SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 8150 (3 Hour Shirt/Short/Tie)

Viewed 671 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 196
Favored by: 394 people
patterns reviewed: 183
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/23/08 2:04 PM
Last Updated:2/23/08 2:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Cook said...
GrammaSewn, Yes, the seams are sewn with the serger. This is the same as the RTW boxers that DS already owns. They are knit so they don't need seam finishing. And no, he doesn't complain about any irritation.
2/24/08 11:41 AM
jhansby said...
I wish my guys wore boxers....it would be fun to make them some in fun prints like this. Hmmm....maybe they would wear them as PJ's? Thanks for sharing!!
2/24/08 11:27 AM
Grammy Gin said...
These are very nice boxers, Debbie. I love the prints. Lucky you to have a 1 piece pattern, too. You will be busy sewing more!! ;)
2/24/08 10:08 AM
GrammaSewn said...
Debbie are the seams done with the serger? And are there any complaints of skin irritation. I notice my sons are flat felled seams (more work)! Great job
2/24/08 8:16 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
What a cogent and precise tutorial on your blog! I love all your DS's boxers and love that he prefers the wild patterns. All the colors, no doubt, flatter his red hair. And yes, for a redhead, that's a killer tan. It was fun reading this. -Lily
2/24/08 4:54 AM
TanyaMT said...
Those look great - nice job. And what a unique pattern. I don't think I have seen one with a dress shirt, tie and boxers in one pattern, and unisex to boot. ;)
2/24/08 0:20 AM
SandraB said...
These are very nice Debbie.
2/23/08 11:22 PM
Robin Denning said...
Oh I never thought of sewing boxer shorts for DH! Great idea. Great review.
2/23/08 10:16 PM
OP Gal said...
I think it's cool that your son was willing to model the boxers. Some guys would say "Aww, Mom!" He obviously cares for his dear ol' mom. Oh, and the boxers and the review are cool, too. Thanks.
2/23/08 10:09 PM
carolynw said...
Debbie these are so nice - I do not want my sons to see this as I can be sure they will be askign for me to make them and of course I would be hapy to oblige. I must get this pattern
2/23/08 9:02 PM
Annette1 said...
ONE pattern piece, NO fit adjustments, RAVE reviews: This is a winner, indeed! You'll never be traipsing up adn down the aisles of your local department stores again in search of boxers unless you WANT to. As for the tan lines, I really have to laugh. I'm a pale-skinned semi-freckled semi-brunette with a very red-headed (now gray), very freckled mother, and if I can ever muster up a tan line, I'm pretty proud of myself, too. Last year I even took to wearing SLEEVELESS (gasp!) tops for my walks. I figured nobody would see me but the dogs. Man, I was so proud of those tan lines on my shoulders that nobody ever saw, I even took to using TANNING OIL (as opposed to SPF 30, like I probably should be using). The skin doctors would not be amused, but I was feeling pretty smug. Great boxers!
2/23/08 7:03 PM
mssewcrazy said...
And people say they cannot sew for the guys! I have a feeling you have a forever sentence now to sew custom boxers. I am in awe of your sewing skills! Your blog is something I read and study the tutorials on whenever I can hoping something will sink into the aging brain. You have done a real service showing the sewing women how to make pattern adjustments,construct things, and use the coverstitch machines attachments. I did not even know the binders existed until I read your blog. Now I want to sew boxers too! Thanks!
2/23/08 4:08 PM
ryan's mom said...
These are too cute to hide as boxers, Debbie! Back in the 80's when I was in college, we used to call these jams. Jam shorts were so cool and I made a few of my own. So that's what I thought they were. So I'm guessing your boys don't have sisters because they might steal them away ;) .
2/23/08 3:41 PM
CharityAK said...
Ahhh...from one mother-of-a-redhead to another...way to go, Mom! I love it when Moms sew for their sons. Girls seem to get the bulk of the sewn goodies. ;) Great review. Thanks!
2/23/08 2:47 PM
j222b said...
Nice tutorial, nice boxers, thanks.
2/23/08 2:36 PM
Hilary said...
Very nice, Debbie! They look like really $$$ RTW-love the wild fabrics
2/23/08 2:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Burda 7447

photo
by: KathB

Review
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Sewing Workshop MixIt Shirt, Top & Tank Pattern

Buy Now
Other Gertie\'s NBBS

photo
by: rosiewedne...

Review