SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8299 (Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 514 times 
Reviewed by:kkkkaty
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About kkkkatystarstarstar
UT USA
Member since: 12/7/05
Reviews written: 130
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 80
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/08 8:39 PM
Last Updated:3/24/08 11:31 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lilyofthevalley said... (3/25/08 0:20 AM) Reply
Katy, I'm reading your review after your discovery of fulled fabrics and agree that if you remake this in a fulled fabric, you'll get an astonishly different (and probably very pleasing) result. -Lily
kkkkaty said... (3/24/08 10:05 AM) Reply
ok, thx for the comments, maybe I should give it another look with diferent fabric. Slightly crisper, probably. I tend to follow reviews done by people who have similar body types to my own (as far as it's possible to be sure of that...) and it does look cute on them. If at first you don't succeed.... ps: fuzzygalore, I may have just provided a link to your own info, at a website titled "fuzzygalore"; if that's you, it was helpful, so thx
fuzzygalore said... (3/24/08 4:10 AM) Reply
I think your problem with this isn't with the pattern, but with the fabric. It looks like.. cheap moleskin. You can't get seams that don't pucker in that. I made the same sort of 'shapeless' jacket with real MaldenMills Polartec, and it's totally cute. Even though I'm a lot more shapeless than you :-). So don't go softer, go with better body (but -not- stiff). Boiled wool would work great too.
EnglishDaffodil said... (3/24/08 2:53 AM) Reply
This is gorgeous--kinda Eileen Fisher-ish, no? Sorry the shape wasn't right on you. Thanks for reviewing anyway.
Athene said... (3/24/08 1:00 AM) Reply
From the photo it looks like to could be a really nice casual look with a pair of pants.
Markie1 said... (3/23/08 10:26 PM) Reply
Y'see, now I really like this jacket, and even tho I haven't seen it on you, it isn't shapeless at all! Are you sure you are seeing yourself with true eyes? If so, can I have it? ;)
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

New Look 6601

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
McCall's 2434

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Pattern Details
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Pattern Details