Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 8002 (Milano Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 994 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Peggy L
photo
Friend of PR
About Peggy Lstarstarstar
TN USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/15/08 10:27 AM
Last Updated:8/15/08 9:45 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
j222b said...
I am very interested in your travel wardrobe!! Perhaps you could do it as a sewing tip? Nice jacket.
8/15/08 11:19 AM
dbsewer said...
I don't see a picture of your jacket. Also, could you post a link to Shannon's stitch and flip lining method?
8/15/08 11:38 AM
PegL said...
I hope I get to see your travel ensemble soon as I'm quite sure all the moaning and groaning were worth the final results! (You really weren't that bad!) Good review and very tempting on the fabric! Just saw the added pics! Very nice!!
8/15/08 2:15 PM
Re Becca said...
Doesn't it drive you crazy when the notches don't match? I had that problem with Kwik Sew of all patterns. Very nice button treatment, it really dresses up the jacket. It looks like it drapes really well. I can't wait to see it on you.
8/15/08 2:39 PM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL jacket, Peggy, and a bound buttonhole to boot! You've got me really intrigued about this stinkin' fabric, so THANKS A LOT. :o) It does look very nice in the pictures, and I'm all for anything that travels well. I'm going to have to check it out (heavy sigh).
8/15/08 10:04 PM
moushka said...
Peggy, great review but my old computer isnt up to your Mobile Me gallery. Could you please post a simple photo so that those of us who are technologically challenged can admire your work, too? Thanks so much. Sue
8/16/08 0:50 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Thanks for the review. It looks as if your jacket survived its vacation workout - and what a great, versatile piece to have ready for the next trip. Nice topstitching and I love that button, too. Can I assume that the armhole and sleeves on this jacket are a little roomier than some of her other patterns?
8/16/08 7:01 AM
Rhoda K said...
Great review and beautiful jacket. Nancy had some of her travel basics in the July newsletter that I'm planning to order. I love the feel of the swatch so I'm glad to see your opinion on the fabric.
8/16/08 8:27 AM
carolynw said...
Peggy your jacket looks nice - so does your skirt - unfortunatley I cannot get much more than a thumbnail size photo - disappointed as I would love to see it up large and close - smile.
8/16/08 9:24 AM
Marji said...
Great looking jacket. The button is really interesting too, nice touch, and your buttonhole looks great. I don't get the FSG newsletter, so may I ask what the Travel Basic fabric is? Is it an RPL like fabric? a knit or a woven?
8/16/08 9:31 AM
Peggy L said...
Marji - Nancy's Travel Basic is 63% poly, 32% rayon and 5% spandex. I think she has it in black and navy. I washed this jacket on the delicate cycle in my machine. I'll try and post these pictures on Flickr later - but I'm sewing today!!!!
8/16/08 10:07 AM
Elle D said...
Peggy, thanks so much for posting this review, I too used this pattern for Shannon's snf class and ran into problems with those sleeve notches. Wasted a whole evening trying to make the notches line up (thought I had gotten the sleeves switched, pulled out the original pattern pieces, pinned, re-pinned, etc etc). I ended up making the notches line up so that there are gathers at the bottom of the armscye. If only I had read your review first! Your jacket looks very nice on your dress form, and like others I would like to see a pic of it on you (with the rest of your travel ensemble). I'm still putting finishing touches on mine but then I'll post a review so that others can follow my goofy journey with this pattern. I did love the snf technique!
8/16/08 10:26 AM
Patti B said...
I like what I see! Nice to know that this works well for the SNF method. I'll be glad to see a larger photo too (my eyes must be going!) -- it is so hard to photograph black garments. Having a travel wardrobe makes a trip so much easier.
8/16/08 10:42 AM
ryan's mom said...
What a nice jacket! That basic black staple is perfect for any wardrobe.
8/17/08 1:31 PM
BettyMike said...
Your jacket is beautiful! As for the notching not matching up, I vote for an error on the pattern, not you!
8/18/08 12:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 2750 BAGS
photo
Review by valgal on 2/21/11
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 501 Pattern
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Digital Pattern
Bluegingerdoll Billie Jean Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-115B Tunic Top
photo
Review by JuneHawk on 5/2/09
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3517 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3517 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6938 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6938 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us