SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3059 (polo shirts)

16 more reviews
Viewed 1681 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 369
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 303 people
patterns reviewed: 267
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/11/03 11:50 PM
Last Updated:5/13/03 0:16 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Deepika said...
Cynthia, no I didn't The only thing I dont like about this pattern ist here are so many pattern pieces so everytime I decide to make one of these, I put the pattern back :) But once you've cut out everything it goes together very quickly.
6/19/04 7:18 AM
cynthia w said...
love this top. did you end up making more versions of this top? if so, i'd love to see them. great review. thanks.
6/18/04 9:24 PM
Deepika said...
sewgirl no the fabric is cotton lycra and I used the same fabric for the collar as well. Worked very well.
8/5/03 10:50 AM
sewgirl said...
Is the fabric you used a rib knit? If not, did you use ribbing for the collar?
8/4/03 10:18 PM
joan said...
Good review, D. As to the snaps, I too have found them to be too tight and I like to use them a lot, both for my garments and for my many grandchildren. Wovens work better than knits, for me. Many times I have had to replace ones on the grandchildrens' knits that I have made for them.
5/13/03 2:17 AM
Julia Graham said...
The SnapSource info specifically says that she created these snaps because the others on the sewing market weren't sturdy/"grippy" enough. The only size smaller than the ones you used is the 14, which has a very light grip meant for light fabrics or baby clothes. I think the 16 is right for what you're doing; when I'm using size 16s in clothing I do put a light interfacing into my layers, along with the doubled fabric, and so far no pull-outs. Haven't used them on knit yet, though. Seems to me as long as your knit is good quality they'll be fine... I'd be interested to hear otherwise, as right now I'm totally in love with these snaps and plan to put them on almost everything for a while. :-) Buttonholes are really hard on a narrow placket.
5/12/03 10:26 PM
Carol Wisman said...
Great Job D! Thanks for the review, I also have this in my stash but haven't got to it yet, need a little more warm weather here 1st. :)
5/12/03 5:03 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
I agree. This is so cute on you. I could see needing several! Luckily, this is a pattern I already own.
5/12/03 12:14 PM
Skymom said...
I like that pattern, and your shirt is very cute. I just bought practically the identical top at the Gap last weekend! But what I really like are sleeveless polo shirts, which are hard to find at decent prices. So now I can make my own. Thanks for the great review.
5/12/03 11:12 AM
Deepika said...
Lisa really its very easy to make the placket. Actually when I was doing it, it was so simple that I said to myself... that's it? Perfect for office wear with comfort of knit. Karla going down 1/2 a size is a great idea. I might have to try that next time. Thanks everyone for your nice comments. I have a question about snaps though. I used size 16 snaps in this shirt. Does anyone have difficulty opening the snaps? They seem too tight and I am always afraid that I'll rip my fabric. So I put my nail between the two components and then pull it out. The ones in RTW are so soft though. Am I using the wrong size?
5/12/03 10:23 AM
Lou. said...
Great T Shirt Deepika, I have several rtw ones of these, but I think I may have to make my own now!
5/12/03 9:26 AM
Karla Kizer said...
This top looks great, D. I agree with you that it is less fitted than the pattern art would indicate; maybe going down 1/2 - 1 size and using a stretchier knit (no lycra) would work for a casual-wear shirt. This one is unrevealing enough to make it perfect for your office this summer, though. Looks good!
5/12/03 9:01 AM
Gigi Louis said...
This is such a cute top!
5/12/03 8:59 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I love the look of these type tops and now you have encouraged me. I'm adding this to my wish list. I like the cap sleeves alot better than regular sleeves, too. You look so cute in it!
5/12/03 0:37 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Comfy looking top! I haven't been brave enough to tackle a placket-front knit shirt yet, either, but this looks like a real possibility! Thanks for the review!
5/12/03 0:09 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Burda 7429

photo
by: arianamani...

Review
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2007-112

photo
by: kidmd

Review