SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB033AT (Anna Tunic)

26 more reviews
Viewed 1538 times 
Reviewed by:li'l miss muffett
photo

 
 
About li'l miss muffettstar
KS USA
Member since: 1/25/07
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/22/08 7:28 PM
Last Updated:2/22/08 7:28 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EeLo said...
Hi, It's a great top, isn't it? I'm part way through; I've just done a calico trial (muslin in US-speak, I think) and liek you, am glad I did. However, I have no intention of wearing it as a sleeveless top. I think it would look greta with a close fitting long sleeved black t-shirt underneath ... maybe that would be a good way for you to get more use out of that gaping underarm? cheers eeloh.wordpress.com
4/23/09 9:00 AM
angie.a said...
Thanks so much for the review! I made a muslin tonight and was SO glad I did. Your top looks great! I think I will definitely add the FBA. I was getting a wannabe dart under the arm too. :)
5/12/08 10:51 PM
AmyC329 said...
That turned out really cute, I was thinking about getting that top, good job!
4/15/08 12:01 PM
annaBC said...
Thanks for the pictures - I love seeing how patterns look on real people. I might make this my next project.
3/31/08 11:32 PM
shesflipped said...
I was so happy to find this review today! I LOVE Amy Butler fabrics and wanted to see if anyone had reviewed the tops pattern. LOVE IT! I am a new sewist, and after reading your review, I'll be getting this pattern! Thanks for the inspiration~This is PERFECT on you!
3/3/08 8:30 AM
StephanieW said...
I'm am picking this pattern up tomorrow. It look great on you! Excellent job!
2/29/08 11:53 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Nice job! These tops with yokes are back in style and they are so cute!
2/25/08 2:43 PM
li'l miss muffett said...
*blush* all I can say is thank you all so much! j222b: I think it would be very simple to put the buttons in front! Great idea. I did make the tie a tad wider but I forgot to put that in the review. I also made it longer! So if any of you are "plus sized" like me and going to make this top be sure to add some length to the ties so you have enough.
2/24/08 11:39 AM
carolynw said...
I love your top - you look wonderful in it!!
2/23/08 9:10 PM
Annette1 said...
So CHEERFUL and PRETTY, I love it! That yoke makes it extra special, too. Looks fantastic on you! My only complaint is, would you mind moving out of the way so I can see your apple green walls, artwork and taupe couch, because I love those too!
2/23/08 7:15 PM
j222b said...
Nice top & fabric on you-AND I LOVE the back interest with the nice buttons. Think of substituting the back yoke with buttons as a front yoke with buttons for more front interest... I would have the belt tie at the back...maybe a slightly wider belt?
2/23/08 12:33 PM
ColorMeHome said...
Really cute! The top looks fabulous on you! I just bought this pattern and after reading your review and seeing your picture I am excited to make it!
2/23/08 12:07 PM
Deepika said...
Ok, can I just say how cute you look in this? I am so making this now. Thanks for your review. Love the fabric too.
2/23/08 11:03 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Skillful alterations have perfected your fit of this light, breezy tunic top which flatters your figure mightily. I think you have lovely arms that are perfect for the cap extension/sleeve. Make many more! -Lily
2/23/08 10:18 AM
sewkal said...
I'm so happy to see your review- looks great! Thanks for the helpful info.
2/23/08 10:15 AM
dokfred said...
Looking good. You are so ready for spring. Thank you for discussing Amy Butler patterns in general.
2/23/08 9:53 AM
Sic said...
That is so cute - thank you so much for the review! Love the fabric and button combination!
2/23/08 8:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I have been hoping someone would review this pattern. Thank you, very helpful.
2/23/08 7:41 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Great job! You are so stylin' into spring!
2/23/08 7:17 AM
SewAmelia said...
I love how it came out. Too cute! I like that yours is larger than the one on the pattern it's more realistic. The girl on the pattern is probably a size 2. I will buy.
2/23/08 0:23 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
Wow! Thanks everyone! sewfrequent: yes, I think you could sew this in just about any light to mid-weight fabric, knits included. It is fully lined and I think that creates a really nice drape. I think it would turn out really lovely in a knit. Be sure to show us all!!! Oh, and there is no interfacing either. Yay! a.me.s: All I can say is: Go for it Girlfriend! It's a great place to start. OP Gal: I think I'm friggin' addicted to her fabrics. Seriously. I L.O.V.E. them all!
2/22/08 11:08 PM
cabinbaby said...
I love that fabric. So fresh and springy!
2/22/08 10:25 PM
OP Gal said...
Cute top. Don't you just love Amy Butler fabrics? This one is really attractive on you. Great job.
2/22/08 9:35 PM
kim*brown said...
This is too cute on you, fits really well with the theme of the picture hanging in the background.
2/22/08 9:28 PM
a.me.s said...
Very cute! I have this pattern and have been nervous to try it since I'm a beginner! Your review is great though...gets me motivated :)
2/22/08 9:18 PM
sewfrequent said...
Oh you really did a nice job! I am going to get that pattern soon. Do you think it would sew up well in a stable knit?
2/22/08 7:50 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

New Look 6755

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
McCall's 6408

photo
by: Stacie Thi...

Review
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

More Info