SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 11-2007-126 (Simple Hooded Jacket)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1191 times 
Reviewed by:jaeng
photo

 
 
About jaengstar
NJ USA
Member since: 3/8/06
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 27 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/28/08 5:44 PM
Last Updated:3/29/08 6:19 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KathleenS said...
It looks great from here - I can't enlarge your picture, probably because I got here while you're still working on it :-)
3/28/08 5:50 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Hey this is COOL! I have been interested in this pattern for ages but not sure how it works on me and fabrics etc., so still haven't done it, love your version with obi belt, thanks for the review!
3/28/08 6:07 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Jaeng, this is just a stunning piece of work! Despite the minimum of seams, the jacket has shape and curve at all the right places. The microsuede is perfect; and I love the single button at bust level. Sleek, sophisticated and definitely Asian inspired. Quite a beauty! -Lily
3/28/08 6:10 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Inspired. Love it.
3/28/08 6:17 PM
hongkongshopper said...
This is gorgeous. Clever girl!
3/28/08 7:30 PM
Em's Summer said...
WOW! WOW! WOW!!! This is absolutely tres chic! It looks so upscale! I just love this!
3/28/08 8:16 PM
nellc said...
What a stylish jacket, I love the changes you have made to the original design.
3/28/08 8:18 PM
Sew4Fun said...
What an interesting jacket! I like the design changes you made. It looks nothing like any duvet cover I've ever seen. :)
3/28/08 8:39 PM
EnglishDaffodil said...
Droooool, I am drooooling over your gorgeous jacket! It looks so well-made, and your alterations suit the style perfectly. Well done!
3/28/08 9:14 PM
Karen6790 said...
I was thinking about making the original jacket from the 11/2007 issue, now I'm reconsidering. This is gorgeous and I absolutely love that it started otu as a duvet cover. Stylish recycling!
3/28/08 10:17 PM
Tez said...
I am always inspired by your work. This jacket is lovely.
3/29/08 3:27 AM
anetJay said...
LOVE IT !!!
3/29/08 6:39 AM
Beek said...
Great jacket! Looks like a designer garment! Nice job!
3/29/08 8:52 AM
So So said...
WOW! I have just had another look at 11/07. Thought i had missed something! youhave created a fabulous jacket form this pattern. I am now off to look at your other reviews.
3/29/08 9:01 AM
Sewingmi said...
That is really gorgeous and original! I love it!
3/29/08 11:24 AM
lcavagnolo said...
I love your interpretation of this pattern and the Naomi top, JJ! I, too, did a double take after I realized that I own the November issue and your jacket looks way better! :)
3/29/08 3:33 PM
JudiBee2 said...
Very beautiful. Good to know that seams can be eliminated. That is a new one on me.
3/29/08 4:26 PM
jaeng said...
Hello, thank you so much for very nice compliments. I am into minimal seam projects right now. Everytimes I look at the patterns, I always think about eliminating seams/ combind seams. This pattern (burda 11/2007/126) is perfect for making bath robe, don't you think?
3/29/08 5:33 PM
simpleliving said...
Great job! I love the belt. Is it a separate piece or is it sewn to the jacket?
3/29/08 5:49 PM
jaeng said...
Simpleliving, I just add the link of how to make an obi belt. It's a seperated piece, not sewn into the jacket.
3/29/08 6:21 PM
jaeng said...

3/29/08 6:32 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Love the combination of the jacket and the obi belt. You created a very unique look.
3/29/08 6:58 PM
lillydee said...
Maybe you should start publishing your own designs.....I'd love to see how you changed the BWOF version t make the new front and shoulder line!
3/29/08 7:19 PM
CShelley said...
Brilliant! Thanks so much for sharing.
3/29/08 8:02 PM
nancy2001 said...
Gorgeous jacket.
3/29/08 8:16 PM
pterion said...
Gorgeous and very chic. You are very talented.
3/29/08 9:36 PM
jaeng said...
Next week I will make a how to on changing the design/pattern, I will post the how to at burdastyle and I will drop a link here.
3/29/08 10:28 PM
Athene said...
Your interpretation of the pattern is so interesting and attractive - I really like it.
3/29/08 11:44 PM
Maychi said...
Great interpretation of the pattern.
3/30/08 3:06 AM
meli88a said...
Wow, you are so creative! I love your additions to the pattern. This is a beautiful jacket, great choice of fabric and very well executed.
3/30/08 9:09 AM
Catbird said...
I agree with lillydee -- you should publish your own designs! Always inspiring, unusual and chic. I look forward to your next posting. Thank you!
3/30/08 7:33 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Cool jacket!
3/30/08 10:04 PM
Erin Marmoset said...
I love the line of the hood. The whole thing is beautiful, but I'm in LOOOVE with the hood! Thanks for the review!
4/2/08 1:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Neue Mode 22152

photo
by: miausiau

Review
Butterick 5824

photo
by: ScaryMerry

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

Buy Now