Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8491 (Very Easy Jacket and Dress) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1156 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/9/08 2:33 PM
Last Updated:4/9/08 2:33 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Very cute jacket--I love the print! Thanks for the tips about sizing and the time factor!
4/9/08 2:48 PM
EveS said...
You are so fabulous at turning sleeper patterns into to-die-for pieces!!! I doubt I would've noticed this pattern if not for your version. As always, I adore your fabric, too!
4/9/08 2:49 PM
Athene said...
A very good looking jacket.
4/9/08 2:58 PM
JMarie1962 said...
I'm with Eve on your ability to take a so-so looking pattern cover and making it into something wonderful! I'm envious of your fabric options you always seem to have access to. Maybe I'll find more (better) fabric sources in Portland one of these days... sigh. They're probably here, but on "the other side" of town. :( Another great top and review by YOU! :)
4/9/08 3:02 PM
merry-one said...
It looks great! You are quick. I just bought it on Saturday and it's still in the bag.
4/9/08 3:31 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
WOW! the first thing that knocked me over are your gorgeous blue eyes!! Now for the jacket; Awesome fabric choice and as usual a fantastic piece of sewing work from you! I'm jealous...I never make anything for myself..maybe I should test the waters.
4/9/08 3:32 PM
wvsher said...
Great looking jacket! Thanks for the informative review.
4/9/08 3:34 PM
Patti B said...
Very helpful review. Lovely, stylish jacket that really suits you.
4/9/08 4:23 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I like the big lapels and collarless look on you. And you know how I always love your prints :-). Another winner!
4/9/08 5:26 PM
fabeins said...
Thanks for the review. This was on my list, but maybe it will be a better fit for me 6 months further into my sewing career!
4/9/08 5:44 PM
ITAdmin said...
Good review for a cute jacket from one of the new Vogues. I always like the names you give your photos. And I'm totally with you on those "very easy" patterns that take forever to finish.
4/9/08 6:10 PM
Birgitte said...
Congratulations on both a smashing jacket and your 100th review! Amazing both!
4/9/08 6:53 PM
Annette1 said...
FANTASTIC jacket! I wouldn't even have been drawn to this pattern until I saw your version. :o) Black and white is such a classic, too. I wish they'd come up with a "time" rating, too. They could do it with dots, similar to those that Burda uses. You could have one dot for easy; two for average; three, advanced; four, couture. Then you could do the same for time, so each pattern would have two separate dot ratings. We're just full of big ideas, aren't we? Great review!
4/9/08 7:54 PM
Kiwi Girl said...
Ohh I really like this on you. I agree with fuzzygalore and think the lapels and neckline look fabulous on you. Great fabric choice. Congrats on your 100th
4/9/08 7:58 PM
LindsayT said...
Yes, definitely, congrats on your 100th. That's an achievement, and I love the jacket!
4/9/08 8:02 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Gorgeous jacket and fabric. I had not paid this pattern much attention before either. Shame I just missed the Vogue sale - ah well, next time!
4/9/08 8:29 PM
2BSewing said...
Your jacket is fabulous! And I adore the black and white fabric. Great job!
4/9/08 9:13 PM
Em's Summer said...
This looks soo chic! You look so pretty in this!
4/9/08 9:34 PM
Bonnie O said...
What a cute jacket! Great job!
4/9/08 9:39 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Thanks for your extremely detailed review. They are the most beneficial for those that follow. Great fabric selection for the pattern and it looks good on you too!
4/9/08 10:36 PM
cindy-lou said...
You are still the Jacket Queen. Great Jacket! It was worth the time spent.
4/9/08 11:29 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Fabulous jacket, very informative review, thanks for heads up on Vogue discrepancies. Jacket turned out really nice.
4/10/08 11:46 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Louella, smashing black and white jacket! I wouldn't have given this pattern a second glance without you, and am looking thru my stash to see what would complement this pretty jacket. And big congratulations on your 100th review; that's impressive. Lovely, Lily
4/10/08 12:52 PM
CynthiaSue said...
beautiful. very nice.
4/10/08 6:08 PM
AuntieShel said...
Your jacket is fabulous and looks wonderful on you. Love the fabric. I have my eye on this pattern for both dress and jacket and so thank you for reviewing. It's nice to know that the jacket is roomy, even when you went down a size. And I so hear you about the easy ratings. I have long thought that, "yes, it was easy, but took soooo long, needs another rating!"
5/12/08 3:49 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
It's an eye-catching style on you, and the collarless look opens up the neckline nicely. Thanks for such an informative review.
6/28/08 2:51 PM
Kellie R. said...
Your jacket is great! What a fun print which works beautifully with this style. Great job!
8/23/08 3:45 PM
UmaPreve said...
That is a lovely jacket!
4/23/11 11:10 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Petite Plus Patterns 601
photo
Review by mlt on 7/1/07
Read Review

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Full Bust DVD
Full Bust DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sugar Plum Nightgown Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Colette Patterns 0003 Sorbetto
photo
Review by rmomontrea... on 5/30/13
Read Review

Vogue 8877 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8877 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8732 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8732 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us