Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2859 (Vintage 1935 Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1882 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/08 11:46 AM
Last Updated:5/7/08 10:46 AM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
50 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kellie R. said...
What a pretty blouse! The history lesson on origami influences was very interesting too! Nice job!
4/28/08 11:50 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Simply stunning! This might be your most perfect blouse ever - the fit, the colour, the execution, everything! And that it works backwards AND forwards is just too good to be true!! I'm not sure which way I like it best...
4/28/08 11:54 AM
maryfrana said...
Never noticed this pattern before but now I have to have it and I want that silk too! Wow, this is spectacular and thanks for the detailed review.
4/28/08 11:59 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
Terrific. I like how you styled your hair. I never really noticed this pattern. I might have to pick this one now.
4/28/08 12:22 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
What acute blouse, great deal on the beautiful fabric. I have that pattern and am even more determined to sew it up now.
4/28/08 12:34 PM
ITAdmin said...
Very pretty blouse. I love the fabric.
4/28/08 12:55 PM
Barbara V said...
Your blouse is so beautiful and looks terrific on you. Very flattering. What a nice opportunity to hear the Met's presentation on fabric folding techniques of the 20's. I loved your hair in bobby pins picture. My Mom used to do that to me - but in the 50's!!!!
4/28/08 1:09 PM
PhyllisC said...
I love seeing styled project photos! This is another pattern I've been orbiting for years. And you could also make the slip dress knee length instead of adding a peplum to the blouse; it would be really cute and comfortable with the blouse as daywear.
4/28/08 1:44 PM
frame said...
Very pretty. Love the fabric on you.
4/28/08 1:56 PM
SueV said...
very nice! I love your style and your creations!
4/28/08 2:25 PM
Karen6790 said...
Wow. Not sure what I like best - the blouse, the fabric or the pin curls! I love the two pieces together and completely understand why you couldn't wait for the next Vogue sale.
4/28/08 3:06 PM
AnneM said...
That's useful. Getting dressed in the dark, half asleep, & it doesn't matter if it's frontwards or backwards. Great blouse, and you are adorabe with your pincurls. Make the jacket as well; I love that design. :)
4/28/08 3:15 PM
meli88a said...
I have this pattern, thank you for this review - yours looks so wonderful I want to find where mine is right now.
4/28/08 3:57 PM
Athene said...
Terrific vintage look. Also love the pin curls.
4/28/08 4:12 PM
LindsayT said...
You are really rockin' this vintage glam look. I love that you went all out with the hair and everything. You and this blouse are the cat's meow!
4/28/08 4:23 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
Beautiful blouse! and your hair is soooooooooooo cute!
4/28/08 4:24 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Fabulous blouse, you look wonderful in it! I really enjoy your whole sewing lifestyle wardrobe, your creativity is inspiring Nicegirl!
4/28/08 4:47 PM
CarolynGM said...
The colors in the print are absolutely perfect for you! That is one glamourous ensemble. Great photography too.
4/28/08 5:49 PM
ladybegood said...
Stunning! This top has been in my queue for a while, but I knew that it needed the right fabric. Your fabric is perfect for this pattern, and really complements the pattern's vintage details.
4/28/08 6:30 PM
Marji said...
That is a pattern that is perfect for you, and I *love the styling you did for the photo!
4/28/08 6:43 PM
Jacqui315 said...
I'm in love with that blouse! I hadn't noticed it before. But I just checked my stash and I have that pattern. I guess I must've bought it just because it was from the 30's.
4/28/08 7:13 PM
cindy-lou said...
Gowachuss! I lurve it too. You have an eye-- and great, great skill! It fits beautifully. And... I fondly remembered my mom rolling her hair in pin curls while reading your review. :)
4/28/08 7:23 PM
Mahler said...
Oooooohhhhh ssssoooo beautiful, you look like a 1940 movie star ! You look so great wit h that blouse. Bravo !
4/28/08 9:43 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
FABULOUS! When I first looked at the pattern photo I thought about the blouse front & back being reversible, and you did it ~ bravo on a beautiful creation!
4/28/08 10:28 PM
mrs quickly said...
You look smashing! The blouse is beautiful. A perfect marriage of fabric and pattern and it looks great on you!. Love the pin curls!
