SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5522 (Misses' princess seamed shirts)

55 more reviews
Viewed 1202 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:3/30/08 8:57 PM
Last Updated:3/30/08 8:57 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Robin Denning said...
Wow I love this blouse on you! You are right, ruffles are in. Beautiful work.
3/30/08 9:11 PM
pterion said...
I LOVE it! Fun fabric and a very snappy style - it is so "you"!
3/30/08 9:17 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Pretty blouse!
3/30/08 9:19 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great blouse in a wonderful fabric. I have this pattern and would like to make it so I appreciate the details in the review.
3/30/08 9:24 PM
Peggy L said...
Great blouse and gorgeous fabric. I love that you named it - so fitting!
3/30/08 9:33 PM
Birgitte said...
That color is superb on you! You did an excellent job on this, truly a beautiful blouse.
3/30/08 9:47 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Wow! Beautiful blouse..Love those ruffles too. Beautiful workmanship and great review! Gotta love that title for your blouse...and E-lec-trical-banana....that's right..........LOL! You got me singin'!
3/30/08 9:50 PM
EveS said...
You CA girls have sunshine year round and now you're just adding salt to the wound!! You're WEARING your sunshine!! What a great color on you! Love it...very "now"!!!
3/30/08 10:18 PM
annie11 said...
Love it! Beautiful fabric and a beautiful job putting all those pieces together.
3/30/08 10:33 PM
Em's Summer said...
I LOVE this! You look great in that top!!! I used this pattern for the fitted blouse contest, too.
3/30/08 10:38 PM
Annette1 said...
I really like your fun choice of fabric. It turns what could be a rather formal tuxedo style blouse into a bright and cheerful summer top, ready for an afternoon in the sun. You look so PRETTY in it, too, just like somebody you could walk right up to and start carrying on a conversation. :o) Love it!
3/30/08 10:56 PM
jlg said...
Lovely blouse. You look great in it.
3/30/08 10:59 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty blouse, but now I can't get the Mellow Yellow tune out of my head. LOL!
3/30/08 11:07 PM
JMarie1962 said...
This is really pretty on you and the fabric is lovely too. I recently made this blouse without ruffles in a beige stretch cotton (boring) from stash. I like yours much better and it inspires me to try it again in a print WITH the ruffles. Great review.
3/30/08 11:07 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Louella, your wonderful yellow blouse is utterly charming. You've chosen a bright and elegant fabric, gotten an excellent fit, and professionally constructed it. I just love the ruffles; in the bright yellow, they're so feminine and flirty. I think it would be impossible to be unhappy in this marvelous blouse. -Lily
3/30/08 11:19 PM
michellep74 said...
Love your blouse. The fabric is gorgeous and the yellow color looks great on you!
3/31/08 0:01 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Very pretty blouse. I think the empire style is very flattering to you, and the fabric is so fun. I'll be sure to check your review again when I finally get to this pattern in my neverending list.
3/31/08 0:05 AM
sewsewboy said...
Your blouse is very trendy and current.It's in a color that is everywhere and with details that many retailers are pushing.GAP had a fulled shirt and charged close to $50.00.It may just be a styling issue.Try taming all of the electric yellow with a little menswear vest and layer a tank or cami under the shirt and open up a couple more buttons.This way it breaks up all of the color.Hope that helps.
3/31/08 0:42 AM
Karen8320 said...
Heatherrique, you look gorgeous! This is a lovely style of shirt and the fabric suits it perfectly. I agree with Debbie Cook that this style is very, very flattering on you. The ruffles give it such a beautiful, feminine touch. Great work!
3/31/08 6:33 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty blouse.
3/31/08 6:53 AM
MissCelie said...
McCall me Mellow Yellow is about the funniest thing I've seen in a month!
3/31/08 7:05 AM
Nancy K said...
This is just gorgeous! A perfect marriage of pattern and fabric.
3/31/08 7:56 AM
KrystalL said...
I've made this blouse in a black cotton, and I'm trying to finish a blue crepe one for the contest. I found the whole project, especially ths sleeves, to be very time-consuming with all of the slip stitching. Your's looks really nice. Thanks for this thorough review.
3/31/08 8:27 AM
Stephenie said...
This looks great on you! Thanks for a very informative review!!
3/31/08 10:20 AM
Sew Confused said...
Pretty blouse and great review.
3/31/08 10:42 AM
ITAdmin said...
Really very cute in that fabric. You did a good job, and I think it's very flattering.
3/31/08 11:04 AM
Beek said...
Darling! And I love that color on you. Not many can wear yellow and look so good. Nice blouse!
3/31/08 11:55 AM
ryan's mom said...
This is Oh-So-Pretty! And the yellow looks terrific on you too. Adding that pattern to my wish list now :) ...
3/31/08 1:36 PM
Riordan said...
Your blouse is lovely--looks wonderful on you! Thanks for the helpful review!
3/31/08 6:52 PM
Membear said...
this is amazing I made the same top with the smae fabric but in a salmon pink. I love it . I think the sleeve billow is because the fabric does have a bit of crispness to it and the Escada one you like is made of what looks like silk charmeuse. Very drapy . My blouse didnt have the ruffles . I always worry that I will over emphasize my boobs with a ruffle. You did a great job.
3/31/08 8:23 PM
Athene said...
Lovely print and lovely fit.
4/1/08 3:22 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Woa, I almost didn't recognize you in that 'muted' print :-). But I guess the sleeves take the place of the print here. Which is fine, please don't get discouraged about them, they're really smashing, I think they're going to grow on you in a couple compliment-laden wearings. You picked the perfect fabric for this pattern, large droopy sleeves are just a little sad, you need that crispness. Another winner :-).
4/2/08 2:08 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

New Look 6162

photo
by: Mazzygirl

Review
StyleArc Alice Top

photo
by: lyndle

Review
Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now