Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 08-2004-114 (Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 4313 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 70 people   
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/08 0:19 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
83 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patricia from Rose Manor Farm said...
Love the eyelet yoke and cuffs with the plain cotton. Really classy look. An excellent point about the matching yoke lengths. I agree with you. Patricia
3/28/08 0:55 AM
SansSouci572 said...
Tailored and pretty both! Nice review too, thank you!
3/28/08 0:56 AM
LauraLo said...
absolutely beautiful!
3/28/08 3:43 AM
Marji said...
Very pretty. I love the eyelet. I also like how you balanced the back and front yoke sizes. It would look odd the way they drafted it.
3/28/08 4:09 AM
Sigrid. said...
Great match Belinda, absolutely beautiful blouse. Like your use of the eyelet fabric. Must remember that, as well as your beautiful cuff.
3/28/08 4:17 AM
2BSewing said...
Lovely blouse. Fit is perfect. The eyelet is beautiful.
3/28/08 4:30 AM
ajax said...
Love the cuff and the eyelet yoke. Your changes to the yoke make sense and the fit is beautiful. Congratulations
3/28/08 4:31 AM
CarolynGM said...
What lovely details you added -- the eyelet and the turn back cuff especially. Beautiful fit too.
3/28/08 5:13 AM
Cody7 said...
What a lovely job you have done on this blouse. It is a great style which could be made many times over. Good luck with the contest..... Julie
3/28/08 5:48 AM
VtMartha said...
Gorgeous blouse! I wonder how far back my BWOF collection goes?
3/28/08 6:39 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I love the eyelet accents on this blouse!! Very pretty overall and the fit (of course) is superb!
3/28/08 7:00 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful blouse, Belinda. The eyelet is gorgeous.
3/28/08 7:09 AM
dorothyn said...
That is simply perfect. You took what looks like an interesting pattern and made it fabulous! An extremely high quality result that looks wonderful on you.
3/28/08 7:43 AM
Ronda Rae said...
This is very lovely. Great work. I just ordered BWOF subscription and am looking forward to it even though I dislike tracing. DH said he'd make me a light box-hopefully that will help. I love the yoke and cutt details, too. Beautiful, just beautiful.
3/28/08 8:13 AM
cindyann said...
Soooo pretty!
3/28/08 8:22 AM
tomed said...
Adorable blouse! You have created a treasure.
3/28/08 8:33 AM
EveS said...
I LOVE everything about this blouse!!! Your topstitching is beyond enviable and the fit is perfect!!!
3/28/08 8:45 AM
PegL said...
Your blouse is gorgeous!! Love, love, love it!! Great fit and it looks absolutely perfect!
3/28/08 8:56 AM
Nancy K said...
Fabulous! I love your fabric combo. Makes it special.
3/28/08 10:33 AM
ChristineX said...
Beautiful blouse! The eyelet is a nice touch.
3/28/08 11:21 AM
MissCelie said...
Belinda, this is just BEAUTIFUL. I was going through this edition last night lookign at a dress, and saw this shirt and thought 'meh'. You have again proven that you gotta look at the bones. Great job!
3/28/08 11:55 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Beautifully fitted blouse, Belinda, that is sewn to perfection. I particularly love what you've done to the back yoke, by balancing it with the front yoke, but even more, by extending and emphasizing its shape and curve, then featuring your eyelet. Just smashing! -Lily
3/28/08 12:04 PM
emo said...
This is one of those times I think, I can't believe you MADE that! Looks amazing.
3/28/08 12:15 PM
Robin Denning said...
I always enjoy seeing your superb work. Beautiful!
3/28/08 12:53 PM
nellc said...
Beautiful blouse, I love the way you have used the eyelet fabric, and the fit is perfect.
3/28/08 2:56 PM
Angelia74 said...
Very beautiful!!! The use of eyelet is very 'heirloom' looking to me.
3/28/08 4:12 PM
RMJ said...
