SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Design and Sew> 334 (A Poet's Shirt)

Viewed 468 times 
Reviewed by:kathyw
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About kathywstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/9/06
Reviews written: 50
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/7/08 8:10 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Well, your numerous tweaks to this pattern really paid off, because it looks lovely now. I've never made this pattern, but I have made one from this line (two actually), and they both ran huge, as well. I kind of gave up on them, but I do like the designs very much, and yours has turned out beautifully.
3/9/08 5:00 AM
khurtdvm said...
Very nice results. You should definitely make it again, since you know the tweaks to make. I'm sorry that it was so frustrating.
3/8/08 12:43 PM
janet said...
You did a beautiful job on your shirt and you look lovely in it. Ms. Ericson definitely needs a tech writer to do her pattern instructions as they are very poor. She also needs some one to "proof" her pattern pieces. I have tried two of her patterns with less than stellar results...
3/8/08 11:25 AM
Irene Q said...
Beautiful shirt - your perseverance paid off! I have another one of these patterns, and haven't been brave enough to try it yet.
3/8/08 10:31 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Lois Ericson's patterns are creative but not for the faint of heart. She is creative but her drafting can be a bit ambiguous at times. They always run BIG. Big star for you for sticking with it. You finished project is one to be proud of.
3/8/08 9:34 AM
Mahler said...
Nice and poetic enough to be called a poet's shirt. Good review.
3/8/08 8:43 AM
carolynw said...
Glad you didn't toss it - nice looking shirt
3/8/08 8:20 AM
davin said...
I'm still gun-shy from one of her patterns a few years back. What really galled me was when I actually phoned her in despair over ruining a gorgeous piece of fabric -- and she blithely told me, oh, yes, we did reverse those two pictures! Arghh.
3/7/08 10:57 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your poet's shirt is lovely, Kathy. But like you, I would have been very annoyed at the bizarre sizing and the necessary changes. I'm glad, though, that you persisted b/c you look wonderful in this pretty tencel top. -Lily
3/7/08 9:08 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

More Info
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2008-139

photo
by: TalyQ

Review