SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda Plus Fashion Magazine> 02-2008-407 (Hooded Jacket)

Viewed 582 times 
Reviewed by:SarahSM
photo

 
 
About SarahSMstar
OR USA
Member since: 1/17/07
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/08 1:57 AM
Last Updated:3/24/08 5:28 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Roxxygrl said...
Looks great one you, and so comfy.
5/4/08 7:24 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
The modifications and alterations you made to this pattern have, in my opinion, greatly enhanced the style of this lovely sweater jacket. It carries quite a nice bit of attitude, as well. Altogether, a smashing piece. -Lily
3/25/08 0:42 AM
SarahSM said...
Fuzzygalore: I guess I'm doing my part to fight back against the return of the 80s!
3/24/08 5:20 PM
michellep74 said...
I've been wanting to make this, too. Thanks for the detailed review--I really like your version!
3/24/08 11:54 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Oh yeah, you whipped that pattern into shape and it's fantastic. I'm not sure you would have the sizing problems either if you had used a more tightly woven knit and had been able to put in the darts, along with your usual changes. What you did turn out with is just as wonderful, though.
3/24/08 10:59 AM
Sic said...
Awesome sweater jacket!
3/24/08 8:32 AM
blue mooney said...
Love that fabric you chose. This pattern is on my short list. Glad you made it work for you, and thanks for reviewing!
3/24/08 8:32 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I don't think there is inconsistency from Burda here - the 80s are coming back, Burda is proposing a jacket that has that sort of dropped shoulder and looser fit (you -must- drop the armholes and add bust room in dropped shoulders or you have a straight jacket). So if you don't like that style, you should pick another one to sew :-). Your very loose fabric choice probably emphasized the dropping of the shoulders. But I like the results a lot on you, and I wish I could handle sweater knit that well :-).
3/24/08 4:05 AM
Athene said...
This is a great sweater jacket. I went to your blog and saw the rest of the pictures. Beautiful pictures, great review.
3/24/08 2:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Burda 9702

photo
by: shannonsew...

Review

Pattern

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

More Info
J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

J Stern Designs Top with two collars and a Peplum Pattern

More Info