SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Drafted from RTW> 0001 (H&M Gather Neck Tee)

1 more reviews
Viewed 856 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 313 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/08 10:46 AM
Last Updated:2/22/08 10:46 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 21 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LindsayT said...
I'm very impressed by your resourcefulness. I've also noticed that retailers like Gap and H&M are constructing their clothing a little better these days; I like to borrow their techniques when possible. Cute top.
2/22/08 11:44 AM
Kaitlinnegan said...
Your shirt looks great! Nice job copying and even improving on the existing shirt.
2/22/08 12:27 PM
myrooks said...
I am totally impressed. I am getting the courage up to copy a pair of RTW pants.. any hints for success?
2/22/08 12:38 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautifully done! That color is gorgeous on you!
2/22/08 12:39 PM
nicegirl said...
Thanks all! Myrooks--I wish I had some tips. For me, taking it apart worked great, keeping in mind to add seam allowances to replace those cut off by the commercial serger. If you're not willing to sacrifice the pants to the seam ripper gods, I am no help!
2/22/08 5:20 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great tee! It is very flattering so I can see why you wanted to copy it, even if it did take you two years and a lot of cleaning. ;)
2/22/08 6:52 PM
OP Gal said...
Wow. Thanks for all the details. What a success. Thanks for the review.
2/22/08 9:53 PM
Susan C said...
Wow! Nice job.
2/22/08 9:55 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
A perfect tutorial! RTW favorite to TNT pattern. You did an excellent job constructing this, and you're fast! Are you going to wear this pretty jersey with your same fabric fitted knit skirt, for a sophisticated dress look? -Lily
2/22/08 10:00 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
double post, sorry -Lily
2/22/08 10:01 PM
Huldra said...
That's such a great idea - to copy your favourite RTW garments. I actually had the same idea a while ago and felt really stupid that I hadn't thought of it sooner. Your review gave me some great tips, especially to save one half of the top intact for reference. Thank you!
2/23/08 6:39 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job!
2/23/08 7:29 AM
Deepika said...
Fabulous!!! Love the top.
2/23/08 11:10 AM
myrooks said...
Thanks for the advice..I am taking apart the pants as the are on the trashed side. I will post with the results.
2/23/08 11:51 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Terrific job! Your sewing talent is truly apparent with this top. Perfect color for you too!
2/23/08 11:59 AM
Heatherrique said...
Marvelous and entertaining reincarnation of the H&M top! I am so impressed by your skill, ingenuity, and your persistence!
2/23/08 4:55 PM
Karen6790 said...
Such a devious sewist! I'm about to attempt to copy a Tommy Hilfiger jacket I picked up at the thrift store, hoping I can manage without taking it apart. Love this shirt - you'll get tons of use out of this pattern.
2/23/08 5:49 PM
Larkin said...
Once again, Nicegirl, I'm inspired by your logic and creativity. Your top is really cute and what better way to learn RTW techniques! Thanks for sharing all the details.
2/24/08 0:11 AM
AnneM said...
Cute top, I like the neckline.
2/24/08 1:36 PM
Grammy Gin said...
I think yours looks better than the original. Wonderful job & great review. Thanks! ;)
2/26/08 4:22 PM
shinetrue said...
Thank you for sharing this! I'm quite impressed and also inspired. I concur with Grammy; I like your version even better than the original! I love that you lengthened the sleeves, and the fabric/color looks gorgeous on you! Also, Lily brought up a good question - have you worn it with the skirt you made from the same fabric? That would be cute, too! Thanks again for sharing!
3/3/08 6:52 PM
Johanna Lu said...
I've got that t-shirt and love it :) After reading your review I am very tempted to replicate it. What a great idea! You are very resourcful indeed!
3/11/08 8:09 AM
ksavila said...
super inspiring! :-)
6/4/10 12:38 PM
Maripat said...
How cute and well done. You are an artist.
6/13/10 2:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 2802

photo
by: jennycat

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now