SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8491 (Very Easy Jacket and Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1157 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/9/08 2:33 PM
Last Updated:4/9/08 2:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
UmaPreve said...
That is a lovely jacket!
4/23/11 11:10 AM
Kellie R. said...
Your jacket is great! What a fun print which works beautifully with this style. Great job!
8/23/08 3:45 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
It's an eye-catching style on you, and the collarless look opens up the neckline nicely. Thanks for such an informative review.
6/28/08 2:51 PM
AuntieShel said...
Your jacket is fabulous and looks wonderful on you. Love the fabric. I have my eye on this pattern for both dress and jacket and so thank you for reviewing. It's nice to know that the jacket is roomy, even when you went down a size. And I so hear you about the easy ratings. I have long thought that, "yes, it was easy, but took soooo long, needs another rating!"
5/12/08 3:49 PM
CynthiaSue said...
beautiful. very nice.
4/10/08 6:08 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Louella, smashing black and white jacket! I wouldn't have given this pattern a second glance without you, and am looking thru my stash to see what would complement this pretty jacket. And big congratulations on your 100th review; that's impressive. Lovely, Lily
4/10/08 12:52 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous jacket, very informative review, thanks for heads up on Vogue discrepancies. Jacket turned out really nice.
4/10/08 11:46 AM
cindy-lou said...
You are still the Jacket Queen. Great Jacket! It was worth the time spent.
4/9/08 11:29 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Thanks for your extremely detailed review. They are the most beneficial for those that follow. Great fabric selection for the pattern and it looks good on you too!
4/9/08 10:36 PM
Bonnie O said...
What a cute jacket! Great job!
4/9/08 9:39 PM
Em's Summer said...
This looks soo chic! You look so pretty in this!
4/9/08 9:34 PM
2BSewing said...
Your jacket is fabulous! And I adore the black and white fabric. Great job!
4/9/08 9:13 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Gorgeous jacket and fabric. I had not paid this pattern much attention before either. Shame I just missed the Vogue sale - ah well, next time!
4/9/08 8:29 PM
LindsayT said...
Yes, definitely, congrats on your 100th. That's an achievement, and I love the jacket!
4/9/08 8:02 PM
Kiwi Girl said...
Ohh I really like this on you. I agree with fuzzygalore and think the lapels and neckline look fabulous on you. Great fabric choice. Congrats on your 100th
4/9/08 7:58 PM
Annette1 said...
FANTASTIC jacket! I wouldn't even have been drawn to this pattern until I saw your version. :o) Black and white is such a classic, too. I wish they'd come up with a "time" rating, too. They could do it with dots, similar to those that Burda uses. You could have one dot for easy; two for average; three, advanced; four, couture. Then you could do the same for time, so each pattern would have two separate dot ratings. We're just full of big ideas, aren't we? Great review!
4/9/08 7:54 PM
Birgitte said...
Congratulations on both a smashing jacket and your 100th review! Amazing both!
4/9/08 6:53 PM
ITAdmin said...
Good review for a cute jacket from one of the new Vogues. I always like the names you give your photos. And I'm totally with you on those "very easy" patterns that take forever to finish.
4/9/08 6:10 PM
fabeins said...
Thanks for the review. This was on my list, but maybe it will be a better fit for me 6 months further into my sewing career!
4/9/08 5:44 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I like the big lapels and collarless look on you. And you know how I always love your prints :-). Another winner!
4/9/08 5:26 PM
Patti B said...
Very helpful review. Lovely, stylish jacket that really suits you.
4/9/08 4:23 PM
wvsher said...
Great looking jacket! Thanks for the informative review.
4/9/08 3:34 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
WOW! the first thing that knocked me over are your gorgeous blue eyes!! Now for the jacket; Awesome fabric choice and as usual a fantastic piece of sewing work from you! I'm jealous...I never make anything for myself..maybe I should test the waters.
4/9/08 3:32 PM
merry-one said...
It looks great! You are quick. I just bought it on Saturday and it's still in the bag.
4/9/08 3:31 PM
JMarie1962 said...
I'm with Eve on your ability to take a so-so looking pattern cover and making it into something wonderful! I'm envious of your fabric options you always seem to have access to. Maybe I'll find more (better) fabric sources in Portland one of these days... sigh. They're probably here, but on "the other side" of town. :( Another great top and review by YOU! :)
4/9/08 3:02 PM
Athene said...
A very good looking jacket.
4/9/08 2:58 PM
EveS said...
You are so fabulous at turning sleeper patterns into to-die-for pieces!!! I doubt I would've noticed this pattern if not for your version. As always, I adore your fabric, too!
4/9/08 2:49 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute jacket--I love the print! Thanks for the tips about sizing and the time factor!
4/9/08 2:48 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Made By Rae Washi Dress

photo
by: sweetfrnch...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now