Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2007-101 (Front Tie Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1036 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/16/08 11:58 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lilyofthevalley said...
Louella, both of your blouses are gorgeous; I really can't decide which I like better. The style is so flattering to you and this one adds to your great wardrobe of beautiful tops/blouses. I'm sure that your Math teaching experience aided you in solving the puzzle that is BWOF instructions. Another beauty for you. -Lily
3/16/08 1:05 PM
Annette1 said...
What a great review! I had to laugh as I was reading the instructions for attaching the collar/ties and imagining the befuddled look on your face. 'Course, it didn't take much imagination, as I'm sure I had the same look when reading them. Regardless, your blouse has turned out perfectly, and you look so pretty in red in the first place! (You have really pretty wrists and hands too, by the way.) I get the Burda magazines, so maybe your positive outcome will prod me on to get out my grocery sacks and start tracing!
3/16/08 1:11 PM
Irene Q said...
This was my first BWOF pattern, too! Love how both of yours turned out.
3/16/08 1:55 PM
judy3 said...
Beautiful blouses-and I really like your choice of fabrics. You look great in both of them! By the way, it's nice to hear that other people experience "duh" moments, too!
3/16/08 1:59 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Another success! Love that red on you. You're totally right about older Burda magazines being a puzzle horror, but they had -way- more patterns in each issue... And the fit was much better for larger sizes. Sigh.
3/16/08 3:38 PM
Beek said...
You constructed two beautiful blouses with minimal directions from Burda! Bravo! Fabulous accomplishments!
3/16/08 5:08 PM
EveS said...
OOH!! I have this b&w fabric, too!!! (Are you surprised?) :) Congrats on finishing your 1st BWOF (twice). I'm working up the guts to start one...you've inspired me to get going. You and your tops look gorgeous as always!!!
3/16/08 10:10 PM
Mahler said...
you look wonderful with both of those top, the B&W and the red one... great work !
3/16/08 11:25 PM
michellep74 said...
Congrats on your first BWOF! I love both of your versions of this top.
3/16/08 11:45 PM
Karen8320 said...
You look fabulous in both of your blouses! Congratulations on completing your first Burda WOF garment! I am yet to take on that challenge but your success with this has perhaps given me the impetus I need to start. I love that you are such a prolific sewist and I fiugre that your wardrobes must be bursting at the seams with all of your wonderful garments!
3/17/08 5:32 AM
ITAdmin said...
I vote for the black and white one. Cute! And thanks for the plastic bag info. I'm going to check that out, as we have quite a collection, including some really big one.
3/17/08 7:01 AM
crisford said...
Congratulations, great job! I really enjoyed your personal comments on the "Duh" Burda Code! And thank you very much for the recycled bags/tracing paper tip.
3/17/08 1:22 PM
nicegirl said...
Your version is sooooo much cuter than the technical drawing and the magazine photo. I didn't like it at all in the issue but now I feel I was too hasty in my judgment...
3/17/08 2:36 PM
Birgitte said...
Those are two really beautiful blouses- the fit looks just perfect on you! Congratulations on your first BWOF. Are you hooked yet:-)
3/17/08 5:06 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Great review and wonderful blouse!
3/18/08 6:26 PM
tomed said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern - I love your versions! They both look great on you!
3/20/08 10:36 PM
Em's Summer said...
Very cute top! And a great 'go green' tracing paper tip!
4/8/08 3:58 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2009-102
photo
Review by Heidi Ho on 1/12/10
Read Review

New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6141 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 18W-26W )
Simplicity 1657 Pattern ( Size 18W-26W )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's M5050
photo
Review by velosewer on 11/3/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Alex & Anna Summer PJs Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us