SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2449 (crossover top)

78 more reviews
Viewed 1425 times 
Reviewed by:nancy2001
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About nancy2001starstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 12/3/05
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 132 people
patterns reviewed: 51
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Hall of Fame 2007
Posted on:3/22/08 11:27 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
Your top is lovely! That is hilarious about Beatle-Bailey, I forgot about that comic strip. :-)
3/22/08 11:40 PM
cabinbaby said...
Love your top and the background. lol. We still have lots of snow.
3/23/08 0:23 AM
crazygrad said...
Nice top!
3/23/08 0:24 AM
Annette1 said...
THANKS for the tip on the fabric, because even looking at the review gallery picture before it was magnified, I thought, man, what a nice knit. Your top has turned out just perfectly (after seven muslins, right)? :o) I started laughing when I read, "... but as my sewing skills have improved, I'm getting even harder to please." Even with such high standards, this one's a winner. :o)
3/23/08 0:42 AM
JMarie1962 said...
Great top and I loved your 'comical' narration :) I miss Hancock's! They pulled the one little store out of my area several years ago. They had the best clearance items - by far. I've never made a Jalie pattern but I really must after seeing all the wonderful tops reviewed her - including yours! Thanks for a great rewview.
3/23/08 1:53 AM
Athene said...
Well after all that work (7 muslins) your top certainly turned out beautiful. I really like the high neck coverage.
3/23/08 3:18 AM
CarolynGM said...
I love the way you raised the V on this. When I made this pattern, I thought I liked it. However, I never wear it because of severe gaping of the front. Raising the V as you did, would certainly solve that problem.
3/23/08 6:04 AM
MissCelie said...
Great top and fantastic color. I can see why this top is so popular. I love the neckline!
3/23/08 6:51 AM
Peggy L said...
Nice top - pretty color and the fit is great. On the most popular Jalie patterns (this is one!) you can go directly to their website and print the directions on standard paper. I always check and see if they are available.
3/23/08 7:10 AM
Karen8320 said...
Nancy, I really admire your perseverence in working through 7 muslins to get a really good fit. A great fit is always worth pursuing so hat's off to you. You've ended up with a fantastic looking top and I really like all of the changes you made to the original pattern. Well done!
3/23/08 8:10 AM
Sewingmi said...
The beautiful turquoise fabric caught my eye in the review gallery. What a lovely shirt with a perfect fit! I'm jealous of the entire thing!
3/23/08 10:27 AM
DorothyK said...
Very nice top. Great review. I've never tried Jalie, maybe this is the pattern I'll try first.
3/23/08 12:12 PM
Stephenie said...
I love everything about your top! Just added it to my wishlist. Thanks for the great review!
3/23/08 12:38 PM
BettyMike said...
I really like your version of this top. I bought some of the same fabric when my Hancock's closed. It really is nice fabric!
3/23/08 1:04 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Beautiful top and entertaining thorough review! I HAVE some of this fabric--YAY!! Thank you. Carla
3/23/08 4:31 PM
nancy2001 said...
Thank you, everyone, for your kind and generous comments. I'm really pleased with the way this simple top turned out. It more than makes up for all the wadders along the way.
3/23/08 7:46 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent review from every angle. I love your heightened v neck and narrow self binding. I certainly admire your persistence in making 7 muslins and because of them, you've gotten a lovely result. -Lily
3/24/08 5:28 PM
mgy said...
Great review, great top. The truth is, if we could get a good fit right "out of the envelope" then we could probably get a good fit "right off the rack" and we wouldn't bother sewing for ourselves. Well, I say, clone away! You now have a terrific and timely TNT and I hope you makes lots of them. Your review was a joy to read -- and I'll think of it next time I'm trying to convince myself I don't need to make up a muslin when in the back of my mind I know I need one!
5/13/08 2:33 PM
Em's Summer said...
I love this style and I love the color! And you did such a superb job sewing it up! It looks wonderful!!!
1/4/09 6:30 PM
becca a said...
Thank you for a great review. I will have to try some of your adjustments myself.
9/24/09 8:03 AM
Cultured Purl said...
After reading your review and another person who has raised the neckline I am convinced I can do the very same thing. I have a body shaped almost exactly as you describe yours ( same RTW size too!) and do NOT like the depth of the V crossovers, so I have shied away from them~ its only after tweaking cj's BW2 pattern that I feel I can venture out to different cuts to make the T top look different and classic ( not a trendy gal here) I am confident that this information will help me greatly and I have just ordered the pattern as of yesterday so as to make some new T tops for spring and summer Thanks for all your wonderful tips I am SO excited to see what I can do w/ this pattern and the idea for me once its fitted correctly( yes,,,,,I DO lots of muslins too!) is to make it out of a very rich looking black fabric w/ a straight skirt to match for dressier wear. THANKS!!!! ( I know I am new to the game here but I just came back to sewing after taking a long leave and will be sewing up a storm now!
3/4/10 2:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2012-119

photo
by: Heatherriq...

Review
Jalie 2908

photo
by: cindysewsa...

Review

Pattern

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Buy Now