Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: P&S A-Line & Pencil Skirt (P&S A-Line & Pencil Skirts) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 694 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:sailor girl
photo
About sailor girlstar
MN USA
Member since: 11/17/05
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/08 9:09 PM
Last Updated:5/1/08 9:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fryman said...
The photo posted is flattering for both wearer and skirt. I wonder if this skirt has a dropped waist?
5/2/08 3:50 PM
maryfrana said...
I think this skirt looks great. The fabric makes it. I'm always looking for the perfect simple skirt pattern myself.
5/3/08 11:37 AM
Elle D said...
I am making this skirt and am having the same experience. This is not supposed to be a drop waist skirt, the full hip is in the right place for the top of the waistband to be exactly at the waist. But the waistband is much larger than indicated on the pattern envelope. The front fits okay, but the back waist is too large (and I have a 28 inch waist, 14 inches in front and 14 inches in back). In the skirt back piece, ended up moving the pattern dart out towards the sides and putting a deeper and slightly wider dart in place of the original (borrowed from an Advance pattern because that dart was just perfect). Now the skirt is perfect in back, perhaps still a bit large in the waist in front. This was all on my muslin, I'm going to make it up in RPL and see how that fits. Might make the front dart a bit deeper and wider. Thanks for your review, now I feel better about my alterations. This was supposed to be a simple skirt to use for the PR Build a Better Skirt class. But first I had to do much more fitting than usual for a skirt! The side seams are really nice, though.
9/3/08 11:57 PM
Elle D said...
I am making this skirt and am having the same experience. This is not supposed to be a drop waist skirt, the full hip is in the right place for the top of the waistband to be exactly at the waist. But the waistband is much larger than indicated on the pattern envelope. I ended up moving the pattern dart out towards the sides and putting a deeper and slightly wider dart in place of the original (borrowed from an Advance pattern because that dart was just perfect). Now the skirt is perfect in back, but not quite right in front. This was all on my muslin, I'm going to make it up in RPL and see how that fits. Might make the front dart a bit deeper and wider. Thanks for your review, now I feel better about my alterations. This was supposed to be a simple skirt to use for the PR Build a Better Skirt class. But first I had to do much more fitting than usual! The side seams are really nice, though.
9/3/08 11:59 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

brerrabbit.com Lucinda Skirt Lucinda Skirt
photo
Review by MayenDesig... on 5/2/13
Read Review

Burda 8341 Pattern
Burda 8341 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5992 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 5992 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2008-20 Rose Dress
photo
Review by 21wale on 2/8/13
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us