SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8299 (Jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 521 times 
Reviewed by:kkkkaty
Friend of PR

About kkkkatystarstarstar
Member since: 12/7/05
Reviews: 137 (patterns: 87)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/23/08 8:39 PM
Last Updated:3/24/08 11:31 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Easy to Sew    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR


Sewing Patterns: Upcycling
Web site

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
lilyofthevalley said... (3/25/08 0:20 AM) Reply
Katy, I'm reading your review after your discovery of fulled fabrics and agree that if you remake this in a fulled fabric, you'll get an astonishly different (and probably very pleasing) result. -Lily
kkkkaty said... (3/24/08 10:05 AM) Reply
ok, thx for the comments, maybe I should give it another look with diferent fabric. Slightly crisper, probably. I tend to follow reviews done by people who have similar body types to my own (as far as it's possible to be sure of that...) and it does look cute on them. If at first you don't succeed.... ps: fuzzygalore, I may have just provided a link to your own info, at a website titled "fuzzygalore"; if that's you, it was helpful, so thx
fuzzygalore said... (3/24/08 4:10 AM) Reply
I think your problem with this isn't with the pattern, but with the fabric. It looks like.. cheap moleskin. You can't get seams that don't pucker in that. I made the same sort of 'shapeless' jacket with real MaldenMills Polartec, and it's totally cute. Even though I'm a lot more shapeless than you :-). So don't go softer, go with better body (but -not- stiff). Boiled wool would work great too.
EnglishDaffodil said... (3/24/08 2:53 AM) Reply
This is gorgeous--kinda Eileen Fisher-ish, no? Sorry the shape wasn't right on you. Thanks for reviewing anyway.
Athene said... (3/24/08 1:00 AM) Reply
From the photo it looks like to could be a really nice casual look with a pair of pants.
Markie1 said... (3/23/08 10:26 PM) Reply
Y'see, now I really like this jacket, and even tho I haven't seen it on you, it isn't shapeless at all! Are you sure you are seeing yourself with true eyes? If so, can I have it? ;)
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Pattern Details
PerfectFuse Medium White

PerfectFuse Medium White

Pattern Details