Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3059 (polo shirts) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1679 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/03 11:50 PM
Last Updated:5/13/03 0:16 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lisa Laree said...
Comfy looking top! I haven't been brave enough to tackle a placket-front knit shirt yet, either, but this looks like a real possibility! Thanks for the review!
5/12/03 0:09 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I love the look of these type tops and now you have encouraged me. I'm adding this to my wish list. I like the cap sleeves alot better than regular sleeves, too. You look so cute in it!
5/12/03 0:37 AM
Gigi Louis said...
This is such a cute top!
5/12/03 8:59 AM
Karla Kizer said...
This top looks great, D. I agree with you that it is less fitted than the pattern art would indicate; maybe going down 1/2 - 1 size and using a stretchier knit (no lycra) would work for a casual-wear shirt. This one is unrevealing enough to make it perfect for your office this summer, though. Looks good!
5/12/03 9:01 AM
Lou. said...
Great T Shirt Deepika, I have several rtw ones of these, but I think I may have to make my own now!
5/12/03 9:26 AM
Deepika said...
Lisa really its very easy to make the placket. Actually when I was doing it, it was so simple that I said to myself... that's it? Perfect for office wear with comfort of knit. Karla going down 1/2 a size is a great idea. I might have to try that next time. Thanks everyone for your nice comments. I have a question about snaps though. I used size 16 snaps in this shirt. Does anyone have difficulty opening the snaps? They seem too tight and I am always afraid that I'll rip my fabric. So I put my nail between the two components and then pull it out. The ones in RTW are so soft though. Am I using the wrong size?
5/12/03 10:23 AM
Skymom said...
I like that pattern, and your shirt is very cute. I just bought practically the identical top at the Gap last weekend! But what I really like are sleeveless polo shirts, which are hard to find at decent prices. So now I can make my own. Thanks for the great review.
5/12/03 11:12 AM
Rennie Ashby said...
I agree. This is so cute on you. I could see needing several! Luckily, this is a pattern I already own.
5/12/03 12:14 PM
Carol Wisman said...
Great Job D! Thanks for the review, I also have this in my stash but haven't got to it yet, need a little more warm weather here 1st. :)
5/12/03 5:03 PM
Julia Graham said...
The SnapSource info specifically says that she created these snaps because the others on the sewing market weren't sturdy/"grippy" enough. The only size smaller than the ones you used is the 14, which has a very light grip meant for light fabrics or baby clothes. I think the 16 is right for what you're doing; when I'm using size 16s in clothing I do put a light interfacing into my layers, along with the doubled fabric, and so far no pull-outs. Haven't used them on knit yet, though. Seems to me as long as your knit is good quality they'll be fine... I'd be interested to hear otherwise, as right now I'm totally in love with these snaps and plan to put them on almost everything for a while. :-) Buttonholes are really hard on a narrow placket.
5/12/03 10:26 PM
joan said...
Good review, D. As to the snaps, I too have found them to be too tight and I like to use them a lot, both for my garments and for my many grandchildren. Wovens work better than knits, for me. Many times I have had to replace ones on the grandchildrens' knits that I have made for them.
5/13/03 2:17 AM
sewgirl said...
Is the fabric you used a rib knit? If not, did you use ribbing for the collar?
8/4/03 10:18 PM
Deepika said...
sewgirl no the fabric is cotton lycra and I used the same fabric for the collar as well. Worked very well.
8/5/03 10:50 AM
cynthia w said...
love this top. did you end up making more versions of this top? if so, i'd love to see them. great review. thanks.
6/18/04 9:24 PM
Deepika said...
Cynthia, no I didn't The only thing I dont like about this pattern ist here are so many pattern pieces so everytime I decide to make one of these, I put the pattern back :) But once you've cut out everything it goes together very quickly.
6/19/04 7:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 1087 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 6/6/10
Read Review

Burda 7086 Pattern
Burda 7086 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9448 Pattern
Burda 9448 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other no. 12
photo
Review by Tini on 6/4/04
Read Review

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern
SewBaby

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us