Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2008-119 (tie neck blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1987 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 266
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/18/08 7:13 PM
Last Updated:9/3/12 11:46 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
Very pretty top, Nancy! I just saw this blouse from this issue and assumed it was automatically easy to sew for the first time ! Your very helpful review is very timely! Thanks!
2/18/08 7:31 PM
CShelley said...
Really nice results...no one's going to notice the tie on the right side. If they do, they need a life. Good thing you went outside with your daughter though! Thanks for the review. The more I see of the Burda WOF patterns, the more I want to subscribe!
2/18/08 7:34 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Very pretty Nancy, I have had my eye on that one too, nice idea re cami underneath the sheer.
2/18/08 8:00 PM
MissCelie said...
Very pretty Nancy. Don't worry about your daughter. Sheer is all the rage this season!
2/18/08 8:08 PM
marjenann said...
Very smart looking top, Nancy!! Looks very, very expensive! I love it!
2/18/08 8:19 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Nancy, thank you so much for showing your baby seams on this gorgeous top which looks so feminine and ethereal on you. I agree w/ Cidell that the tiniest bit of sheerness is a good thing and you look perfectly modest. Just daughter jitters, lest Mom look TOO good - which you do. -Lily
2/18/08 8:31 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Glad it's not just me, I have a muslin of this cut out and I don't understand even the first line of the instructions! looks like it's worth persevering with though, your version is lovely.
2/18/08 8:46 PM
Schnauzer said...
Your top looks gorgeous on you Nancy. I love that fabric, very complementary to the style!
2/18/08 8:54 PM
lmg said...
That's just lovely. I too was trying to figure out how to do the tie when I read the directions. Yours is lovely in that fabric. Thanks for the review!
2/18/08 9:30 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Looks great on you! This pattern is on my shortlist for the February issue, so it's nice to see it made up. Thanks for the warning about the instructions.
2/18/08 9:42 PM
SewKnitYKnot said...
Lovely top! This was one of the patterns from the Feb issue that caught my eye. Thanks for the warning about the tie instructions! Any tips?
2/18/08 9:55 PM
CynthiaSue said...
very cute. I want it! Maybe I can make it......:)
2/18/08 10:06 PM
Seaspur said...
Lovely blouse, looks great on you!
2/18/08 11:16 PM
loriz said...
Thanks for the great review. Its an excellent top!
2/19/08 1:02 AM
MarijaSLO said...
Great review with many tips! Thank you!
2/19/08 2:31 AM
Sigrid. said...
Agree with all, this is a very, very pretty top. Love your fabric for it. I want to make this top too, so glad you figured out already how to do the tie!
2/19/08 2:47 AM
Athene said...
Simply gorgeous on you. As usual a very helpful and informative review. Thank you. I always learn from your reviews.
2/19/08 5:46 AM
Karen8320 said...
Nancy, it looks lovely on you, with and without a camisole.
2/19/08 6:32 AM
nellc said...
Lovely top, it looks very pretty in chiffon. I'm so glad you have reviewed this, I have been struggling to understand some of the instructions for finishing the tie collar so I will definately refer to your review when I get around to making this one.
2/19/08 8:02 AM
Knitsandsews said...
Thank you for your detailed review! I am going to make this soon myself, and have read and re-read the directions many times to try and understand the neck loop. Thank you for the illustrated example - much easier to understand :)
2/19/08 10:30 AM
cindy-lou said...
So, the instructions were hard for you?!? Now I'm scared!... but I'll try it out. I really loke the look you got from yours!
2/19/08 12:26 PM
ELIZAALL said...
Thanks for your tips. I was reading the tie instruction provided on the magazine and did not quite understand it either. I will print out your review when I make this top.
2/19/08 12:57 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Good looking top, Nancy! How nice it must be to make a sheer, sleeveless blouse & be able to wear it outdoors in Feb. Looks like you lost some weight, you look like you did when I first joined PR & noticed you with your collar....I also had to wear one of those...3 times!! Thanks for the good explanation on making the tie. ;-)
2/19/08 3:15 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
I've been waiting for someone to review this top. I'm delighted to see it looks as nice on a real person as it did in the magazine! Many thanks for all the tips about the collar/scarf.
2/19/08 4:23 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty top, you look great.
2/19/08 7:05 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Good job!
2/19/08 8:13 PM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for all of your nice comments and support. I was so frustrated when I could not figure out the collar on this. All of your kind comments make it all worth it!
2/19/08 9:39 PM
avancleve said...
I want to do this blouse as well, thank you for the extra info...now I don't have to scratch my head for an hour trying to figure out the burda instructions. I am not very fond of them, and try to avoid them at all cost. I like your blouse.
2/19/08 9:51 PM
utz said...
Thanks for showing how the scarf was put together -I'm considering this for DD and the instructions confused me immediately. Thanks. Looks very nice on you.
2/19/08 10:01 PM
Nancywin said...
Thanks for all of your nice comments and support. I was so frustrated when I could not figure out the collar on this. All of your kind comments make it all worth it!
2/19/08 10:21 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous blouse! You're so fast too to have something out of the latest issue already - way to go!
2/19/08 11:06 PM
So So said...
Thank you thank you for this excellant review. I was wondering how it would look on a "real person'. And it looks fantastic. Also thanks for the detailed scarf/collar instruction and your kind offer of PM help.
2/20/08 9:22 AM
EveS said...
Thank you so much for the scarf info! I just bought this (my 1st) BWOF and you might've just saved my life (and my hope that I can actually DO one of these patterns!!). I love your fabric choice...very, very pretty top!
2/22/08 10:02 PM
Nancy K said...
Very nicely done. Thanks for the collar instructions!
2/22/08 10:28 PM
mylittleelephant said...
VERY VERY helpful instructions on collar and you look great in this, thanks for the great review!
2/23/08 10:44 AM
Liberty23 said...
Thank you so much for the detailed slide show!!! I also spent a lot of time reading those instructions without understanding them at all.
4/13/08 10:07 PM
yummymummy38 said...
thanks so much for the slideshow with labels, a picture paints a thousand words, it make everything so clear. I am off to make this now.
1/11/11 7:25 AM
katlew03 said...
Would love to see it, but none of your links are working.
9/2/12 1:06 AM
Rhoda K said...
I love your blouse. Your tutorial works, baby seams not, photo not. I found by going to the other links/composite photos and clicking on a photo, you can scroll from there and look at all. I hope this comment isn't too confusing.
9/3/12 1:41 PM
Deepika said...
Nancy I am just about to make this top and I can't tell you how helpful your tutorial is. I am hoping mine will go smoothly. I love your top!
11/19/12 11:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Kwik Sew 3336 Misses Skirts
photo
Review by ClaireF in... on 8/8/09
Read Review

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern
Jamie Christina Lark Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6108
photo
Review by grays08 on 6/13/13
Read Review

Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7880 Pattern
Burda 7880 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us