Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 01-2008-116 (Wrap over top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 829 times 32 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Leora
photo
About Leorastar
OR USA
Member since: 2/7/04
Reviews written: 41
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Posted on:3/17/08 1:51 AM
Last Updated:3/17/08 1:42 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Very cute. It's good to know that this works as a sleeveless top too which will be great for summer. Thanks for trying and reviewing it!
3/17/08 8:42 AM
Sic said...
Darling top - I love this pattern sleeveless!
3/17/08 9:03 AM
VtMartha said...
I'm making this now too. Thanks for showing us how cute it is sleeveless.
3/17/08 9:45 AM
Twinset said...
So cute and adorable! Love the fabric!
3/17/08 9:57 AM
Lauri Jean said...
Cassidy looks fabulous! Do you have a link for Sandra Betzina's advice? Where do I find this? Thanks.
3/17/08 10:15 AM
Leora said...
Lauri Jean, thanks! I have been working through tips from her book titled, "Power Sewing" lately. I'll add the book to my review now!
3/17/08 10:22 AM
michellep74 said...
Very cute! I love your fabric. I traced this quite a while ago and still haven't made it up yet--it's nice to still see reviews for this coming in. ;)
3/17/08 12:07 PM
Stephenie said...
I really love this top! It's perfect in this fabric!!
3/17/08 12:09 PM
Mufffet said...
Leora, could you write a short tip on how to do the stabilizing with the "selvage?" Do you mean you used the same fabirc to make a self binding? I am confused, but it sounds great! Such a pretty top!
3/17/08 12:20 PM
Peggy L said...
Your top turned out really cute. It really is cute and summery sleeveless. Great idea on using the selvedge to stabilize.
3/17/08 12:39 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very good looking top! Wonderfully made!
3/17/08 1:54 PM
Leora said...
mufffet, I added a little explanation in the review. I hope it makes sense :)
3/17/08 3:23 PM
Seaspur said...
This looks great sleeveless!
3/17/08 5:07 PM
Izzie said...
Lovely top Leora! I think I'm going to copy you! FYI, I did the same sleeve and armhole adjustment on the cowl tee in the Feb BWOF and it worked perfectly, so I think yours will work too when you decide to do the top with sleeves.
3/17/08 5:37 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Leora, you've written an extremely helpful review, as I have this top on my 'to do' list. You didn't need an FBA? I wonder if I could skate by without one; doubt it, but I can dream. Your top looks smashing and your $.99 fabric looks like a million. Lovely, Lily
3/17/08 5:56 PM
loohoo44 said...
I love this in sleeveless! Good for you!
3/17/08 7:41 PM
pterion said...
Lovely top! Now I'm wishing I subscribed to BWOF.
3/18/08 11:21 AM
patrica said...
I too love this pattern, you did a great job. I am going to make this also, thank for the review.
3/18/08 7:32 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
That is so cute made up with without sleeves!
3/18/08 10:36 PM
Blooms said...
Fantastic top...don't tell anyone it was a bargain fabric and they won't know because it just looks fabulous. Great choice of fabric and style, executed beautifully.
4/13/08 6:06 AM
SandraB said...
I made this top over 4 years ago. Thanks for the idea for making it sleeveless.
10/14/12 10:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Amy Butler AB031LTC
photo
Review by SarahSM on 9/16/08
Read Review

Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2813 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 2813 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1302 Tofino pants
photo
Review by SuzyBee on 5/23/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Felt Strap-On Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Moss Mini Skirt
Moss Mini Skirt

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us