SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3775 (Knit Dress)

90 more reviews
Viewed 2174 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 319 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:3/17/08 2:08 PM
Last Updated:2/12/09 8:36 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Beautiful - shoes look like they were made to match
2/13/09 9:11 AM
cindyann said...
Oh I love the piped treatment! I've made this really cute dress but would never have thought to pipe the seams like that. Clever.
2/12/09 5:43 PM
Christas said...
So cute! I have made this pattern. Your version turned out so much cuter than mine!
2/12/09 5:15 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
CUTE!! CUTE!! Both versions are LOVELY!! I absolutely LOVE the plaid version!!
2/12/09 4:27 PM
Sic said...
Very cute version! I love the piping!
2/12/09 11:46 AM
Kellie R. said...
Very cute!
2/12/09 9:58 AM
crazygrad said...
Love that fabric! Great dress!
3/21/08 7:16 PM
AnneM said...
I'm in a serious sewing slump as well. I have the Butterick version of this style, which I think is great. Maybe this would work for me? ! Great outfit, love the dress on you.
3/20/08 10:17 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Love the dress! The style and fabric choice is particularly flattering on you. I like how you approached the ruching. Much more logical than the instructions.
3/18/08 6:13 PM
Heatherrique said...
Definitely a very flattering and attractive dress to welcome the spring! You convinced me to get this pattern!
3/18/08 2:02 PM
pterion said...
Adorable dress. Those colors are wonderful on you!
3/18/08 11:18 AM
cecelia said...
This turned out so nicely and really flatters you, both the style and color.
3/18/08 10:10 AM
Karen6790 said...
This looks much better on you than the catalog photos - I wouldn't have given it a second look either. Great dress, great capelet and I'm not even going to comment on the shoes.
3/18/08 0:19 AM
nicegirl said...
Thanks everyone! Aren't the shoes insane? I got them on eBay last year and *cough* have never worn them. *shame* Obvs, if you've looked at my project photos you know I have a shoe problem. Now I will definitely wear these shoes.
3/17/08 8:44 PM
Birgitte said...
I can't believe you whipped this up in 3 hours- it's super cute and such a great fit! Congrats on this dress and also on getting back to "work" :-)
3/17/08 8:30 PM
JulieP said...
Another great dress and review. Thanks for all the tips. I am planning to try this pattern soon.
3/17/08 7:40 PM
cindy-lou said...
Ooooh, I love it for Spring! don't you love a great knit dress??? Great way to splash out of a slump!
3/17/08 6:14 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Absolutely charming dress made from stunning fabric. I should address the fit but can't get past your great shoes, your beautiful neckline and lovely, feminine capelet. You look just wonderful, from head to toe. -Lily
3/17/08 6:06 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Cute dress!!! I LOVE your fabric choices!!!!
3/17/08 6:05 PM
Lori V said...
Pretty dress and I like the color on you.
3/17/08 4:34 PM
MelC said...
Great job on your dress! How did you ever come up with shoes that are so similar to the dress? I have this pattern too but have never made it up. I appreciate all the helps in your review. I'm sure I'll be referring to it when I attempt this pattern.
3/17/08 4:18 PM
LindsayT said...
Very flattering dress on you. I'm going to give this pattern a second look. And I love your creativity with your thumbnail photo!
3/17/08 3:39 PM
EveS said...
Ooh, you're making me want spring, too!! Great version of a great pattern! And I just did an Ottobre binding like this and agree...it's much better looking yet easy to do. I'll be using the technique much more.
3/17/08 3:03 PM
Marji said...
I love that midriff too - who knew that all that fabric around the waist would create the illusion of more waist definition than is there? Love your print and fabric.
3/17/08 2:37 PM
CreativeDiva said...
Nice dress. The colour looks good on you. I, too have been thinking of making this pattern using a cheetah print. I will try your way of applying the bind and making the waist insert. I definitely sounds like it would reduce the bulk.
3/17/08 2:22 PM
moushka said...
Great dress and absolutely fabulous colours on you. Those clear, bright colours really set off your beautiful eyes and hair. Sue
3/17/08 2:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8795

photo
by: princessju...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Buy Now