I never realized a white blouse could be so interesting! I love the combination of eyelet and plain weave.
3/28/08 5:47 PM
Erica B. said...
Gorgeous top! I loooooooooove the yoke and the cuffs!
3/28/08 5:55 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Looks like a marriage made in heaven! Beautiful work. Love the eyelet matching and placement. Really, really nice!
3/28/08 7:27 PM
SandraB said...
This is such a fabulous looking top. The eyelet yokes and cuffs are such a great touch. The addition of the eyelet definitely takes this pattern up several notches.
3/28/08 8:04 PM
Schnauzer said...
Beautiful blouse Belinda, and sewn to perfection as always!
3/28/08 9:14 PM
Peggy L said...
Your blouse is a knock out! Beautiful details.
3/28/08 9:17 PM
lynny said...
Belinda, what can I say that hasn't already been said! Beautiful fit, a really lovely blouse sewn perfectly and as always a very informative review. Thanks
3/28/08 10:30 PM
KathleenS said...
Very nice blouse, very nice fit.
3/29/08 1:57 AM
Athene said...
Oh I really love this blouse - beautiful fit, beautiful the way you styled it, and of course you look beautiful in it.
3/29/08 3:50 AM
anetJay said...
pretty shirt and it looks so nice on you !!! i love the eyelet accents. :)
3/29/08 6:27 AM
Linda G said...
Your blouse is beautiful. The curved lines make it so wonderful.
3/29/08 6:37 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Love the use of eyelet fabric for yoke and cuffs.
3/29/08 7:46 AM
blue mooney said...
very, very nice! You'll be wearing that a lot, and looking smashing.
3/29/08 8:15 AM
mending maven said...
Gorgeous in every way, work(woman)ship, style, fit you name it. PERFECTION!
3/29/08 10:23 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Everyone has said it all. This is beautiful and your advanced sewing skills really show up here. Well done.
3/29/08 11:01 AM
Sewingmi said...
That is a beautiful blouse!
3/29/08 11:13 AM
jhansby said...
what a lovely option for a white blouse (one of my fav wardrobe staples!) Beautiful!!
3/29/08 11:55 AM
SisterBelle said...
Loved your blouse! Maybe it's because I'm from Texas but I think that pattern would make an excellent Western shirt. Just sew it in gingham, add snaps, a cowboy cuff and piping. You are right. "It could look quite different using various fabric combinations."
3/29/08 12:10 PM
Judy Wentz said...
Beautiful!
3/29/08 3:39 PM
Heatherrique said...
Belinda, you demonstrate sewing masterclass and style! Stunning blouse and superb fit!
3/29/08 5:22 PM
Mary Gillette said...
Beautiful in every way!
3/29/08 7:38 PM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful blouse with impeccable construction and fit. The eyelet is just lovely. I never cease to be inspired by your work.
3/29/08 10:46 PM
Terryh said...
Lovely blouse.
3/30/08 2:38 PM
Jenny A said...
Really nice blouse
3/30/08 2:53 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Gorgeous blouse - I love the eyelet, what a classy touch!
3/30/08 10:15 PM
Leora said...
Everything about this blouse is perfection! You achieve perfect fit every time. Beautiful!!
3/30/08 10:36 PM
Birgitte said...
Fabulous fit, fantastic execution. The lines on this blouse are just superb and your fabric choices and alterations make this a stand-out... the whole package is fabulishous!
3/31/08 3:52 PM
ColleenS said...
Lovely blouse, the eyelet fabric gives it class.
3/31/08 9:41 PM
MoniqueE said...
This is a really classy blouse and a excellent review. I like how you changed the yoke.
3/31/08 10:24 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very lovely blouse!
4/1/08 1:49 PM
wingri said...
Very Classy.
4/1/08 3:06 PM
heatherst said...
Beautiful blouse
4/1/08 3:55 PM
FernW said...
This is an absolutely gorgeous blouse and an excellent review.
