Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2756 (Misses Tops & Skirts) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 389 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Mrs Lucas
photo
About Mrs Lucasstar
Member since: 1/26/07
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/21/08 2:16 AM
Last Updated:4/21/08 2:16 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mel.J said...
Because you asked, ok, here's 2c worth - Are the sides straight up & down? Can you add some shaping? It's hard to tell from one photo but I think it might be a little boxy. Shortening the sleeves might help, fold them up & see what you think. The only other thing I picked up was the paler patch on the front, that may be drawing the eye away from your face. I think the colours generally are fine on you.
4/21/08 6:59 AM
pinemeadows said...
I think it's pretty! You may be on to something when you mention shortening the sleeves - think I would do that. Also, is it possible to widen the shoulder at the inside neck so the cowl/draping is more centered? I can't tell for sure if this top could benefit from that - it looks like it might go pretty far out on the shoulders before it drapes. HOWEVER, it's definitely wearable and looks nice on you!
4/21/08 7:10 AM
cecelia said...
Sometimes patterns just need "tweaking," nothing to do with our technique. I can't really see the drape on the neck. I agree about shortening the sleeves and maybe adding some shape to the sides. The "white" portion of the print seems to taking part of the attention. Put it away and look at it again in a while. Sometimes that makes things a little clearer. Nice lettuce finishing!
4/21/08 8:34 AM
greenandlilac said...
The lettuce edging is very cute. Mel J. is right, it is a little boxy, it could be shaped on the sides, and I think the print overpowers the style. A solid or a smaller print would probably be a good choice. But I do really like your New Look top and skirt.
4/21/08 9:58 AM
mastdenman said...
I like it and think you should wear it. Why doesn't your sister like it? It may just be a difference of opinion.
4/21/08 12:03 PM
Peggy L said...
I think it looks nice on you but I think you are right about the sleeves. Try pinning them up and see what you think. (Ignore your sister!!!)
4/21/08 3:24 PM
Irene said...
It's a nice blouse! It's difficult to tell with the photo angle, but you might want to go down one size (or half a size) in the shoulders. This pattern is meant to be made with a lightweight woven, cut on the bias; is your mesh a knit? Bias droops/drapes in a way that pulls the sides in can give more shaping, so you might want to adjust the side seams to create that shaping.
4/21/08 3:49 PM
Mrs Lucas said...
I'll go back and have another look at the top. I think the white-ish patch might be a camera angle thing. I might try, as you all suggested, pinning up the sleeves and putting some shape in the top. Pinemeadows - I'm not quite with you on the suggestion of widening the shoulder seams - I'm a bit slow at times. Would you elaborate?
4/21/08 5:55 PM
pinemeadows said...
It seemed as though the shoulder was narrow - that it starts a ways away from the neck - does that make sense? And again, maybe it's the fabric - does it drape well? At any rate, if I were you, I'd be shortening the sleeves and wearing this proudly!
4/21/08 9:35 PM
Schnauzer said...
I like it and it looks good on you! Personally, I like shorter sleeves, but thats only because I have a 'thing' about anything around my wrists. Your top looks good with long sleeves and shorter ones would look just as nice. You've done a good job on this. Very nice!
4/21/08 10:54 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Firstly nice to 'meet' you minus the paper bag. LOL! I like your top. I like the lettuce edging on the hems, the fabric and I particularly like the neckline. Sometimes there isn't a reason why things feel 'uncomfortable'. They just do. I have a few tops like that.
4/22/08 8:23 AM
rosathered said...
Hi Mrs L Nice To meet you I'm from Down under And I have made this top it looks great but I shortened the sleeve as i hate long sleeves and i notice that your shoulder seams are not where your shoulders start is this a size to big for you???? try going down a size at the yoke if you need the lower half to be bigger stay with your size did you cut the fabric on the bias ??? when i made this i cut the fabric on the bias and I had to widen at the hip area as i am a bit hippy I love this pattern and have made a few tops in this I have made it in winter fabric and summer fabric both with great results
10/5/08 6:35 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Kwik Sew 4003
photo
Review by Immelu on 9/2/13
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $21.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sadie Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1103 Minoru Jacket
photo
Review by mnitts on 10/18/13
Read Review

Vogue 1233 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1233 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6655 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6655 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us