SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2859 (Vintage 1935 Blouse)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1895 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 319 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/28/08 11:46 AM
Last Updated:5/7/08 10:46 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 25 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
50 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
thegreatzaza said...
Thanks for your thorough review (including the pix of wearing it backwards, and the bonus pin curl tips!) A really cute look on you. I think I like the way the floaty silk fabric looks with this top. I was also planning on extending the hemline, so your comments on two different lengths will really help also. Awesome job!
11/8/09 1:00 PM
heapha said...
thanks for the review/s. I absolutley adore your work, this is amazing and I am definatly going to give it a shot.
6/3/09 8:21 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
An absolutely charming component of your Wardrobe. The lines of the seersucker version are so crisp and the dolman sleeve/shoulder brace do make your waist look *miniscule.* You're a vintage Vision in this charming blouse. Lovely, Lily
5/8/08 1:14 PM
carolynw said...
Really beautiful - I love the silk fabric you used and as usual your great work shows through - you do manage to pull off the vintage look to the max!!
5/8/08 9:08 AM
OP Gal said...
Great looking blouse. I have the same seersucker from FM in pink. You've inspired me!
5/7/08 2:55 PM
Em's Summer said...
This is a VERY cute top and you look great in it! I think you're a throwback to the '30s! This style suits you perfectly!!!
5/7/08 12:53 PM
Squeezylemon said...
I think I like the seersucker version even better! (And as for it giving the illusion of a waist, sadly no pattern on this earth could do that for me!) But a wonderful blouse on you Nicegirl!
5/7/08 11:00 AM
Karen6790 said...
I love the difference fabric can make. You didn't make the same blouse again so soon, you made a completely different one. I like the silk best, but this is really cute.
5/7/08 10:58 AM
shinta said...
Very pretty blouse. Great fit too. I love how it can be reversible.
5/5/08 4:54 AM
*Linda* said...
What a beautiful blouse and a very flattering look!!
5/4/08 1:28 PM
MissCelie said...
You are so saucy and cute in this! You cannot wear this when we go out. All eyes would be on you!
5/2/08 4:41 PM
pinkli said...
That's a great version. I love this top. Thanks for the throwback too: I'm well chuffed now! (and dying to see if I can wear mine backwards...not sure!). Have fun wearing it : )
5/2/08 2:34 PM
AquariJenn said...
Beautiful top. Your hair is perfect! A very flattering style for you. Great job.
5/2/08 2:32 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Tres chic!
5/1/08 7:01 PM
Christina Sonja said...
Tres chic!
5/1/08 7:01 PM
born2bead said...
How much fun is this?! I've love vintage style clothing and I love the whole look you put together with the hair and everything. Fantastic!
4/29/08 5:09 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I always thought you had that Glam Girl thing going. Now I know it's true! Love the blouse, the backwards/forwards-ness, and the pincurls!
4/29/08 4:37 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Great fabric, amazing pattern, love it!
4/29/08 3:39 PM
Sea-my said...
So non-usual blouse. Lustre! And this is a great way you've done your hair.
4/29/08 8:19 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I love this blouse! Great job!
4/29/08 6:49 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Love the styling in your photo. I have this pattern aging gracefully in my stash and must have another look at it. Your version is fabulous, I really love it worn back to front too.
4/29/08 2:01 AM
Heatherrique said...
Strikingly glamourous, NiceGirl! I am so glad you brought life to this Vogue pattern reissue....the illustrations do not do this top justice! You definitely captured the essence of 30's Hollywood chic a la the beautiful and talented Ann Sheridan
4/29/08 1:44 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Your stunning photo is a Vision of vintage elegance, and you look positively gorgeous. Blouse, beautiful; fabric, beautiful; young woman, beautiful. Just perfect. -Lily
4/29/08 1:18 AM
maiaj said...
Wowie wow wow! Beautiful blouse and another great review!
4/28/08 11:14 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is SOOOOO COOL!!!!! Cool fabric!!!!! I love the way you did your hair to match the time period!!!
4/28/08 11:05 PM
mrs quickly said...
