Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4593 (6 fast and easy skirts) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 359 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Amy J
photo
About Amy Jstar
CO USA
Member since: 11/29/06
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/08 4:58 PM
Last Updated:2/27/08 5:03 PM


See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $11.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewLil said...
Sorry to hear these directions didn't work out for you. I have this same pattern and have been waiting to make it. I'll have to pay extra close attention. Thanks.
2/27/08 5:21 PM
Beek said...
I know what you mean in regards to pattern directions. I have a library of how-to sewing references that I am constantly referring to in lieu of the pattern instruction. The skirt still looks cute. And full skirts are in!
2/27/08 5:30 PM
Athene said...
The skirt looks very nice but what a shame that you had to work so hard to achieve a nice look with it. Some patterns are really disappointing.
2/27/08 6:21 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Ooooo ... that hurts when you have to fight a pattern every inch of the way. On the good side, you took charge and created a lovely little skirt for Miss Priss, and she looks very proud and happy in it. That's the goal. -Lily
2/27/08 9:18 PM
janet said...
Cute skirt! I think that if you can stick with certain Vogue patterns--those designed with Claire Schaeffer and Sandra Betzina, you will find out that they write their own directions and the patterns work! Also, Connie Crawford writes excellent directions for her patterns in Butterick--have not tried the fit. As far as independent patterns, I would go with Dawn Anderson Designs. She not only designs and grades her own patterns--she is her own tech writer. And of course, if you wonder if a pattern or directions work, why not type the pattern number into patternreview. Reading the reviews closely to see if the wearer of the pattern has a similar body type, etc. Best of luck to you!
2/28/08 4:32 PM
sewing PA said...
I just made this pattern 2x. I have to agree with you. The pattern is poorly drafted, and the instructions are inadequate. I will be putting a review of this pattern on the site soon. When I read your review, I measured the pattern, 3" of wearing ease in the waist, give me a break. I think that is why the other reviewer punted and put in an elastic.
3/3/09 1:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Violette Field Threads Emmaline Maxi Dress
photo
Review by newmama on 6/23/12
Read Review

Jeans for Real People DVD Set
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)
Angela Osborn Marion Skirt Digital Pattern (SS11-12-201)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2010-132
photo
Review by SewingandS... on 1/11/12
Read Review

Simplicity 4647 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 4647 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8926 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8926 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us