SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4076 (knit tops)

206 more reviews
Viewed 654 times 
Reviewed by:jewelea
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jeweleastar
TX USA
Member since: 10/19/05
Reviews written: 42
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2008
Hall of Fame 2009
Posted on:3/27/08 7:45 PM
Last Updated:3/27/08 8:02 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 20 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JenSews2 said...
Nice job and good adjustments. When you removed the side gathers, did you keep the double front? Are they hemmed separately or together?
3/27/08 8:03 PM
Em's Summer said...
Very cute top! And great tips!
3/27/08 8:29 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Wow, Jewelea, your review is a tutorial of the history of your surplice and how to get the best from them. Very useful. And each of your tops is beautiful. Thank for your sharing all your knowledge. -Lily
3/27/08 9:48 PM
Annette1 said...
What a lovely top. I especially like this last version. I can see from your profile photo right next to the project photo how pretty you would look in it, too. I wish I could morph to a 16 in the hips! In my case, I'd be going the opposite direction. :o)
3/28/08 0:17 AM
Rustybobn said...
I really like your raised neckline. Thanks for all the details of how you arrived at the pretty top.
3/28/08 8:42 AM
cecelia said...
The top is so pretty, and I love your changes. Thanks for all the tips.
3/28/08 8:52 AM
Nancy K said...
great review. Thanks for the reminder that all patterns can be starting points.
3/28/08 10:47 AM
blue mooney said...
Way to work a pattern! Great review.
3/29/08 8:26 AM
rozzybabe said...
I read all of your reviews before sewing this top! Thanks for all the great advice. I haven't changed the curve of the neckline yet, since I wanted to see how the original pattern would lay, but now can understand why a curve change would be a good idea. I know you did this review early in the year, but thought I might be able to pass on what I did regarding the neckband. I sewed with panne as well; I viewed the tutorial on inserting lingerie elastic. Because of bulk, I decided to use clear elastic instead, stretching it just slightly while sewing. I then turned the band to the inside, & instead of pressing, (was concerned about flattening the nap), I pinned the band & then stitched-in-the-ditch from the right side. This anchored the remaining band fabric on the wrong side. Finally, I twin-needled under the band, from the right side, laying my presser foot on the edge of the band, so as to keep the stitching close to the band, as would be done in RTW. This not only gave a very nice look, but also gave the inside edge of the band a clean finish without any serging needed! The elastic DEFINITELY makes a difference in the fit of the cross-over; it's snug but comfortable as well! Since you were intending doing more of this top, I thought I'd pass on some ideas, since you shared so many. Wish you very happy sewing!!
11/9/08 7:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now
Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2010-01

photo
by: MelissaB i...

Review