SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Islander Sewing Systems> 207 (Irish Coat)

1 more reviews
Viewed 937 times 
Reviewed by:Miss Fairchild
photo

 
 
About Miss Fairchildstarstarstarstar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 132
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 82
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/12/08 10:08 PM
Last Updated:1/1/11 6:01 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $19.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LouiseS said...
Thank you for reviewing this. I made it in a navy blue fleece and used velcro for the shoulder as I wasn't sure I could do buttonholes properly in the fleece. The fleece hem wanted to roll out, but now that I finally bought a serger, I'll just overcast the hem I think. A friend's mother has this done up in a poplin and it looks beautiful. If I try that, I'll try your lining technique also. Thanks so much, and enjoy!
5/12/08 10:26 PM
bell N said...
I think you are a little hard on yourself. I liked both versions, even the first one. Do you recall the name of the movie that inspired you?
5/13/08 8:12 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Well thank you Bell N for your kind words. I don't recall the movie...maybe "Babette's Feast"? Or some Irish movie.. The woman was standing in front of a window, facing her father, as she came in a door, and she took off this coat. I can't remember much else from the movie; the coat had that much of an impression on me....
5/13/08 3:30 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
This is a nice coat. Do you recommend for advanced beginners?
5/13/08 5:11 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Lucy, yes, I can recommend it, if they have done collars and cuffs before. There aren't a lot of instructions for these two items, just a couple of pictures. Also, I'd suggest, after reading another review, to make the pockets single welt, instead of double welt.
5/14/08 8:45 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Great review, with lots of very sound advice. Very intriguing design - and it looks like it cam out great!
5/14/08 12:45 PM
appleton78 said...
OMGosh...You are too funny. Green Grape Goddess??? Loved this review...and I believe that I am off to try this pattern...with your revisions...Thanks a million!
5/27/08 3:32 PM
FreyaStark said...
An intriguing pattern for an interesting and distinctive garment. Thanks for a useful review.
1/1/11 9:39 PM
GlButterfly said...
That style is quite different and has been done well by you. I'm a little surprised by the lack of instructions but you managed because of experience.
1/2/11 2:36 AM
KathySews said...
What a great review. I have had my eye on this coat because it is so unusual. Still trying to decide if it will work on a DD chest. I am surprised that the instructions were not clear, hopefully Islander is listening.
12/8/11 7:55 AM
AnneM said...
Thank you for this review. I'm looking at various coat options, and this one is an interesting variation. Good to know the fabric width requirement, as well as the shaky instructions.
8/26/13 8:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2007-117

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Simplicity 2573

photo
by: julliams

Review
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Buy Now
Suzi Purse Insert

Suzi Purse Insert

Buy Now