Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 8150 (3 Hour Shirt/Short/Tie) - Type:Mens    printable version
Viewed 671 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/08 2:04 PM
Last Updated:2/23/08 2:03 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Very nice, Debbie! They look like really $$$ RTW-love the wild fabrics
2/23/08 2:20 PM
j222b said...
Nice tutorial, nice boxers, thanks.
2/23/08 2:36 PM
CharityAK said...
Ahhh...from one mother-of-a-redhead to another...way to go, Mom! I love it when Moms sew for their sons. Girls seem to get the bulk of the sewn goodies. ;) Great review. Thanks!
2/23/08 2:47 PM
ryan's mom said...
These are too cute to hide as boxers, Debbie! Back in the 80's when I was in college, we used to call these jams. Jam shorts were so cool and I made a few of my own. So that's what I thought they were. So I'm guessing your boys don't have sisters because they might steal them away ;) .
2/23/08 3:41 PM
mssewcrazy said...
And people say they cannot sew for the guys! I have a feeling you have a forever sentence now to sew custom boxers. I am in awe of your sewing skills! Your blog is something I read and study the tutorials on whenever I can hoping something will sink into the aging brain. You have done a real service showing the sewing women how to make pattern adjustments,construct things, and use the coverstitch machines attachments. I did not even know the binders existed until I read your blog. Now I want to sew boxers too! Thanks!
2/23/08 4:08 PM
Annette1 said...
ONE pattern piece, NO fit adjustments, RAVE reviews: This is a winner, indeed! You'll never be traipsing up adn down the aisles of your local department stores again in search of boxers unless you WANT to. As for the tan lines, I really have to laugh. I'm a pale-skinned semi-freckled semi-brunette with a very red-headed (now gray), very freckled mother, and if I can ever muster up a tan line, I'm pretty proud of myself, too. Last year I even took to wearing SLEEVELESS (gasp!) tops for my walks. I figured nobody would see me but the dogs. Man, I was so proud of those tan lines on my shoulders that nobody ever saw, I even took to using TANNING OIL (as opposed to SPF 30, like I probably should be using). The skin doctors would not be amused, but I was feeling pretty smug. Great boxers!
2/23/08 7:03 PM
carolynw said...
Debbie these are so nice - I do not want my sons to see this as I can be sure they will be askign for me to make them and of course I would be hapy to oblige. I must get this pattern
2/23/08 9:02 PM
OP Gal said...
I think it's cool that your son was willing to model the boxers. Some guys would say "Aww, Mom!" He obviously cares for his dear ol' mom. Oh, and the boxers and the review are cool, too. Thanks.
2/23/08 10:09 PM
Robin Denning said...
Oh I never thought of sewing boxer shorts for DH! Great idea. Great review.
2/23/08 10:16 PM
SandraB said...
These are very nice Debbie.
2/23/08 11:22 PM
TanyaMT said...
Those look great - nice job. And what a unique pattern. I don't think I have seen one with a dress shirt, tie and boxers in one pattern, and unisex to boot. ;)
2/24/08 0:20 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
What a cogent and precise tutorial on your blog! I love all your DS's boxers and love that he prefers the wild patterns. All the colors, no doubt, flatter his red hair. And yes, for a redhead, that's a killer tan. It was fun reading this. -Lily
2/24/08 4:54 AM
GrammaSewn said...
Debbie are the seams done with the serger? And are there any complaints of skin irritation. I notice my sons are flat felled seams (more work)! Great job
2/24/08 8:16 AM
Grammy Gin said...
These are very nice boxers, Debbie. I love the prints. Lucky you to have a 1 piece pattern, too. You will be busy sewing more!! ;)
2/24/08 10:08 AM
jhansby said...
I wish my guys wore boxers....it would be fun to make them some in fun prints like this. Hmmm....maybe they would wear them as PJ's? Thanks for sharing!!
2/24/08 11:27 AM
Debbie Cook said...
GrammaSewn, Yes, the seams are sewn with the serger. This is the same as the RTW boxers that DS already owns. They are knit so they don't need seam finishing. And no, he doesn't complain about any irritation.
2/24/08 11:41 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 3609
photo
Review by BlossomKyl... on 10/4/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Oversized Fashionista Bag
photo
Review by Sewphistic... on 2/12/11
Read Review

McCalls 6467 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6467 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3238 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 3238 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us