SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Plaza Jacket (Plaza Jacket)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1949 times 
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 348
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 388 people
patterns reviewed: 345
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/13/03 4:32 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Ann Smith said...
Thanks for your compliments everyone! It keeps me going.....
5/13/03 5:03 PM
Irene said...
This garment is striking on you, Ann! You have such an uncanny ability to match fabric and pattern with your sense of style. Thanks for the thorough review and, especially, for the photo of the very, very wide sleeves.
5/13/03 4:41 PM
Mariko said...
Correction: I meant to say "...to match design and fabric..".
5/13/03 3:58 PM
Mariko said...
Ann, thank you for the review! I am always impressed by your sense to match the design and pattern. This one, too, the simple rectangle shape of the design seems to bring out the beautiful prints. It looks really nice on you. I love your classy style very much!
5/13/03 3:56 PM
CatherineN said...
This looks great on you. Thanks for the picture-we are all so curious to see it made up.
5/13/03 3:34 PM
Karen Bowers said...
ann, thanks for this review. i often have a hard time imagining SW patterns in real life. their rectangular geometry is hard for me to imagine on real womanly curves. thanks for showing just how beautiful rectangles can look! again, a great fabric.
5/13/03 3:12 PM
Karen W. said...
Glad someone posted a photo for this jacket! Every version I've seen looks completely different. I had seen it with closures on some Sewing Workshop samples (I used antique buttons on front corners of mine but for decorative effect, not closures) but they did so by folding back the corners..... your example is a great one to show how it could also be a top (wouldn't this be cool and airy in summer!). As for that bit of "air" under the arms.... it can be tiny as a pinhole where the 4 corners meet up.... and on the Sewing Workshop's own samples... they had the same issue! It's not big enough to be seen though!
5/13/03 2:55 PM
Ann Smith said...
Jig: the pin is the only closure. Because of the angle and amount of overlap, the top stays closed easily. Rennie: I was planning to make the pants but discovered I already had 2 or 3 that looked good hanging in my closet! So I will make the pants later to go with another version of this jacket. The top does need loose pants. I tried on fitted capris and that didn't work as well.
5/13/03 1:59 PM
Elona said...
Ann, that is so very, very pretty on you!
5/13/03 1:11 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
This looks great! Beautiful fabric. How about the pant pattern? It looks interesting too. This one goes in the wish list.
5/13/03 12:52 PM
Skymom said...
I hadn't thought of making this as a top, but it sure looks great that way. I wear mine with a pin to close it just the way you do, but mine's in a tweedy wooly fabric with a dark, subtle plaid--something that you'd expect to see tailored. I'm 5'6" and don't find it overwhelmeing, though the effect is almost as much shawl as jacket. Also, since my fabric was heavy, I didn't do the very nice seam finishes recommended in the pattern, but rather serged the edges. Black serger thread blended into the fabric almost invisibly, so the inside still looks just fine, but with a lighter-weight fabric I'd definitely do the fold-and-topstitch/felled seam techniques.
5/13/03 12:16 PM
Mini said...
I have seen a ready to wear (Shirin Guild label) version of this jacket style. It was made up in a heavy wool tweed -very bulky and overwhelming for short women. Also super expensive! Your jacket looks light and elegant, and much more flattering. Godd fabric choice, too.
5/13/03 11:25 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Ann, I've never seen this made up before. Unusual designs like look so great on you!
5/13/03 9:15 AM
jlg said...
Thanks Ann. I've wanted to see this pattern on a person. Sew News also has a picture of this jacket and the pants this month, but on hangers. Yours is lovely. Is the pin the only closure, or do you have something inside also?
5/13/03 8:21 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 82155-1006

photo
by: rivergum

Review
Other Rosy Ladyshorts

photo
by: SusanStitc...

Review
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

More Info