Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5142 (The Perfect Jean) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 999 times 27 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 144
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
patterns reviewed: 139
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/9/08 5:08 PM
Last Updated:3/10/08 3:30 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cabinbaby said...
Thank you, thank you for that great fly tutorial!!!
3/9/08 5:20 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Congratulation for your right fit jeans! It's interesting to know that everyone has the issue with right fit pants, thought it was only me! so it's kind of relief.....and thank you for your tutorials page, all of them very helpful!
3/9/08 5:29 PM
Aixoise said...
From what I've heard, the McCall's company, to everyone's dismay, felt it needed to eliminate the extra guide sheets that explain the alteration lines on the pattern as a cost-cutting measure. The alterations are all explained in the Pants for Real People book, and there's a note somewhere in the pattern sheets referring you to the book. Nice job on the jeans. You clearly know the alterations that you need.
3/9/08 5:33 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Sigrid, your pants/jeans look fabulous. Not only are your fitting changes perfect but the fabric you've chosen really elevates these way beyond ordinary jeans! I love all the wardrobe pairings in which you've incorporated the jeans. And a special thank you for sharing your insightful tutorials. What a gifted sewist you are, and I really look forward to a Review written by you. -Lily
3/9/08 6:01 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Beautiful jeans and I love the white w/black pinstriping. It makes me want to find some myself and make my fourth pair of these jeans. I think McCalls should give us all royalties for promoting this pattern for them, as it seems to be very popular, proving to be as it is called - The Perfect Jeans" Thank you for linking the tips and writing a great review.-Jan
3/9/08 7:17 PM
pterion said...
Congratulations on finding your TNT pattern for jeans. Thanks for sharing the story of your pants fitting journey. They look great!
3/9/08 9:18 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Loved the striped jeans! I think the fit is very near to perfect. No one stands with their legs together when modeling pants so I wouldn't obsess too much. Yes, easy for me to say. :grin:
3/10/08 6:56 AM
MissCelie said...
I love the stripped jeans Sigrid. Takes them from casual to summer's best! I also love to hear about jeans and pants fitting out of the envelope!
3/10/08 7:35 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I love how you used the stripes on the back yoke! These look great on you, and so perfect for this summer's nautical look...
3/10/08 7:42 AM
BeckyC said...
Your jeans look great on you! Thank you for all the great tips and tutorials you included in your review. Can't wait to see your next pair of jeans.
3/10/08 8:34 AM
cecelia said...
Very nice looking jeans--glad you got a good fit from this pattern.
3/10/08 8:56 AM
Beek said...
Nice looking jeans. I really admire your skill at matching the stripes and the arrangement of the stripes.
3/10/08 9:22 AM
Christina Sonja said...
A new TNT pattern - yay! The pinstripe denim is just fabulous.
3/10/08 1:18 PM
carolynw said...
Your jeans are indeed a perfect fit and the pin stripes take your jeans to fabulous level. I wouldn't worry about wrinkles in the back - I bet you hardly ever stand like that and I believe even very expensive RTW jeans may wrinkle when you stand that way. Well done - you have indeed perfected the fit!!
3/10/08 2:53 PM
Annette1 said...
Great-looking jeans, Sigrid, and I heartily agree with Debbie and Clin: No more obsessing about wrinkles. :o) These look great on you!
3/11/08 7:37 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

McCall's 5752
photo
Review by SueV on 1/8/10
Read Review

Vogue 1354 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1354 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1462 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1462 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2899
photo
Review by PhyllisC on 1/24/05
Read Review

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Hopscotch Skirt, Knit Top & Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern
SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us