Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Patrones Magazine: 12-2007-38 (Celine Raincoat) - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 684 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Natasha R.
photo
About Natasha R.star
Member since: 4/23/03
Reviews written: 9
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 9
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:3/31/08 3:32 AM
Last Updated:3/31/08 3:32 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Allie in Hong Kong said...
This is so fabulous, it looks incredibly professional and the detailing is superb. I have and love this pattern, but am a bit nervous about attempting it (especially with zero spanish skills!) so your review is really encouraging and helpful, thank you
3/31/08 3:51 AM
Lori V said...
Fabulous coat, Natasha, your details are incredible.
3/31/08 4:51 AM
CarolynGM said...
Very fashionable coat. What meticulous attention to the details too. Well done!
3/31/08 5:59 AM
squirrellypoo said...
I love it! Do you know the name or the fiber content of your exterior fabric? I've got a raincoat on my to make list and yours looks SO much more svelte than the oilcloth I was contemplating!
3/31/08 6:18 AM
susinok said...
You'll have plenty of cool days where you can wear it. I wear my trenches in the cold wind here in Oklahoma even when it isn't raining. It's a fabulous coat!
3/31/08 6:33 AM
MissCelie said...
That, is pretty fantastic. Your detailing and topstitching are amazing.
3/31/08 6:55 AM
Sigrid. said...
Fantastic coat. I love all the details of this. Indeed very professional.
3/31/08 7:02 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Very nice! I'm so jealous of the fabric stores! I wanna go!!!! Your raincoat is wonderful!
3/31/08 7:28 AM
Nancy K said...
Great results! Enjoy the rain!
3/31/08 7:53 AM
Beek said...
I love the result of your "puckered" seams. It does give it interest and texture. Your turquoise lining is perfect! Wonderful coat!
3/31/08 8:30 AM
Sew_Creative said...
I love it and you should be proud. I know how difficult it can be to work with fabric like this so bravo to you.
3/31/08 9:09 AM
meli88a said...
great coat and review. I agree with you, the wide covered placket, the neck, are wonderful details. You constructed them so well, too!
3/31/08 9:10 AM
CatMukai said...
Beautiful! Great job!
3/31/08 11:19 AM
lcavagnolo said...
Fantastic!
3/31/08 11:55 AM
LindsayT said...
Nice work!!
3/31/08 12:08 PM
Markie1 said...
This coat is an amazing accomplishment, and I wouldn't worry, you will wear this in many rainy seasons to come! I love it.
3/31/08 1:28 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Don't worry, it looks like you're going to get plenty of opportunity to try it out this season yet :-). Seriously, I looked long and hard for a lining as water resistant as my raincoat's fabric, and I've never regretted it. The few times when I've really soaked through, it was easy enough for the nylon to dry out completely (if it leaks in, it leaks out). What I did that worked great was to seal the seams with camping stuff on the inside, but it's so many years that it's worn off alas, and I'm too lazy to open it up and do it again. Go with Nikwax for water resistance refreshes in the future.
3/31/08 3:00 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Just stunning! So stylin'.
3/31/08 3:06 PM
trinicity said...
wow, this came out great, so pretty
3/31/08 5:12 PM
Natasha R. said...
Thank you all for your kind words! squirrellypoo -- I don't know for sure what the gray fabric is -- the place where I got it is kind of a dumping ground for random unlabeled bolts of fabric of varying quality and the people who work there don't usually know the fiber content either. I asked if it was waterproof, and the woman there opened her water bottle and poured a little on the fabric. We concluded yes. I do think it's a nylon (I might have even burned it to test?), and it's really fine and lightweight. It was very floaty before I added the lining. Before I found this, I was going to try to find fabric on the internet, and I was thinking my search term would be "nylon taffeta", but I just tried that now and didn't get much. A possible source (although their online catalogue drives me crazy) is this -- http://www.rosecitytextiles.com/product-browser.aspx. I've ordered from them before, but their photos are useless and you must order samples to know what you're getting first!
3/31/08 10:19 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Very stylish and fashion forward; your attention to details makes it more so. I too think you'll have many opportunities to wear this lovely coat, rain or no rain. And of course, you look smashing in the coat. A difficult job, very well done, indeed. Absolutely lovely, Lily
4/1/08 12:40 PM
Tany said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern; I plan on sewing it next fall. Your raincoat looks wonderful and your review is excellent!
3/25/09 8:17 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by hme75 on 5/22/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Adventurer Backpack Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Burrito Pillow Case Patte
photo
Review by Mary Stief... on 2/6/12
Read Review

Petite Plus V202 VHS
Petite Plus V202 VHS

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1587 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1587 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6095 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6095 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us