SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1757 (Ring Collar Blouse)

Viewed 524 times 
Reviewed by:yorkshire lass
photo

 
 
About yorkshire lassstarstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/23/06
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 51 people
patterns reviewed: 88
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/08 10:17 AM
Last Updated:4/7/08 10:17 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
maryfrana said...
Sorry it didn't work out -- it's always frustrating to put in lots of time and have it not quite work. There is a pattern out there for you! Love the red color anyway.
4/7/08 11:28 AM
Re Becca said...
Sorry that this didn't work out. Something more fitted would work well, esp. in that great red color. Thanks for sharing your experience.
4/7/08 11:45 AM
So So said...
Take a gold star for sticking with it ! There is an ideal top for you, just waiting around the corner. You know and we know it.
4/7/08 1:02 PM
Birgitte said...
Your review was fun to read, sorry you didn't end up with what you wanted. I think your observations about what suits your frame is right on the mark. Try something really fitted and I think you'll be a knockout!
4/7/08 2:50 PM
beginagain said...
I do remember making a turtleneck style in the late 60s that had a zipper in back. It did go all the way up and folded over with the collar.
4/7/08 4:04 PM
fuzzygalore said...
No doubt you were meant to put the zipper into the folded collar, it couldn't work any other way. But this isn't a bad pattern - it's an atrocious fabric choice. If you're going to have a loose style, you -must- have drapey fabric. And drapey-ness has nothing to do with surface smoothness. If you were using a silk satin, then yes you'd have a chance, although the swearing might go off the scale at the zipper ;-). But polyester satin doesn't do looseness too gracefully, draping is ankward. And flannel-backed is meant only for linings, because you only get a small flash of color in the wearing, it's totally unsuitable for blouses. That said, I really like the color of yours, and that pattern looks good to me... I'd go for a light silk myself, or a rayon knit (no zipper).
4/8/08 1:37 AM
mylittleelephant said...
! Now I know that it is not only me who's going through this process of finishing the garment but not quite like it in the end.....though yours looks lovely in the photo to me. I am also thinking and looking for tops and jacket combinations and that makes the sewing list always endless, I am hoping that your next project will cheer you up! Thanks for the review!
4/8/08 8:13 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Thanks everyone for your support. I normally choose very fitted things, so this was a departure for me. Now I am thinking if I gave it more shape I might like it more.... hmmm.
4/8/08 9:04 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Yes, yorkshire lass, as you just said, I might get busy putting a nip, a tuck, a seam sliver here and there to put more of your shape into this top. You've nothing to lose and might end up with a surprisingly flattering (to your shape)blouse. Thanks for sharing your journey. -Lily
4/8/08 9:25 AM
LindsayT said...
Oh well...
4/8/08 9:44 AM
Em's Summer said...
WOW! What an ordeal! But a great review came out of it!
4/8/08 11:34 PM
slanden99 said...
Thanks for the review. I think I'll need to avoid tops with that collar style too. It would probably look great on someone larger
4/10/08 7:11 PM
Winifred said...
Please dont be discouraged by negative comments made earlier. I,m sure you can do something to redeem this and then you will feel so much better. Lily-of-the-valley had some good suggestions -go for it with determination , perhaps after you,ve made something else that is a success.
4/12/08 4:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Simplicity 5052

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Buy Now