Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda Plus Fashion Magazine: 02-2008-407 (Hooded Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 582 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:SarahSM
photo
About SarahSMstar
OR USA
Member since: 1/17/07
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 38
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/24/08 1:57 AM
Last Updated:3/24/08 5:28 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
This is a great sweater jacket. I went to your blog and saw the rest of the pictures. Beautiful pictures, great review.
3/24/08 2:26 AM
fuzzygalore said...
I don't think there is inconsistency from Burda here - the 80s are coming back, Burda is proposing a jacket that has that sort of dropped shoulder and looser fit (you -must- drop the armholes and add bust room in dropped shoulders or you have a straight jacket). So if you don't like that style, you should pick another one to sew :-). Your very loose fabric choice probably emphasized the dropping of the shoulders. But I like the results a lot on you, and I wish I could handle sweater knit that well :-).
3/24/08 4:05 AM
blue mooney said...
Love that fabric you chose. This pattern is on my short list. Glad you made it work for you, and thanks for reviewing!
3/24/08 8:32 AM
Sic said...
Awesome sweater jacket!
3/24/08 8:32 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Oh yeah, you whipped that pattern into shape and it's fantastic. I'm not sure you would have the sizing problems either if you had used a more tightly woven knit and had been able to put in the darts, along with your usual changes. What you did turn out with is just as wonderful, though.
3/24/08 10:59 AM
michellep74 said...
I've been wanting to make this, too. Thanks for the detailed review--I really like your version!
3/24/08 11:54 AM
SarahSM said...
Fuzzygalore: I guess I'm doing my part to fight back against the return of the 80s!
3/24/08 5:20 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
The modifications and alterations you made to this pattern have, in my opinion, greatly enhanced the style of this lovely sweater jacket. It carries quite a nice bit of attitude, as well. Altogether, a smashing piece. -Lily
3/25/08 0:42 AM
Roxxygrl said...
Looks great one you, and so comfy.
5/4/08 7:24 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 2250
photo
Review by blugirlami... on 11/9/11
Read Review

Oliver S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )
Oliver   S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 4-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris
Blank Slate Clean Slate Pants/Shorts/Capris

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2258
photo
Review by EmilyMT on 2/15/12
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2900 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 2900 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6173 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6173 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us