SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8299 (Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 513 times 
Reviewed by:kkkkaty
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About kkkkatystarstarstar
UT USA
Member since: 12/7/05
Reviews written: 129
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/08 8:39 PM
Last Updated:3/24/08 11:31 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Markie1 said...
Y'see, now I really like this jacket, and even tho I haven't seen it on you, it isn't shapeless at all! Are you sure you are seeing yourself with true eyes? If so, can I have it? ;)
3/23/08 10:26 PM
Athene said...
From the photo it looks like to could be a really nice casual look with a pair of pants.
3/24/08 1:00 AM
EnglishDaffodil said...
This is gorgeous--kinda Eileen Fisher-ish, no? Sorry the shape wasn't right on you. Thanks for reviewing anyway.
3/24/08 2:53 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I think your problem with this isn't with the pattern, but with the fabric. It looks like.. cheap moleskin. You can't get seams that don't pucker in that. I made the same sort of 'shapeless' jacket with real MaldenMills Polartec, and it's totally cute. Even though I'm a lot more shapeless than you :-). So don't go softer, go with better body (but -not- stiff). Boiled wool would work great too.
3/24/08 4:10 AM
kkkkaty said...
ok, thx for the comments, maybe I should give it another look with diferent fabric. Slightly crisper, probably. I tend to follow reviews done by people who have similar body types to my own (as far as it's possible to be sure of that...) and it does look cute on them. If at first you don't succeed.... ps: fuzzygalore, I may have just provided a link to your own info, at a website titled "fuzzygalore"; if that's you, it was helpful, so thx
3/24/08 10:05 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Katy, I'm reading your review after your discovery of fulled fabrics and agree that if you remake this in a fulled fabric, you'll get an astonishly different (and probably very pleasing) result. -Lily
3/25/08 0:20 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8380

photo
by: ladyithis

Review
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Buy Now