Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2007-106 (blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 810 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 144
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
patterns reviewed: 139
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/17/08 5:38 PM
Last Updated:3/17/08 5:38 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Leora said...
This origami technique is amazing. Wow!
3/17/08 6:22 PM
Kbenco said...
The origami makes this blouse amazing and outstanding. The fit looks fine, but as the eye is drawn to your fabulous placket, any little fit issues would not be very noticeable!
3/17/08 6:45 PM
Re Becca said...
stunning! I hope you don't mind if I copy that on my next project! That blouse fit you very well and looks fabulous.
3/17/08 7:00 PM
Annette1 said...
This is truly exquisite, Sigrid. I'm bookmarking your origami tutorial. Just PERFECT in every way.
3/17/08 7:16 PM
Birgitte said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful. Just beautiful.
3/17/08 8:03 PM
LindsayT said...
Truly outstanding; you should be very proud of yourself.
3/17/08 9:04 PM
Membear said...
Ingrid its lovely . I am wondering though what happens after your first origami square . . In the photo I can see that the folis pulled down but I cant see how the next one is formed. I am probably very stupid!!!!
3/17/08 11:28 PM
CatMukai said...
I love the origami!! The blouse looks lovely and crisp!
3/18/08 1:06 AM
Christina Sonja said...
I really like how you personalized this blouse. Looks very expensive!
3/18/08 1:19 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Sigrid, beauitful blouse!! This pattern gave me nothing but grief in terms of the fit. It didn't fit as nicely and seems smaller than other Burda patterns. I'm glad you made it work. :)
3/18/08 4:13 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful blouse, but I'm like Membear - I can't figure out how the second diamond is formed.
3/18/08 7:22 AM
AuntieShel said...
Wow--I saw that unbelievably intricate folding on the placket and then saw "easy to sew" on the rating and something didn't compute. I realized you added the origami yourself and the actual shirt without it was "easy." This is so fabulous, I can't begin to tell you. Great job!
3/18/08 7:30 AM
Becky Coleman said...
Beautiful blouse with outstanding detail; I bet you receive many compliments.
3/18/08 7:59 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Great Blouse, Great Fit, Great details! I have got to get me one of these! lol
3/18/08 8:00 AM
Sewing Geek said...
What a beautiful white shirt! The origami technique is stunning!
3/18/08 8:20 AM
Karine said...
Not only creative, but a beautiful result with excellent workwomanship!
3/18/08 9:50 AM
Seaspur said...
Truly unique and beautiful!
3/18/08 10:49 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is SOOO beautiful!!! I love the origami detail on the front!!! It looks very time consuming!!!
3/18/08 11:20 AM
meli88a said...
this is a beautiful shirt. thank you for sharing the secret of your origami technique!
3/18/08 11:45 AM
Sigrid. said...
ReBecca: of course I don't mind if you copy this, I was inspired by rtw, if you're inspired by my review, that's fun. And to those wondering how to continue on the origami: measure 2 cm (half the width of the basic width you take, and then start measuring again for the next one. My advice: try it on a piece of paper, that's how I started.
3/18/08 1:27 PM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely a beautiful blouse!
3/18/08 1:59 PM
SewVeryTall said...
Sigrid, I just love this blouse...the princess seam shaping is so crisp, and the unique origami really makes the front special...beautiful!
3/18/08 3:33 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Sigrid, your blouse is a Masterpiece! The origami is the star of the show, but your excellent fit cannot be overlooked. When I showed your origami blouse to my DH, he said, "That's beautiful; can you make one?" My answer, "I don't really think I can, but I could try." Thank you so much for the origami tutorial. Your artistry is unmatched. -Lily
3/18/08 5:51 PM
patrica said...
Beautiful blouse love the oragimi, great tutorial. Thanks
3/18/08 7:24 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Incredible blouse - you're a blouse queen Sigrid!
3/18/08 10:21 PM
Nancywin said...
This looks fabulous Sigrid. I love your tutorial. I'll have to try it and see if I can figure out how to do the subsequent squares.
3/20/08 10:32 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
I love the designing on this blouse. Thank you for the outstanding tutorial of the origami technique.
3/22/08 9:04 PM
Mahler said...
This blouse is magnificient. So stlylish. Your confection is perfect. I love your blouse !
4/16/08 1:08 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Kwik Sew 3189 Jumper
photo
Review by leapyfrog on 6/9/08
Read Review

New Look 6269 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6269 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2241 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2241 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3027
photo
Review by Sanchara on 3/5/14
Read Review

Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Light Black
PerfectFuse Light Black

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch LEFTY Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us