Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: 1012 (Deco Vibe Delano Twinset) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1216 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR
About michellep74starstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/08 10:53 PM
Last Updated:5/1/08 10:53 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
goldesdottar said...
I'm more interested in this pattern than i was before seeing your version. Fashion sketches as the only illustration are pretty annoying. But i like your twinset - do you ever wear it unpinned? And i must add - your arms are still pink - if you want them white, come to Oregon for about 15 years! ;-}
5/2/08 0:30 AM
moushka said...
Really cute twin set, just a little different. I love the back pleat, too. I like the navy one on you, the colour is beautiful. Thanks for terrific review. Knits can be so challenging! Sue
5/2/08 6:32 AM
cindyann said...
This is a cute pattern. Thanks for the warning on the band length.
5/2/08 10:11 AM
LauraTS said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I'd been waffling about buying this pattern, so the info about the bands is useful.
5/2/08 6:44 PM
Nancy K said...
Your review is very timely for me as this is on my pattern ready to go pile! I will heed your cautions and add to the length of the bands. Yours looks very cute! Maybe part of the problem for this pattern is that it has you use either ribbing or self fabric for the bands and clearly, the ribbing would be a lot stretchier than most sweater knits.
5/2/08 8:12 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I'm sorry you had so much trouble. The white one turned out cute, but I'm not sure about the navy one. Do you have any fabric so that you could just cut longer bands? I'm looking forward to see what you make it in next.
5/2/08 8:34 PM
michellep74 said...
goldestottar, I just finished it, but I would definitely wear the white one unpinned. It's pretty cute. Sherrill, I completely agree with you about the navy one--I posted that pic mainly as a cautionary tale. It turned out like that *after* re-cutting the bands. (You should've seen it before.) At this point, I'm done with it and relegating it to around-the-house status. At least I'm happy with the way the white version turned out (the ribbing looks better in person than in the pic, where you can barely make it out).
5/2/08 9:26 PM
ITAdmin said...
Good review of a twinset that's a little different. I think it's a good look for you.
5/3/08 5:43 PM
Peggy L said...
Good review! I like hearing all the pros and cons of aa pattern. I can see how the bands would be tricky. Nice look for you.
7/1/08 4:30 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Wow. great analysis of what all you had to do PLUS a comparison of how fabrics change the overall look of one basic pattern. Thanks for the hints.
7/2/08 3:32 AM
Darla Cunningham said...
I had the same experience. If I make the bands tight enough so that they do not gap, they gather the fabric. I love the illustration, but the final product, not quite there yet, but so far, I am disappointed. I'll keep working on it until my knit is stretched out of shape.
9/13/09 8:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

brerrabbit.com Lucinda Skirt Lucinda Skirt
photo
Review by MayenDesig... on 5/2/13
Read Review

Burda 8341 Pattern
Burda 8341 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5992 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 5992 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2008-20 Rose Dress
photo
Review by 21wale on 2/8/13
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us