Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Textile Studio: 1407 (Barcelona Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1770 times 27 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/03 4:09 AM
Last Updated:5/13/03 2:57 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen Bowers said...
wow, ann! i think this is one of my favorite outfits of yours! great fabric, too.
5/13/03 5:58 AM
jlg said...
You always do such nice work. This is a great version of this dress.
5/13/03 8:13 AM
Gigi Louis said...
This pattern is a favorite of mine too. This is so stunning on you and, as usual, your choice of fabric really makes the dress.
5/13/03 9:01 AM
Deepika said...
Ann the dress is lovely! And I like your fabric too. Was rayon a little difficult to sew?
5/13/03 10:15 AM
Skymom said...
Ann, it is such a pleasure to see someone who uses prints and color with so much style! I love this dress! Can you tell me, how do you think the style would work on someone with narrow shoulders and a very minimal bustline? It looks so graceful on you, but I'm afraid it might be impossible to fit attractively on my distinctly unshapely torso!
5/13/03 12:19 PM
Ann Smith said...
Deepika: this rayon was wonderful to work with. I followed Loes' suggestion to serge finish the edges first, then straight stitch the seam. This helped to stabilize the fabric. That reminds me, I meant to mention in the review about the bias seam. I will edit the review to add that. Skymom: the dress does hang and shape from the shoulders and bust. There is no shoulder seam so the sleeves may help to extend a narrow shoulder. It is so easy to make it would be worth making a quick muslin of the bodice to see how it shapes on you.
5/13/03 2:54 PM
PhyllisC said...
Ann - do you think this style is a candidate for slinky knit?
5/13/03 5:25 PM
Karen Bowers said...
phyllis, for all that this pattern is fairly simple, i think this pattern has too much detail for slinky. there is a vertical bust dart at the waist. i also think the curved hem would be difficult to manage with the weightiness of slinky.
5/13/03 7:10 PM
Julia Graham said...
Ann, absolutely beautiful! You are a veritable yente for hard-to-pair fabrics and patterns...
5/13/03 7:43 PM
guillorypr said...
beautiful dress!!!
5/13/03 7:46 PM
Ann Smith said...
Phyllis: I think you could do this dress in slinky if you stabilize the waistline seam. You could just cut the skirt hem and not hem it. I've seen that suggested as a finish on slinky hems.
5/13/03 10:52 PM
Michelle said...
Lovely dress. I have had this pattern but haven't made it up yet. Need to do that now!! Thanks Ann!!
5/13/03 10:53 PM
TSingh said...
I love your fabric choice as usual. I've had my eye on this pattern for quite a while.
7/22/03 11:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Butterick 5526 Misses' Shirt
photo
Review by Handshake on 1/22/14
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2327
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 10/4/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2454 Pattern( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2454 Pattern( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1425 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1425 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us