SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3775 (Knit Dress)

90 more reviews
Viewed 2171 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 313 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:3/17/08 2:08 PM
Last Updated:2/12/09 8:36 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
26 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moushka said...
Great dress and absolutely fabulous colours on you. Those clear, bright colours really set off your beautiful eyes and hair. Sue
3/17/08 2:20 PM
CreativeDiva said...
Nice dress. The colour looks good on you. I, too have been thinking of making this pattern using a cheetah print. I will try your way of applying the bind and making the waist insert. I definitely sounds like it would reduce the bulk.
3/17/08 2:22 PM
Marji said...
I love that midriff too - who knew that all that fabric around the waist would create the illusion of more waist definition than is there? Love your print and fabric.
3/17/08 2:37 PM
EveS said...
Ooh, you're making me want spring, too!! Great version of a great pattern! And I just did an Ottobre binding like this and agree...it's much better looking yet easy to do. I'll be using the technique much more.
3/17/08 3:03 PM
LindsayT said...
Very flattering dress on you. I'm going to give this pattern a second look. And I love your creativity with your thumbnail photo!
3/17/08 3:39 PM
MelC said...
Great job on your dress! How did you ever come up with shoes that are so similar to the dress? I have this pattern too but have never made it up. I appreciate all the helps in your review. I'm sure I'll be referring to it when I attempt this pattern.
3/17/08 4:18 PM
Lori V said...
Pretty dress and I like the color on you.
3/17/08 4:34 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
Cute dress!!! I LOVE your fabric choices!!!!
3/17/08 6:05 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Absolutely charming dress made from stunning fabric. I should address the fit but can't get past your great shoes, your beautiful neckline and lovely, feminine capelet. You look just wonderful, from head to toe. -Lily
3/17/08 6:06 PM
cindy-lou said...
Ooooh, I love it for Spring! don't you love a great knit dress??? Great way to splash out of a slump!
3/17/08 6:14 PM
JulieP said...
Another great dress and review. Thanks for all the tips. I am planning to try this pattern soon.
3/17/08 7:40 PM
Birgitte said...
I can't believe you whipped this up in 3 hours- it's super cute and such a great fit! Congrats on this dress and also on getting back to "work" :-)
3/17/08 8:30 PM
nicegirl said...
Thanks everyone! Aren't the shoes insane? I got them on eBay last year and *cough* have never worn them. *shame* Obvs, if you've looked at my project photos you know I have a shoe problem. Now I will definitely wear these shoes.
3/17/08 8:44 PM
Karen6790 said...
This looks much better on you than the catalog photos - I wouldn't have given it a second look either. Great dress, great capelet and I'm not even going to comment on the shoes.
3/18/08 0:19 AM
cecelia said...
This turned out so nicely and really flatters you, both the style and color.
3/18/08 10:10 AM
pterion said...
Adorable dress. Those colors are wonderful on you!
3/18/08 11:18 AM
Heatherrique said...
Definitely a very flattering and attractive dress to welcome the spring! You convinced me to get this pattern!
3/18/08 2:02 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Love the dress! The style and fabric choice is particularly flattering on you. I like how you approached the ruching. Much more logical than the instructions.
3/18/08 6:13 PM
AnneM said...
I'm in a serious sewing slump as well. I have the Butterick version of this style, which I think is great. Maybe this would work for me? ! Great outfit, love the dress on you.
3/20/08 10:17 AM
crazygrad said...
Love that fabric! Great dress!
3/21/08 7:16 PM
Kellie R. said...
Very cute!
2/12/09 9:58 AM
Sic said...
Very cute version! I love the piping!
2/12/09 11:46 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
CUTE!! CUTE!! Both versions are LOVELY!! I absolutely LOVE the plaid version!!
2/12/09 4:27 PM
Christas said...
So cute! I have made this pattern. Your version turned out so much cuter than mine!
2/12/09 5:15 PM
cindyann said...
Oh I love the piped treatment! I've made this really cute dress but would never have thought to pipe the seams like that. Clever.
2/12/09 5:43 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful - shoes look like they were made to match
2/13/09 9:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

McCall's 6163

photo
by: JuliN

Review
brerrabbit.com Go To Signature Dress

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Origami Skirt Pattern

Buy Now