SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7151 

3 more reviews
Viewed 2320 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 386 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/8/03 4:10 AM
Last Updated:5/9/03 4:42 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Ann you made a very nice outfit,you are right that you do need to put in the shoulderpads that will solve the problem.In couture suits it is often the whole garment which will be interfaced except the sleeves, but sometimes they also are interfaced but with a different weight interfacing that depends on the fabric.
5/8/03 8:11 AM
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Ann, what a lovely spring suit!
5/8/03 9:02 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful job as always, Ann. Great review too! -Ann
5/8/03 9:19 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks for bringing the pattern to our attention! I have some fabric that's been ageing for quite a while, waiting for a good Chanel-esque pattern; I'm definitely going to consider this one!
5/8/03 9:35 AM
Georgene said...
I love the treatment with the fringe. Any chance of a close-up shot with the braid? Mademoiselle Coco would approve, the ensemble looks great on you.
5/8/03 10:59 AM
cindyann said...
Wow.....very nice. The designer details of the dyed to match braid and the fringed selvedge are great additions. Thanks for this review.
5/8/03 11:01 AM
Mariko said...
Ann, absolutely beautiful! I have never made a lined jacket (or just plain jacket like this), but with your recommendation, I will put it in my wish list. I also like the shape of the skirt. The style is very elegant and it fits you quite nicely. Thank you for your review!!
5/8/03 11:55 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Another great outfit - I especially love that flirty little skirt. Is that the Cafe Society? I so loved it but the coloring wasn't right for me so I opted for the turquoise suiting.
5/8/03 2:36 PM
CatherineN said...
That is so soft and pretty. The skirt has graceful lines.
5/8/03 3:57 PM
Mbarkle said...
Very nice. I love the bias skirt instead of the straight one you usually see with this jacket. The fringe is a nice touch too. You look beautiful in it.
5/8/03 5:25 PM
Ann Smith said...
Georgene: I've added a close up of the fringe. I hope that helps. It took quite a while to braid that! Gigi: yes, it is Cafe Society. I'll look forward to seeing your turquoise suit.
5/9/03 4:46 PM
Georgene said...
Ann, thanks for the close-up. It looks even better than I thought. Very nice fabric and treatment. It does look better with the shoulder pads. You're hired!
5/9/03 4:57 PM
PattiA said...
Ann, this suit has the appearance of a couture ensemble. Unfortunately, this Vogue pattern is no longer in print--and a check with Vogue Patterns gave me the information that they do not have any leftovers! She who hesitates . . .
5/9/03 5:15 PM
Debspuncturedthumb said...
Ann, Thank you! I have been looking at Chanel type patterns and I may just pick this one up! I know I'll have to lower the bust darts and do adjustments there as well-pretty standard with Vogues anyway. I would like to make a Chanel style project complete with a golden linked chain as weight in the jacket hem with a contrasting bias trim; this looks like it's just perfect and offers a nice variation too with the front closure of the jacket!
5/20/03 7:09 AM
eightyferrettoes said...
gosh, that's really stunning! Love the bias skirt with the straight-grain jacket... very appealing and a bit more feminine than your standard straight-skirt suit.
8/5/07 5:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 155822-1003

photo
by: ssssdeb

Review
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Buy Now