SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2935 (Men's Shirts)

36 more reviews
Viewed 2886 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 365
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 297 people
patterns reviewed: 263
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/03 1:29 AM
Last Updated:6/4/03 1:29 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    Mens    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Jay Cadiramen said...
Nice fit Deepika... well done!
7/11/04 7:31 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Great Shirt! I may just have to try out this one for my hubby too! So glad the button tip worked for you!
6/5/03 7:32 PM
CatherineG said...
The Kwik Sew Misses version is pattern 3142. Carrie's 2953 is a more tailored shirt with a collar stand and front band (I like that one also). The Girl's version is 3168 and also comes with hat and pant/short patterns.
6/4/03 10:05 PM
said...
Great shirt Deepika. Thanks for the review. My hubby might just appreciate a shirt like this.
6/4/03 8:45 PM
CarrieA said...
Deepika, great shirt! I recently made and reviewed the ladies version of this shirt (KS 2953). Since my review I've made another one in linen and love it. Great pattern! Here's my review
6/4/03 2:36 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Great looking shirt, Deepika! I like the length of it on your cutie-pie Hubby. Often this style is long and frumpy in RTW, but not so on yours!
6/4/03 1:57 PM
Lou. said...
Deepika, I didn't match the fronts up on the Poker Shirt. For the others I bought 5 yards because I wanted to use the left overs for wrap skirts and bandanas for the dogs ;-)...I think it does depend on how often the print repeats...you should try Gigi's instructions again, I found them very simple and although I couldn't figure out how it would match up in my head it does!...I bought the Palm trees fabric from www.fmart.com and I only bought that and a couple of yards of another print. I also ordered the coconut buttons from there on their own.
6/4/03 12:42 PM
Mbarkle said...
Wow, great looking. I just made the girl's version of this pattern and my dd loves it. I noticed when we went out to dinner last weekend that every 3rd man in the restaurant was wearing a Hawaiian shirt. I had no idea they were so popular. Thanks for the inspiration.
6/4/03 12:02 PM
cindyann said...
Nice shirt. I really like that fabric. I've lost my button foot that allows me to machine sew buttons. It's killing me. Got to get another one. Glad to know that you can just whip it up on the serger.
6/4/03 10:57 AM
Skymom said...
Your husband and his shirt look great, Deepika! Ready for a nice summer barbecue, if summer ever really arrives in the northeast. How much extra fabric do you need to match the fronts? I think it depends on the size of the print repeat--if it's a very large repeat, you'll probably need more; if the pattern repeats every 3 in., you won't need quite as much. For anyone looking to buy Hawaiian prints, check out www.fmart.com. Last time I looked they had zillions. I think you have to buy a bunch at a time, though--it used to be 20 yds. total, and at least 5 yds of any one pattern. But maybe you all could do something cooperative and order together...or make matching PR.com shirts to wear to the November trip. I was lucky enough to visit Fabric Mart in Hawaii a couple of times, and now have a small but nice stash of aloha prints...now I've got to get this pattern.
6/4/03 10:50 AM
Everyday Sewist said...
The shirt looks great, and thanks for the button tips--I still have not tried buttonholes yet!
6/4/03 10:44 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks guys!Lou how much more fabric did you order from equilter for matching the fronts? I am also looking for some manly print to make more of these for DH. Catherine What are the pattern numbers of the ladies version? I could not figure out how to match the fronts... Maybe I am missing something. I'll read Gigi's instructions again.
6/4/03 10:05 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Love it! I'm always looking for happy shirt patterns for DH. Thanks for the great review!
6/4/03 9:55 AM
Lou. said...
Love the shirt Deepika! I used my serger for the last shirt, it also makes it look tjat little bit more rtw as well. I do my buttons on the machine, I couldn't sew them by hand now!
6/4/03 9:40 AM
CatherineG said...
I love your DH's shirt. I have this pattern and I am in the process of cutting it out. I'm going to compare the measures to one of his 'expensive' Hawaiian shirts just to be sure. Thanks for the reminder. There's also a misses' version and a girl's version of this pattern and I plan to buy both of those as well. This is a fun, comfortable pattern that I can use for all those funky fabrics in my stash that I couldn't resist buying on sale but had no real practical use for. I am going to try to match the fronts using Gigi's method, and also the pocket.
6/4/03 8:21 AM
msbillie said...
Very nice shirt! Thank you for your detailed review, it will help me when I make this for my dh!
6/4/03 2:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 84-1007

photo
by: Janine S

Review
Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Paloma Top, Tunic & Dress Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

More Info