Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2008-121 (dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1563 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:merteuil
photo
About merteuilstar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/08 1:36 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lcavagnolo said...
Beautiful!
5/12/08 1:53 PM
VtMartha said...
Very pretty dress!
5/12/08 1:54 PM
MissCelie said...
This is on my 'to sew' list. Yours is pretty and elegant too!
5/12/08 1:55 PM
cabinbaby said...
Love the dress. Thanks for the review!
5/12/08 2:09 PM
Nancy K said...
This is lovely on you. I have it on my very long 'to sew list' so I particularly appreciate the review.
5/12/08 2:12 PM
Tez said...
Very elegant!
5/12/08 2:35 PM
nellc said...
I agree, elegant is definately the word to describe this dress.
5/12/08 3:08 PM
Twinset said...
Beautiful dress, it looks very classy!
5/12/08 3:47 PM
AquariJenn said...
Very elegant dress.
5/12/08 4:22 PM
Diane E said...
Gorgeous classic dress. Looks fabulous on you!
5/12/08 4:52 PM
blessedtosew said...
I am so happy to see that dress made up. I am thinking about making that. I am still in shock over Burda having no pictures with the instructions, but I will survive. It looks absolutely lovely on you. Very classy!!
5/12/08 5:57 PM
cindyann said...
That's lovely! Thanks.
5/12/08 5:59 PM
mylittleelephant said...
This is sooooo elegant!
5/12/08 6:48 PM
Caitycat said...
Wow, what a great looking dress!
5/12/08 8:05 PM
SandraB said...
Lovely, lovely dress. Very elegant.
5/12/08 8:27 PM
Gelbean said...
Beautiful dress.
5/12/08 9:30 PM
Mahler said...
A great dress, with a great fit. You look elegant.
5/12/08 9:36 PM
Lori V said...
So pretty.
5/12/08 9:52 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Oh, gorgeous work. I love this one and its on my very long "to sew" list also. Such an elegant design.
5/13/08 3:32 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Beautiful! It looks so easy to wear, too!
5/13/08 6:47 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful dress. I'm going to make it this summer for sure, now I've seen your version.
5/13/08 7:06 AM
Karla Kizer said...
Gorgeous, classic, flattering, elegant.....You sure know how to sell a design! Don't rethink your petite adjustment: the raised waist is perfect, so I'm going to do the same thing.
5/13/08 7:50 AM
tomed said...
Beautiful dress - thanks for the review of this pattern.
5/13/08 8:18 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Beautiful dress on you! And will be on my "Things to sew when I lose 2 stone" list...........!!
5/13/08 8:20 AM
bananaoil said...
The dress looks beautiful. I saw your photos, it looks like someone found a good use for those instructions.
5/13/08 9:07 AM
morzel said...
This pattern also got on my list when the issue arrived. It is a beautiful dress!! Well done.
5/13/08 1:16 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Nice dress. But how tall are you? Burdas are made for women 1,68m tall, and as I'm about that size I find I never have to do any length adjustments, they're totally consistent. I'm also wondering what fabric you're using that you think might wrinkle - don't you mean 'knit' by 'jersey' (if you're from the French-speaking part of Switzerland)? You could sit all week in that and never have a problem..
5/13/08 2:23 PM
merteuil said...
Thank you for all these nice comments! fuzzygalore, I am actually 1,67m tall, and am quite happy with the finished length. I was just a bit surpised becauses the dress seemed shorter to me on the drawing. As for the fabric, it is what we call 'jersey' in French and is a soft knitted fabric. I was less worried about wrinkling than about it taking a bulgy shape after sitting on it. Maybe I needn't have worried, as the lycra would probably have prevented that.
5/14/08 10:35 AM
blue mooney said...
This looks absolutely fantastic on you! What a great addition to your closet!
5/15/08 7:50 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lovely dress.
5/16/08 8:28 PM
EveS said...
GORGEOUS dress and nice first review! You sold me on this one. BTW, I don't know if you noticed this or not, but this dress is one of Burda's "tall" offerings in the magazine (for 5'9" and over), so that may be why it seemed longer than in the drawing.
5/18/08 2:06 PM
Sweetiebop said...
I love this dress it looks great on you. Thanks for the review. Look forward to seeing more from you.
5/18/08 5:36 PM
Athene said...
Very timeless and elegant. Thank you so much for your review. I may have to give this pattern a try.
5/21/08 9:26 PM
moushka said...
A super-elegant 'little black dress' that looks wonderful on you. Sue
6/25/08 5:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Butterick 3906
photo
Review by Laura O on 11/9/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 8523 Misses Tops
photo
Review by Lisabeans on 6/23/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.10
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Lola Paper Pattern
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1569 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1569 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us