SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> HotPatterns> 1012 (Deco Vibe Delano Twinset)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1228 times 
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About michellep74starstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/1/08 10:53 PM
Last Updated:5/1/08 10:53 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
goldesdottar said...
I'm more interested in this pattern than i was before seeing your version. Fashion sketches as the only illustration are pretty annoying. But i like your twinset - do you ever wear it unpinned? And i must add - your arms are still pink - if you want them white, come to Oregon for about 15 years! ;-}
5/2/08 0:30 AM
moushka said...
Really cute twin set, just a little different. I love the back pleat, too. I like the navy one on you, the colour is beautiful. Thanks for terrific review. Knits can be so challenging! Sue
5/2/08 6:32 AM
cindyann said...
This is a cute pattern. Thanks for the warning on the band length.
5/2/08 10:11 AM
LauraTS said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I'd been waffling about buying this pattern, so the info about the bands is useful.
5/2/08 6:44 PM
Nancy K said...
Your review is very timely for me as this is on my pattern ready to go pile! I will heed your cautions and add to the length of the bands. Yours looks very cute! Maybe part of the problem for this pattern is that it has you use either ribbing or self fabric for the bands and clearly, the ribbing would be a lot stretchier than most sweater knits.
5/2/08 8:12 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I'm sorry you had so much trouble. The white one turned out cute, but I'm not sure about the navy one. Do you have any fabric so that you could just cut longer bands? I'm looking forward to see what you make it in next.
5/2/08 8:34 PM
michellep74 said...
goldestottar, I just finished it, but I would definitely wear the white one unpinned. It's pretty cute. Sherrill, I completely agree with you about the navy one--I posted that pic mainly as a cautionary tale. It turned out like that *after* re-cutting the bands. (You should've seen it before.) At this point, I'm done with it and relegating it to around-the-house status. At least I'm happy with the way the white version turned out (the ribbing looks better in person than in the pic, where you can barely make it out).
5/2/08 9:26 PM
ITAdmin said...
Good review of a twinset that's a little different. I think it's a good look for you.
5/3/08 5:43 PM
Peggy L said...
Good review! I like hearing all the pros and cons of aa pattern. I can see how the bands would be tricky. Nice look for you.
7/1/08 4:30 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Wow. great analysis of what all you had to do PLUS a comparison of how fabrics change the overall look of one basic pattern. Thanks for the hints.
7/2/08 3:32 AM
Darla Cunningham said...
I had the same experience. If I make the bands tight enough so that they do not gap, they gather the fabric. I love the illustration, but the final product, not quite there yet, but so far, I am disappointed. I'll keep working on it until my knit is stretched out of shape.
9/13/09 8:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Other Dressmaking with Liberty

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now