SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2008-121 (dress)

13 more reviews
Viewed 1564 times 
Reviewed by:merteuil
photo

 
 
About merteuilstar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/08 1:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
moushka said...
A super-elegant 'little black dress' that looks wonderful on you. Sue
6/25/08 5:42 PM
Athene said...
Very timeless and elegant. Thank you so much for your review. I may have to give this pattern a try.
5/21/08 9:26 PM
Sweetiebop said...
I love this dress it looks great on you. Thanks for the review. Look forward to seeing more from you.
5/18/08 5:36 PM
EveS said...
GORGEOUS dress and nice first review! You sold me on this one. BTW, I don't know if you noticed this or not, but this dress is one of Burda's "tall" offerings in the magazine (for 5'9" and over), so that may be why it seemed longer than in the drawing.
5/18/08 2:06 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lovely dress.
5/16/08 8:28 PM
blue mooney said...
This looks absolutely fantastic on you! What a great addition to your closet!
5/15/08 7:50 AM
merteuil said...
Thank you for all these nice comments! fuzzygalore, I am actually 1,67m tall, and am quite happy with the finished length. I was just a bit surpised becauses the dress seemed shorter to me on the drawing. As for the fabric, it is what we call 'jersey' in French and is a soft knitted fabric. I was less worried about wrinkling than about it taking a bulgy shape after sitting on it. Maybe I needn't have worried, as the lycra would probably have prevented that.
5/14/08 10:35 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Nice dress. But how tall are you? Burdas are made for women 1,68m tall, and as I'm about that size I find I never have to do any length adjustments, they're totally consistent. I'm also wondering what fabric you're using that you think might wrinkle - don't you mean 'knit' by 'jersey' (if you're from the French-speaking part of Switzerland)? You could sit all week in that and never have a problem..
5/13/08 2:23 PM
morzel said...
This pattern also got on my list when the issue arrived. It is a beautiful dress!! Well done.
5/13/08 1:16 PM
bananaoil said...
The dress looks beautiful. I saw your photos, it looks like someone found a good use for those instructions.
5/13/08 9:07 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Beautiful dress on you! And will be on my "Things to sew when I lose 2 stone" list...........!!
5/13/08 8:20 AM
tomed said...
Beautiful dress - thanks for the review of this pattern.
5/13/08 8:18 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Gorgeous, classic, flattering, elegant.....You sure know how to sell a design! Don't rethink your petite adjustment: the raised waist is perfect, so I'm going to do the same thing.
5/13/08 7:50 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful dress. I'm going to make it this summer for sure, now I've seen your version.
5/13/08 7:06 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Beautiful! It looks so easy to wear, too!
5/13/08 6:47 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh, gorgeous work. I love this one and its on my very long "to sew" list also. Such an elegant design.
5/13/08 3:32 AM
Lori V said...
So pretty.
5/12/08 9:52 PM
Mahler said...
A great dress, with a great fit. You look elegant.
5/12/08 9:36 PM
Gelbean said...
Beautiful dress.
5/12/08 9:30 PM
SandraB said...
Lovely, lovely dress. Very elegant.
5/12/08 8:27 PM
Caitycat said...
Wow, what a great looking dress!
5/12/08 8:05 PM
mylittleelephant said...
This is sooooo elegant!
5/12/08 6:48 PM
cindyann said...
That's lovely! Thanks.
5/12/08 5:59 PM
blessedtosew said...
I am so happy to see that dress made up. I am thinking about making that. I am still in shock over Burda having no pictures with the instructions, but I will survive. It looks absolutely lovely on you. Very classy!!
5/12/08 5:57 PM
Diane E said...
Gorgeous classic dress. Looks fabulous on you!
5/12/08 4:52 PM
AquariJenn said...
Very elegant dress.
5/12/08 4:22 PM
Twinset said...
Beautiful dress, it looks very classy!
5/12/08 3:47 PM
nellc said...
I agree, elegant is definately the word to describe this dress.
5/12/08 3:08 PM
Tez said...
Very elegant!
5/12/08 2:35 PM
Nancy K said...
This is lovely on you. I have it on my very long 'to sew list' so I particularly appreciate the review.
5/12/08 2:12 PM
cabinbaby said...
Love the dress. Thanks for the review!
5/12/08 2:09 PM
MissCelie said...
This is on my 'to sew' list. Yours is pretty and elegant too!
5/12/08 1:55 PM
VtMartha said...
Very pretty dress!
5/12/08 1:54 PM
lcavagnolo said...
Beautiful!
5/12/08 1:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

New Look 6697

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

More Info
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

More Info