SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB021WT (Weekender Travel Bag)

45 more reviews
Viewed 860 times 
Reviewed by:laurelc
photo

 
 
About laurelc
Member since: 5/16/07
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 4
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/7/08 12:15 PM
Last Updated:4/7/08 12:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JMarie1962 said...
Great bag AND review. I really want to make this bag and appreciate your comments about what tips you applied to making your bag. The exclusion of seam allowance on the stiff interfacing makes total sense. So much, I'm curious why the instructions wouldn't suggest this in the first place! Wonderful job on your bag!
4/7/08 12:56 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY classy bag. I'm so impressed with your finished product! The fact that you can make this amazing bag, and it could EASILY pass for a $300 designer bag, is just mind boggling. I done been boggled! :o)
4/7/08 1:11 PM
a.me.s said...
Aweosme job! I have this pattern but am intimidated by it after reading others reviews! Thank you so much for the tips :)
4/7/08 1:56 PM
laurelc said...
Thanks SO much for the nice comments, it means a lot!
4/7/08 2:03 PM
Nancy Anne said...
Wonderful bag! You've really got something special to use in a very practical way.
4/7/08 2:04 PM
lcavagnolo said...
This pattern has been gathering dust in my closet for a year now due to the reviews I've read -- thanks so much for the positive review!!! Your finished product looks fantastic!
4/7/08 2:31 PM
MissCelie said...
I love the Weekender! I can't wait to tackle mine.
4/7/08 2:51 PM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful bag. I'm another one who has this pattern and was not brave enough yet to make it, because of all the trouble people were writing about. Thank you so much for this positive review. Trimming the seam allowance of the interfacing sounds so logical. Seeing your beautiful bag convinces me I have to try soon!
4/7/08 4:53 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Wonderful. I'd love to see a closer view. I'm one of those who has made this bag and do have a second one half way finished. I started with the inside first. Now that I've moved to the outside I'm a bit intimidated about sewing through that Peltex. Thanks for the tip about the cutting on the Peltex. Maybe now I will finish mine that was started about a month ago. I also LOVE the d-ring idea for a removable strap. I think I will incorporate that idea, too. Again, I would love to see a closer view. I can only view the thumbnail pic.
4/8/08 8:20 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Excellent and thorough review, with many useful tips, for completing this handsome bag. As others have noted, it looks quite expensive. Impressive, Lily
4/8/08 9:31 AM
laurelc said...
Hi Ronda65, click on "more info from laurelc" and that takes you to my blog where you can see full size pictures. Thanks everyone else for the nice comments!
4/8/08 9:50 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Fantastic Looking!
4/8/08 10:12 AM
nancy2001 said...
Brilliant idea about using Peltex, cutting away seam allowance and fusing it to fashion fabric. Great looking bag. I just bought this pattern. Thanks.
3/4/09 2:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Megan Nielsen MN1001

photo
by: QuikSew

Review
SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

SewBaby Mitten Wraps and One Piece Hat Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now