4/28/08 10:38 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is SOOOOO COOL!!!!! Cool fabric!!!!! I love the way you did your hair to match the time period!!!
4/28/08 11:05 PM
maiaj said...
Wowie wow wow! Beautiful blouse and another great review!
4/28/08 11:14 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your stunning photo is a Vision of vintage elegance, and you look positively gorgeous. Blouse, beautiful; fabric, beautiful; young woman, beautiful. Just perfect. -Lily
4/29/08 1:18 AM
Heatherrique said...
Strikingly glamourous, NiceGirl! I am so glad you brought life to this Vogue pattern reissue....the illustrations do not do this top justice! You definitely captured the essence of 30's Hollywood chic a la the beautiful and talented Ann Sheridan
4/29/08 1:44 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Love the styling in your photo. I have this pattern aging gracefully in my stash and must have another look at it. Your version is fabulous, I really love it worn back to front too.
4/29/08 2:01 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love this blouse! Great job!
4/29/08 6:49 AM
Sea-my said...
So non-usual blouse. Lustre! And this is a great way you've done your hair.
4/29/08 8:19 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Great fabric, amazing pattern, love it!
4/29/08 3:39 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I always thought you had that Glam Girl thing going. Now I know it's true! Love the blouse, the backwards/forwards-ness, and the pincurls!
4/29/08 4:37 PM
born2bead said...
How much fun is this?! I've love vintage style clothing and I love the whole look you put together with the hair and everything. Fantastic!
4/29/08 5:09 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Tres chic!
5/1/08 7:01 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Tres chic!
5/1/08 7:01 PM
AquariJenn said...
Beautiful top. Your hair is perfect! A very flattering style for you. Great job.
5/2/08 2:32 PM
pinkli said...
That's a great version. I love this top. Thanks for the throwback too: I'm well chuffed now! (and dying to see if I can wear mine backwards...not sure!). Have fun wearing it : )
5/2/08 2:34 PM
MissCelie said...
You are so saucy and cute in this! You cannot wear this when we go out. All eyes would be on you!
5/2/08 4:41 PM
*Linda* said...
What a beautiful blouse and a very flattering look!!
5/4/08 1:28 PM
shinta said...
Very pretty blouse. Great fit too. I love how it can be reversible.
5/5/08 4:54 AM
Karen6790 said...
I love the difference fabric can make. You didn't make the same blouse again so soon, you made a completely different one. I like the silk best, but this is really cute.
5/7/08 10:58 AM
Squeezylemon said...
I think I like the seersucker version even better! (And as for it giving the illusion of a waist, sadly no pattern on this earth could do that for me!) But a wonderful blouse on you Nicegirl!
5/7/08 11:00 AM
Em's Summer said...
This is a VERY cute top and you look great in it! I think you're a throwback to the '30s! This style suits you perfectly!!!
5/7/08 12:53 PM
OP Gal said...
Great looking blouse. I have the same seersucker from FM in pink. You've inspired me!
5/7/08 2:55 PM
carolynw said...
Really beautiful - I love the silk fabric you used and as usual your great work shows through - you do manage to pull off the vintage look to the max!!
5/8/08 9:08 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
An absolutely charming component of your Wardrobe. The lines of the seersucker version are so crisp and the dolman sleeve/shoulder brace do make your waist look *miniscule.* You're a vintage Vision in this charming blouse. Lovely, Lily
5/8/08 1:14 PM
heapha said...
thanks for the review/s. I absolutley adore your work, this is amazing and I am definatly going to give it a shot.
6/3/09 8:21 PM
thegreatzaza said...
Thanks for your thorough review (including the pix of wearing it backwards, and the bonus pin curl tips!) A really cute look on you. I think I like the way the floaty silk fabric looks with this top. I was also planning on extending the hemline, so your comments on two different lengths will really help also. Awesome job!
11/8/09 1:00 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

McCall's 6571
photo
Review by loti on 9/16/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Ikina Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver   S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (30-35)
Cake Patterns Pavlova Top Digital Pattern (30-35)

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 6857-1006
photo
Review by Liana on 8/6/09
Read Review

McCalls 6480 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6480 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S After-School Shirt + Pants Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us