SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Female - Magazine> 2008winter-page15-33 (Misses Pleated Dress)

Viewed 503 times 
Reviewed by:Pinkhibiscus
photo

 
 
About Pinkhibiscusstar
NY USA
Member since: 9/26/07
Reviews written: 32
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/08 9:33 PM
Last Updated:4/7/08 9:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
Thank you! I've been curious about the contents of this vs Mrs Stylebook, so it's great to see some made up. So do they show the same things, pattern pieces with measured deviations from a standard sloper, in a small scale so you can do it yourself? Not like full-size pieces in a Burda I mean (I'm way beyond Japanese sizes). Another note: interesting that someone else had trouble with flannel-backed satin - it doesn't drape! At all. So you did well to transform the pleats into darts, it was the only solution. And a very good-looking one, yumm.
4/8/08 1:52 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress! I love the front darts.
4/8/08 5:24 AM
mylittleelephant said...
This is gorgeous! Love the pleats details and great fit. I wonder where I can get this magazine.... Thanks for the review!
4/8/08 7:51 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
This dress was a very ambitious undertaking, and you excelled - not only at construction, but at stylish problem solving. Your resulting dress is simply smashing, and you look beautiful in it. -Lily
4/8/08 10:51 AM
Pinkhibiscus said...
fuzzygalore, thanks for your comment. the magazine has an illustration of how the pattern was made from the original sloper (no design), where pattern was cut and how the pattern was moved around. At first I thought I had to alter the pattern, but then found that they had already printed it out. Since they have they small illustration of pattern alteration, I think it is easy to apply to your own sloper. They do have different measured deviations for the sizes, which they offer from XS-L. I checked my issue of Mrs Stylebook, the Female magazine has similar format.
4/8/08 11:02 AM
Pinkhibiscus said...
Thanks for your comments. to mylittleelephant, I got this magazine when I was in Taiwan, but I've seen some sellers on etsy.com selling Japanese sewing magazines and most are located in Japan. You can either search on etsy to see if anyone offers them, or you can find a seller that has the most similar items and ask them if they can buy the magazine. Another way is maybe to go through a Japanese book website (like Japan amazon), but I've never tried that.
4/8/08 11:03 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is SOOOO CUTE!!!! I love the color!!!!!
4/8/08 6:22 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Pretty dress!
4/8/08 8:08 PM
ncegbu said...
oh, its nice to see this one sewn up! I received this issue from a friend and blogged about how much I liked this very same dress. ***ETA*** I looked at my copy of the draft/construction instructions and it looks like the bodice darts are sewn and the skirt is pleated. Maybe a crisper fabric will hold up better?
4/9/08 3:05 AM
W said...
That is a lovely dress. Brava!
8/21/08 5:20 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2012-118

photo
by: Pemberley

Review