SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8499 (Marcy Tilton)

32 more reviews
Viewed 1376 times 
Reviewed by:BillieJean
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BillieJeanstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/13/04
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/12/08 5:51 AM
Last Updated:4/18/08 10:54 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
ryansmumAria said...
I love these pants and see great potential for them but they need to be severly altered in the back as they add alot of weight. Every picture I have seen of this pattern is nice in the front and then the back are quite a surprise! Nice sewing!
7/8/08 9:29 PM
Nancywin said...
I just made these and I agree. THe back is the problem. The front fits perfectly. If I make them again, I will take 2" out of the back like you did. Thanks for t he review.
5/26/08 1:18 PM
blue mooney said...
Lovely casual pants! The photos on the pattern envelope are not inspiring, but yours look really good, as do the photos in the latest Vogue Patterns mag. I think I want this one now!
4/19/08 8:38 AM
SewTwin said...
You beat me to the review!I bought this pattern though DD disagreed on the fit!Now, I will watch the back fit craefully.Looks like my "very rounded derriere" may get covered, finally!Thanks for the needed tips!
4/17/08 7:23 PM
Renee' S said...
Your pants look fabulous. I think I could even fill out that back fashion "flair" :) I have 2 pieces of linen/rayon blend that I'm hoping will be perfect for this pattern. Stylish, summery, great looking, comfortable, sounds like a winner.
4/15/08 10:30 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Comfy, stylish pants for the hot Summer ahead. I get a sense of the fullness you speak about by looking in your mirror but can't get a good view. Geneally, lovely pants, Lily
4/14/08 5:33 PM
WhyNotSewIt said...
Looks great on you! Just purchased the pattern so your review and fitting tip are much appreciated.
4/13/08 4:16 AM
Athene said...
Love the pants - thanks for the info about the big sizing on the back.
4/13/08 1:22 AM
Leslie Bonner said...
Pants look beautiful. I appreciate your review and will take it into account when I sew mine.
4/12/08 7:43 PM
Peggy L said...
Thanks for the review! Very helpful as I just got this pattern.
4/12/08 7:28 PM
Luckylibbet said...
They sure look comfy! And the fabric is beautiful for the style. Thanks for the heads-up on adjusting the back.
4/12/08 6:28 PM
Sewliz said...
The fabric is lovely for these pants! They could dress up or down with various jackets and tops. I'm glad you took all that extra room out, sounds huge. Now they look great on you!
4/12/08 1:31 PM
Seaspur said...
I think that they look great on you from the front especially! thanks for the warning about the excessive ease.
4/12/08 12:48 PM
GollyGolly said...
They look great and very comfy. They seem like the kind of pants that anyone might just want to live in this summer; vey cute!
4/12/08 11:49 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Very nice! I had never noticed this pattern before.
4/12/08 9:45 AM
Noile said...
Thanks for this review. I was suspicious about the back because of the fullness obvious in the photos on Marcy's website. When I make mine, I'll start with at least one size down and check the ease carefully.
4/12/08 9:38 AM
Beek said...
Very contemporary pair of pants. You look stylish and "in the moment."
4/12/08 8:28 AM
CarolynGM said...
These look really cute. I had completely passed over this pattern until I saw your review. Now I can see that it is a great summer look.
4/12/08 6:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

More Info
Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

More Info