SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda Plus Fashion Magazine> 02-2008-407 (Hooded Jacket)

Viewed 583 times 
Reviewed by:SarahSM
photo

 
 
About SarahSMstar
OR USA
Member since: 1/17/07
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/08 1:57 AM
Last Updated:3/24/08 5:28 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Roxxygrl said...
Looks great one you, and so comfy.
5/4/08 7:24 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
The modifications and alterations you made to this pattern have, in my opinion, greatly enhanced the style of this lovely sweater jacket. It carries quite a nice bit of attitude, as well. Altogether, a smashing piece. -Lily
3/25/08 0:42 AM
SarahSM said...
Fuzzygalore: I guess I'm doing my part to fight back against the return of the 80s!
3/24/08 5:20 PM
michellep74 said...
I've been wanting to make this, too. Thanks for the detailed review--I really like your version!
3/24/08 11:54 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Oh yeah, you whipped that pattern into shape and it's fantastic. I'm not sure you would have the sizing problems either if you had used a more tightly woven knit and had been able to put in the darts, along with your usual changes. What you did turn out with is just as wonderful, though.
3/24/08 10:59 AM
Sic said...
Awesome sweater jacket!
3/24/08 8:32 AM
blue mooney said...
Love that fabric you chose. This pattern is on my short list. Glad you made it work for you, and thanks for reviewing!
3/24/08 8:32 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I don't think there is inconsistency from Burda here - the 80s are coming back, Burda is proposing a jacket that has that sort of dropped shoulder and looser fit (you -must- drop the armholes and add bust room in dropped shoulders or you have a straight jacket). So if you don't like that style, you should pick another one to sew :-). Your very loose fabric choice probably emphasized the dropping of the shoulders. But I like the results a lot on you, and I wish I could handle sweater knit that well :-).
3/24/08 4:05 AM
Athene said...
This is a great sweater jacket. I went to your blog and saw the rest of the pictures. Beautiful pictures, great review.
3/24/08 2:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-117

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
brerrabbit.com 00

photo
by: twinkle72

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now