SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> P&S A-Line & Pencil Skirt (P&S A-Line & Pencil Skirts)

7 more reviews
Viewed 695 times 
Reviewed by:sailor girl
photo

 
 
About sailor girlstar
MN USA
Member since: 11/17/05
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/08 9:09 PM
Last Updated:5/1/08 9:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fryman said...
The photo posted is flattering for both wearer and skirt. I wonder if this skirt has a dropped waist?
5/2/08 3:50 PM
maryfrana said...
I think this skirt looks great. The fabric makes it. I'm always looking for the perfect simple skirt pattern myself.
5/3/08 11:37 AM
Elle D said...
I am making this skirt and am having the same experience. This is not supposed to be a drop waist skirt, the full hip is in the right place for the top of the waistband to be exactly at the waist. But the waistband is much larger than indicated on the pattern envelope. The front fits okay, but the back waist is too large (and I have a 28 inch waist, 14 inches in front and 14 inches in back). In the skirt back piece, ended up moving the pattern dart out towards the sides and putting a deeper and slightly wider dart in place of the original (borrowed from an Advance pattern because that dart was just perfect). Now the skirt is perfect in back, perhaps still a bit large in the waist in front. This was all on my muslin, I'm going to make it up in RPL and see how that fits. Might make the front dart a bit deeper and wider. Thanks for your review, now I feel better about my alterations. This was supposed to be a simple skirt to use for the PR Build a Better Skirt class. But first I had to do much more fitting than usual for a skirt! The side seams are really nice, though.
9/3/08 11:57 PM
Elle D said...
I am making this skirt and am having the same experience. This is not supposed to be a drop waist skirt, the full hip is in the right place for the top of the waistband to be exactly at the waist. But the waistband is much larger than indicated on the pattern envelope. I ended up moving the pattern dart out towards the sides and putting a deeper and slightly wider dart in place of the original (borrowed from an Advance pattern because that dart was just perfect). Now the skirt is perfect in back, but not quite right in front. This was all on my muslin, I'm going to make it up in RPL and see how that fits. Might make the front dart a bit deeper and wider. Thanks for your review, now I feel better about my alterations. This was supposed to be a simple skirt to use for the PR Build a Better Skirt class. But first I had to do much more fitting than usual! The side seams are really nice, though.
9/3/08 11:59 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 8620

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Christine Jonson BaseWear Two - Straight Skirt, Taper Skirt, & Top with Options

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now