SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1407 (Barcelona Dress)

28 more reviews
Viewed 1778 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 384 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/03 4:09 AM
Last Updated:5/13/03 2:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen Bowers said...
wow, ann! i think this is one of my favorite outfits of yours! great fabric, too.
5/13/03 5:58 AM
jlg said...
You always do such nice work. This is a great version of this dress.
5/13/03 8:13 AM
Gigi Louis said...
This pattern is a favorite of mine too. This is so stunning on you and, as usual, your choice of fabric really makes the dress.
5/13/03 9:01 AM
Deepika said...
Ann the dress is lovely! And I like your fabric too. Was rayon a little difficult to sew?
5/13/03 10:15 AM
Skymom said...
Ann, it is such a pleasure to see someone who uses prints and color with so much style! I love this dress! Can you tell me, how do you think the style would work on someone with narrow shoulders and a very minimal bustline? It looks so graceful on you, but I'm afraid it might be impossible to fit attractively on my distinctly unshapely torso!
5/13/03 12:19 PM
Ann Smith said...
Deepika: this rayon was wonderful to work with. I followed Loes' suggestion to serge finish the edges first, then straight stitch the seam. This helped to stabilize the fabric. That reminds me, I meant to mention in the review about the bias seam. I will edit the review to add that. Skymom: the dress does hang and shape from the shoulders and bust. There is no shoulder seam so the sleeves may help to extend a narrow shoulder. It is so easy to make it would be worth making a quick muslin of the bodice to see how it shapes on you.
5/13/03 2:54 PM
PhyllisC said...
Ann - do you think this style is a candidate for slinky knit?
5/13/03 5:25 PM
Karen Bowers said...
phyllis, for all that this pattern is fairly simple, i think this pattern has too much detail for slinky. there is a vertical bust dart at the waist. i also think the curved hem would be difficult to manage with the weightiness of slinky.
5/13/03 7:10 PM
Julia Graham said...
Ann, absolutely beautiful! You are a veritable yente for hard-to-pair fabrics and patterns...
5/13/03 7:43 PM
guillorypr said...
beautiful dress!!!
5/13/03 7:46 PM
Ann Smith said...
Phyllis: I think you could do this dress in slinky if you stabilize the waistline seam. You could just cut the skirt hem and not hem it. I've seen that suggested as a finish on slinky hems.
5/13/03 10:52 PM
Michelle said...
Lovely dress. I have had this pattern but haven't made it up yet. Need to do that now!! Thanks Ann!!
5/13/03 10:53 PM
TSingh said...
I love your fabric choice as usual. I've had my eye on this pattern for quite a while.
7/22/03 11:35 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Stretch & Sew 1276

photo
by: dakotasews

Review
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now