You look smashing! The blouse is beautiful. A perfect marriage of fabric and pattern and it looks great on you!. Love the pin curls!
4/28/08 10:38 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
FABULOUS! When I first looked at the pattern photo I thought about the blouse front & back being reversible, and you did it ~ bravo on a beautiful creation!
4/28/08 10:28 PM
Mahler said...
Oooooohhhhh ssssoooo beautiful, you look like a 1940 movie star ! You look so great wit h that blouse. Bravo !
4/28/08 9:43 PM
cindy-lou said...
Gowachuss! I lurve it too. You have an eye-- and great, great skill! It fits beautifully. And... I fondly remembered my mom rolling her hair in pin curls while reading your review. :)
4/28/08 7:23 PM
Jacqui315 said...
I'm in love with that blouse! I hadn't noticed it before. But I just checked my stash and I have that pattern. I guess I must've bought it just because it was from the 30's.
4/28/08 7:13 PM
Marji said...
That is a pattern that is perfect for you, and I *love the styling you did for the photo!
4/28/08 6:43 PM
ladybegood said...
Stunning! This top has been in my queue for a while, but I knew that it needed the right fabric. Your fabric is perfect for this pattern, and really complements the pattern's vintage details.
4/28/08 6:30 PM
CarolynGM said...
The colors in the print are absolutely perfect for you! That is one glamourous ensemble. Great photography too.
4/28/08 5:49 PM
Squeezylemon said...
Fabulous blouse, you look wonderful in it! I really enjoy your whole sewing lifestyle wardrobe, your creativity is inspiring Nicegirl!
4/28/08 4:47 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
Beautiful blouse! and your hair is soooooooooooo cute!
4/28/08 4:24 PM
LindsayT said...
You are really rockin' this vintage glam look. I love that you went all out with the hair and everything. You and this blouse are the cat's meow!
4/28/08 4:23 PM
Athene said...
Terrific vintage look. Also love the pin curls.
4/28/08 4:12 PM
meli88a said...
I have this pattern, thank you for this review - yours looks so wonderful I want to find where mine is right now.
4/28/08 3:57 PM
AnneM said...
That's useful. Getting dressed in the dark, half asleep, & it doesn't matter if it's frontwards or backwards. Great blouse, and you are adorabe with your pincurls. Make the jacket as well; I love that design. :)
4/28/08 3:15 PM
Karen6790 said...
Wow. Not sure what I like best - the blouse, the fabric or the pin curls! I love the two pieces together and completely understand why you couldn't wait for the next Vogue sale.
4/28/08 3:06 PM
SueV said...
very nice! I love your style and your creations!
4/28/08 2:25 PM
frame said...
Very pretty. Love the fabric on you.
4/28/08 1:56 PM
PhyllisC said...
I love seeing styled project photos! This is another pattern I've been orbiting for years. And you could also make the slip dress knee length instead of adding a peplum to the blouse; it would be really cute and comfortable with the blouse as daywear.
4/28/08 1:44 PM
Barbara V said...
Your blouse is so beautiful and looks terrific on you. Very flattering. What a nice opportunity to hear the Met's presentation on fabric folding techniques of the 20's. I loved your hair in bobby pins picture. My Mom used to do that to me - but in the 50's!!!!
4/28/08 1:09 PM
ITAdmin said...
Very pretty blouse. I love the fabric.
4/28/08 12:55 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
What acute blouse, great deal on the beautiful fabric. I have that pattern and am even more determined to sew it up now.
4/28/08 12:34 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
Terrific. I like how you styled your hair. I never really noticed this pattern. I might have to pick this one now.
4/28/08 12:22 PM
maryfrana said...
Never noticed this pattern before but now I have to have it and I want that silk too! Wow, this is spectacular and thanks for the detailed review.
4/28/08 11:59 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Simply stunning! This might be your most perfect blouse ever - the fit, the colour, the execution, everything! And that it works backwards AND forwards is just too good to be true!! I'm not sure which way I like it best...
4/28/08 11:54 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a pretty blouse! The history lesson on origami influences was very interesting too! Nice job!
4/28/08 11:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2012-126

photo
by: cabinbaby

Review