4/1/08 7:52 PM
Felicity M said...
This is a beautiful blouse.
4/2/08 2:07 AM
HeyJane said...
This is so beautiful. I agree, it reminds me of western and can be done in the more calm colors if you don't want to go "all out western"??. It's bright and feminine and ready for summer. It's just beautiful.
4/2/08 1:35 PM
Zanella said...
Great blouse and a very helpful review.
4/2/08 3:43 PM
judy_m said...
You have made this pattern into a very classy blouse and written a great review.
4/2/08 5:54 PM
Rickie M said...
Beautiful work, the eyelet makes it so.
4/3/08 1:52 AM
AnneM said...
I love everything you make, and this one is no exception! What a perfect fantastic blouse.
4/3/08 9:37 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Beautiful. I agree with everyone else - the fit adjustments. choice of fabric, cuffs, etc. - done to perfection!!! I AM curious about the FBA you did, is that spread on the pattern 1/2"? It looks like more to me, but I know photos can be deceiving.
4/3/08 10:38 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
OMG! I love, love your blouse. The detailing on the cuffs is awesome.
4/3/08 12:30 PM
AmandaW said...
A beautiful blouse and helpful review.
4/3/08 9:15 PM
Rhoda K said...
Just beautiful and looks so good on you. Great job as always! I always learn something from your reviews!!
4/4/08 10:00 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Dreamdesigner with the FBA, I marked a point 1/2" wider, out from my pattern piece, then pivoted the top until it touched this point. This gave me 1/2" extra width but did give me more than 1/2" length. The same as any FBA. I hope this makes sense.
4/5/08 5:56 AM
Bonnie O said...
I WANT THIS BLOUSE! LOL. It is absolutely beautiful. Way to take a simple design and make it very special. I would wear this once a week to work. I may try to do a similar style as I just love the look. (Can you tell I like your blouse?)
4/5/08 9:45 AM
FrancesR said...
Beautiful blouse and excellent review.
4/5/08 9:13 PM
jlucie said...
Beautiful blouse and fit! The barrel cuffs are amazing - love what you did with the buttons on them. Making the front & back yokes the same level shows you have a great eye for the details! Job well done!
4/6/08 10:33 AM
ladybegood said...
Thanks for the informative review. I love the cuffs you added, and your eyelet choice. Beautiful!
4/6/08 12:32 PM
carolynw said...
So many comments but have to add mine - what a really, really beautiful blouse you hav emade. Great job
4/6/08 11:30 PM
CynthiaSue said...
this is darling and completely professionally sewn. amazing work. I swear I have that eyelet in black.... thank you for giving me a good idea!
4/13/08 10:50 PM
rozzybabe said...
What a gorgeous looking blouse; beats the look of RTW by miles! Looked at close-up of cuffs, & wondered how they were made; noticed 2 looped buttons & would like to know their function.
4/17/08 12:02 PM
Mamie Ann said...
Great review. Alterations instructions easy to understand. Lovely blouse.
4/17/08 7:29 PM
kayborko said...
Beautiful detail work on the blouse! I really appreciate the detail in the bust adjustment picture - I would like to know if a "fitting muslin" was made prior to sewing the blouse.
4/19/08 11:51 AM
sewtiredBee said...
A lot of adjustments, most of which I would need to make for myself ( exception would be the larger bust one). It looks stylish.
4/20/08 1:13 PM
Sew4Fun said...
kaybork, yes I sewed a muslin first to work out all my fit alterations. I sew a muslin for most patterns I use. It takes less than an hour and tells me so much about the pattern, including when to "move on". :)
4/22/08 7:47 PM
jjc said...
wonderful job.
4/25/08 8:47 PM
la9052 said...
beautiful job!
5/16/08 3:20 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-122
photo
Review by Andrea670 on 7/12/09
Read Review

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2013-135 Moto jacket
photo
Review by froggiegir... on 10/10/13
Read Review

Simplicity 3936 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 3936 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us