SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5142 (The Perfect Jean)

27 more reviews
Viewed 999 times 
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 148
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 134 people
patterns reviewed: 143
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/08 5:08 PM
Last Updated:3/10/08 3:30 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cabinbaby said...
Thank you, thank you for that great fly tutorial!!!
3/9/08 5:20 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Congratulation for your right fit jeans! It's interesting to know that everyone has the issue with right fit pants, thought it was only me! so it's kind of relief.....and thank you for your tutorials page, all of them very helpful!
3/9/08 5:29 PM
Aixoise said...
From what I've heard, the McCall's company, to everyone's dismay, felt it needed to eliminate the extra guide sheets that explain the alteration lines on the pattern as a cost-cutting measure. The alterations are all explained in the Pants for Real People book, and there's a note somewhere in the pattern sheets referring you to the book. Nice job on the jeans. You clearly know the alterations that you need.
3/9/08 5:33 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Sigrid, your pants/jeans look fabulous. Not only are your fitting changes perfect but the fabric you've chosen really elevates these way beyond ordinary jeans! I love all the wardrobe pairings in which you've incorporated the jeans. And a special thank you for sharing your insightful tutorials. What a gifted sewist you are, and I really look forward to a Review written by you. -Lily
3/9/08 6:01 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Beautiful jeans and I love the white w/black pinstriping. It makes me want to find some myself and make my fourth pair of these jeans. I think McCalls should give us all royalties for promoting this pattern for them, as it seems to be very popular, proving to be as it is called - The Perfect Jeans" Thank you for linking the tips and writing a great review.-Jan
3/9/08 7:17 PM
pterion said...
Congratulations on finding your TNT pattern for jeans. Thanks for sharing the story of your pants fitting journey. They look great!
3/9/08 9:18 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Loved the striped jeans! I think the fit is very near to perfect. No one stands with their legs together when modeling pants so I wouldn't obsess too much. Yes, easy for me to say. :grin:
3/10/08 6:56 AM
MissCelie said...
I love the stripped jeans Sigrid. Takes them from casual to summer's best! I also love to hear about jeans and pants fitting out of the envelope!
3/10/08 7:35 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I love how you used the stripes on the back yoke! These look great on you, and so perfect for this summer's nautical look...
3/10/08 7:42 AM
BeckyC said...
Your jeans look great on you! Thank you for all the great tips and tutorials you included in your review. Can't wait to see your next pair of jeans.
3/10/08 8:34 AM
cecelia said...
Very nice looking jeans--glad you got a good fit from this pattern.
3/10/08 8:56 AM
Beek said...
Nice looking jeans. I really admire your skill at matching the stripes and the arrangement of the stripes.
3/10/08 9:22 AM
Christina Sonja said...
A new TNT pattern - yay! The pinstripe denim is just fabulous.
3/10/08 1:18 PM
carolynw said...
Your jeans are indeed a perfect fit and the pin stripes take your jeans to fabulous level. I wouldn't worry about wrinkles in the back - I bet you hardly ever stand like that and I believe even very expensive RTW jeans may wrinkle when you stand that way. Well done - you have indeed perfected the fit!!
3/10/08 2:53 PM
Annette1 said...
Great-looking jeans, Sigrid, and I heartily agree with Debbie and Clin: No more obsessing about wrinkles. :o) These look great on you!
3/11/08 7:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Lutterloh 2005

photo
by: Baja Susan...

Review
McCall's 5135

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Sewn Square One Skirt Smarts Pattern

Buy Now
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now