank you for sharing this with us. -Lily
2/15/08 9:37 PM
Kay Y said...
Your sewing is meticulous & the jacket looks wonderful on your daughter.
2/15/08 9:58 PM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket, Sigrid. Your details are amazing.
2/15/08 11:41 PM
EveS said...
Just gorgeous! Your details are exquisite!
2/16/08 0:50 AM
Annette1 said...
Well, you've done it again! Your so-called "knock-off" puts the original to shame, and that's a fact. Every detail is perfectly executed, and I can see that your daughter is thrilled with the results!
2/16/08 2:05 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Fabulous knock-off. Enjoy reading your review and blog.
2/16/08 3:12 AM
SusiM said...
Your review was so informative, and the jacket is superb. Very impressive workmanship. It must have taken a good deal of time.
2/16/08 5:04 AM
SusiM said...

2/16/08 5:04 AM
SusiM said...

2/16/08 5:04 AM
Fran G said...
Beautiful..just beautiful! What a great mother/daughter project..lucky daughter, lucky mom!
2/16/08 7:57 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Wow, your jacket looks better and more professional that the RTW one. Great job! I can tell your daughter loves the jacket very flattering fit on her.
2/16/08 8:06 AM
ChristineBR said...
I agree with lilyofthevalley; yours is all-round much better than the original. But I'm sure you know that!
2/16/08 8:07 AM
BillieJean said...
Gorgeous jacket and wonderful review. Thank you so much for all the time you put into this review. It will be so helpfu.
2/16/08 11:04 AM
Heatherrique said...
Sigrid, your jacket is better and more stunning than the original! Thanks for sharing! You inspired all of us! BTW: your sewing level is incorrect! You are beyond that!
2/16/08 11:10 AM
Nancywin said...
Sigrid - this jacket is incredible! I am SO IMPRESSED!!! Now, I know I'm too old, but you adopt me as your daughter anyway?? I am always so inspired by the work you do.
2/17/08 0:23 AM
RachelMM said...
I absolutely love the jacket! You did an amazing job and your daughter will definitely turn heads when she is wearing this incredible work of art!
2/20/08 1:55 AM
Nancy K said...
Great job Sigrid! You have one lucky daughter. It looks great on her.
2/22/08 6:21 PM
SewVeryTall said...
This jacket is so cute, I want one! You did a wonderful job of knocking this off. The details are beautiful. I love the lining too.
2/27/08 11:40 AM
So So said...
You are such an inspiration, your jacket is a fantastic sucess
3/4/08 5:04 PM
Athene said...
A fantastic jacket for your DD. The workmanship is impecable. Thank you so much for all the pictures. I really enjoy viewing the work that went into this project.
3/7/08 1:40 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautiful. Excellent review.
3/8/08 11:22 PM
Birgitte said...
What a truly amazing knockoff. You did impeccable work, from start to finish, inside and out. Your daughter looks fantastic in it too! Thanks for your very thorough and well-documented review, it's inspiring.
3/10/08 4:42 PM
LisaLady said...
What a wonderfully creative variation of the patterns! It is just stunning! Your workmanship would be found in only the highest quality garments! Good job! Your daughter looks lovely, too!
4/1/08 11:52 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

McCall's 6744
photo
Review by nicegirl on 10/18/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Santa Monica Sweetheart Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Bonny Knit Sailor Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3835
photo
Review by redcleo on 7/16/10
Read Review

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5989 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 5989 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6804 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6804 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us