SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2756 (Misses Tops & Skirts)

6 more reviews
Viewed 393 times 
Reviewed by:Mrs Lucas
photo

 
 
About Mrs Lucasstar
Member since: 1/26/07
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/08 2:16 AM
Last Updated:4/21/08 2:16 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rosathered said...
Hi Mrs L Nice To meet you I'm from Down under And I have made this top it looks great but I shortened the sleeve as i hate long sleeves and i notice that your shoulder seams are not where your shoulders start is this a size to big for you???? try going down a size at the yoke if you need the lower half to be bigger stay with your size did you cut the fabric on the bias ??? when i made this i cut the fabric on the bias and I had to widen at the hip area as i am a bit hippy I love this pattern and have made a few tops in this I have made it in winter fabric and summer fabric both with great results
10/5/08 6:35 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Firstly nice to 'meet' you minus the paper bag. LOL! I like your top. I like the lettuce edging on the hems, the fabric and I particularly like the neckline. Sometimes there isn't a reason why things feel 'uncomfortable'. They just do. I have a few tops like that.
4/22/08 8:23 AM
Schnauzer said...
I like it and it looks good on you! Personally, I like shorter sleeves, but thats only because I have a 'thing' about anything around my wrists. Your top looks good with long sleeves and shorter ones would look just as nice. You've done a good job on this. Very nice!
4/21/08 10:54 PM
pinemeadows said...
It seemed as though the shoulder was narrow - that it starts a ways away from the neck - does that make sense? And again, maybe it's the fabric - does it drape well? At any rate, if I were you, I'd be shortening the sleeves and wearing this proudly!
4/21/08 9:35 PM
Mrs Lucas said...
I'll go back and have another look at the top. I think the white-ish patch might be a camera angle thing. I might try, as you all suggested, pinning up the sleeves and putting some shape in the top. Pinemeadows - I'm not quite with you on the suggestion of widening the shoulder seams - I'm a bit slow at times. Would you elaborate?
4/21/08 5:55 PM
Irene said...
It's a nice blouse! It's difficult to tell with the photo angle, but you might want to go down one size (or half a size) in the shoulders. This pattern is meant to be made with a lightweight woven, cut on the bias; is your mesh a knit? Bias droops/drapes in a way that pulls the sides in can give more shaping, so you might want to adjust the side seams to create that shaping.
4/21/08 3:49 PM
Peggy L said...
I think it looks nice on you but I think you are right about the sleeves. Try pinning them up and see what you think. (Ignore your sister!!!)
4/21/08 3:24 PM
mastdenman said...
I like it and think you should wear it. Why doesn't your sister like it? It may just be a difference of opinion.
4/21/08 12:03 PM
greenandlilac said...
The lettuce edging is very cute. Mel J. is right, it is a little boxy, it could be shaped on the sides, and I think the print overpowers the style. A solid or a smaller print would probably be a good choice. But I do really like your New Look top and skirt.
4/21/08 9:58 AM
cecelia said...
Sometimes patterns just need "tweaking," nothing to do with our technique. I can't really see the drape on the neck. I agree about shortening the sleeves and maybe adding some shape to the sides. The "white" portion of the print seems to taking part of the attention. Put it away and look at it again in a while. Sometimes that makes things a little clearer. Nice lettuce finishing!
4/21/08 8:34 AM
pinemeadows said...
I think it's pretty! You may be on to something when you mention shortening the sleeves - think I would do that. Also, is it possible to widen the shoulder at the inside neck so the cowl/draping is more centered? I can't tell for sure if this top could benefit from that - it looks like it might go pretty far out on the shoulders before it drapes. HOWEVER, it's definitely wearable and looks nice on you!
4/21/08 7:10 AM
Mel.J said...
Because you asked, ok, here's 2c worth - Are the sides straight up & down? Can you add some shaping? It's hard to tell from one photo but I think it might be a little boxy. Shortening the sleeves might help, fold them up & see what you think. The only other thing I picked up was the paler patch on the front, that may be drawing the eye away from your face. I think the colours generally are fine on you.
4/21/08 6:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 1323

photo
by: GoodbyeVal...

Review
StyleArc Robin Top

photo
by: Robin Denn...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Buy Now