SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8414 (Very Easy Vogue)

4 more reviews
Viewed 688 times 
Reviewed by:BillieJean
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BillieJeanstar
TX USA
Member since: 9/13/04
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/13/08 9:00 PM
Last Updated:4/13/08 9:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewTwin said...
No wonder you got compliments, looks like a runway dress to me..I would have passed up the pattern, but both pieces look cool..Actually, the dress makes you look much younger...
4/18/08 3:10 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Billie Jean, this is a smashing dress and so flattering on you. I too like the sleeve treatment. Although your silk was difficult to work with, it produced a classicly beautiful dress, and I hope you'll make more of these. Lovely, Lily
4/14/08 11:45 PM
fryman said...
The dress looks great on you. I also have problems with making the best fabric choice. Drape is always a feature I strongly consider. I'm looking forward to your next creation with this pattern
4/14/08 6:38 PM
halleyscomet said...
Very slimming on you; versatile pattern; Could dress it up with a scarf and I could see it with a jacket too.
4/14/08 3:19 PM
nellc said...
This is a very stylish dress with some nice design features that are easy to miss in the small drawing on the pattern envelope. It looks good on you and fits very well.
4/14/08 2:25 PM
carolynw said...
Love your dress - when I first looked at it I wondered where you had found the pattern - then saw it was under a dress in the Vogue drawing - I went right by it and so must now back track as that is something I seriously need in my stash - a nice and stylish and simple pattern for a dress - thank you!!
4/14/08 8:42 AM
inkstain said...
You've highlighted the pluses and minuses of this design excellently. If you can make the sleeve lining a "non-event" and line the whole dress, this is a winner pattern for it's versatility and elegance. I like the mitred corners that you used as an idea. If goldesdottar wants to see the LBD version, it's on my website/review worn by my daughter.
4/14/08 7:49 AM
BillieJean said...
Thanks for all the lovely comments. The jacket I'm making to go with it is New Look 6609.
4/14/08 6:30 AM
Athene said...
A very nice fit and a lovely look.
4/14/08 1:25 AM
goldesdottar said...
Love this dress...it has a little feeling of vintage styling, and is quite sleek. It would be an elegant LBD - or maybe a 'little navy blue dress".
4/13/08 10:52 PM
cabinbaby said...
Thanks for the review. This is the second time I've seen this pattern pop up and I really like it. Your version looks great!
4/13/08 10:52 PM
lcavagnolo said...
I love this! Are you making the matching jacket, too?
4/13/08 10:46 PM
K_sew said...
Your new dress looks very nice on you...quite flattering
4/13/08 9:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2011-111

photo
by: Red Dragon

Review
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Buy Now
Marfy 1242

photo
by: Reverie

Review