SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4593 (6 fast and easy skirts)

4 more reviews
Viewed 367 times 
Reviewed by:Amy J
photo

 
 
About Amy Jstar
CO USA
Member since: 11/29/06
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/27/08 4:58 PM
Last Updated:2/27/08 5:03 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Kids(boys & girls)    
Available for sale on PR: $11.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewing PA said...
I just made this pattern 2x. I have to agree with you. The pattern is poorly drafted, and the instructions are inadequate. I will be putting a review of this pattern on the site soon. When I read your review, I measured the pattern, 3" of wearing ease in the waist, give me a break. I think that is why the other reviewer punted and put in an elastic.
3/3/09 1:24 PM
janet said...
Cute skirt! I think that if you can stick with certain Vogue patterns--those designed with Claire Schaeffer and Sandra Betzina, you will find out that they write their own directions and the patterns work! Also, Connie Crawford writes excellent directions for her patterns in Butterick--have not tried the fit. As far as independent patterns, I would go with Dawn Anderson Designs. She not only designs and grades her own patterns--she is her own tech writer. And of course, if you wonder if a pattern or directions work, why not type the pattern number into patternreview. Reading the reviews closely to see if the wearer of the pattern has a similar body type, etc. Best of luck to you!
2/28/08 4:32 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Ooooo ... that hurts when you have to fight a pattern every inch of the way. On the good side, you took charge and created a lovely little skirt for Miss Priss, and she looks very proud and happy in it. That's the goal. -Lily
2/27/08 9:18 PM
Athene said...
The skirt looks very nice but what a shame that you had to work so hard to achieve a nice look with it. Some patterns are really disappointing.
2/27/08 6:21 PM
Beek said...
I know what you mean in regards to pattern directions. I have a library of how-to sewing references that I am constantly referring to in lieu of the pattern instruction. The skirt still looks cute. And full skirts are in!
2/27/08 5:30 PM
SewLil said...
Sorry to hear these directions didn't work out for you. I have this same pattern and have been waiting to make it. I'll have to pay extra close attention. Thanks.
2/27/08 5:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

McCall's M5948

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

Sew Liberated The Emmeline Apron

More Info
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

More Info