SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 05-2007-01 (Vintage Blouse)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1746 times 
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo

 
 
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 194
Favored by: 392 people
patterns reviewed: 181
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/15/08 2:20 PM
Last Updated:5/15/08 6:56 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 36 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
46 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
nehmah said...
Please, Please, the fate of some 3 yards of copper/black striped silk charmeuse is hanging in the balance. What Ottobre pattern number or magazine issue is this blouse from? I just found this pattern on your blog but can't find the data> Cordially, Nehmah
6/29/09 7:15 PM
Diane E said...
I just finished this blouse and posted a picture at Stitchers Guild. Now I understand one of the comments - that they'd heard the pattern was strangely drafted - I made a size 36 above the armhole and size 38 below and all was well. Sounds like the grading went awry..... I did a review search before I traced and cut and sewed and yours hadn't posted yet. I was about to write a review - now I'll approach the review very differently! Thanks!
5/21/08 12:23 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Your photo says it all! This looks like one very strange pattern. I like Celeste's idea that it was drafted at their Christmas party. That would explain a lot of things. :)
5/20/08 0:23 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
Oh thank you, Debbie. Just returned home from a grueling business trip and felt just a bit 'down.' Didn't even want to look at PR, just sulk. Your pattern wad pic just completely changed my day! Now, I have a smile on my face. -Lily
5/18/08 1:18 PM
ncegbu said...
Thanks for this review. Goes to show that one should make a habit of checking here on PR *before* wasting fabric, time, & hair (from pulling it out in frustration)! -Nneka
5/17/08 10:10 PM
slanden99 said...
Your right. Something is seriously wrong with the pattern. I'll take a look at the smaller sizes when I get a chance to see if it's any better. It's a shame it didn't work since it is such a nice looking blouse on the model
5/17/08 3:01 PM
Dei said...
Thank you, thank you thank you. Sincerity goes a long way. Let's us all know that we're not crazy. Toss is and call it a day. Love the pic BTW. Glad you tried and let us know about it.
5/17/08 2:01 PM
Debra H said...
Hilarious...maybe I will cut up one of my losers into shredded pieces and post it that way. Looks like a serious drafting issue...so sorry you had to go through that. It is a pretty simple blouse so no excuse for that
5/17/08 1:40 PM
Lisanne said...
love your project photo ! - greatly cheering to us all
5/17/08 3:44 AM
bananaoil said...
Thanks for your review, I appreciate your specific analyses of what didn't work. I have "made" this one too but actually, I didn't care for the fit of the pattern drafted as is and ended up copying the collar and sleeves, using the moulage I drafted with the help of Kenneth King's books. I attributed the pattern not working to its being drafted to some average of body types while most of us are either side of average. Who is that one woman I wonder?
5/17/08 2:19 AM
Marji said...
Thank you Debbie, for having it in you to do such a thorough review of a wadder. It's reviews like these that are maybe more helpful than all the ones that work all the time, right out of the envelope. I'm sure you've saved some yardage out there, from joining yours in the wadder pile. Thank you. (and I must add that that is one V creative thumbnail pic!!)
5/16/08 5:28 PM
Larkin said...
A nice laugh - and a warm feeling that I'm not the only one with projects that end up like this! Thank-you.
5/16/08 5:21 PM
Speech girl said...
Thanks for the review--I really liked the blouse in the magazine and it was on my to-sew list. Now I'm rethinking it! What a dissapointment--Ottobre patterns are usually drafted so beautifully.
5/16/08 11:21 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Wow. Thanks for this review. I hope it helped to vent it out a bit, because you certainly didn't deserve all this hassle!!
5/16/08 11:04 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Great visual aide. Good luck on your morph version.
5/16/08 8:40 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Too weird.. They must have had a serious grading bug, or a drunk operator ;-). But fortunately this is hardly an unusual pattern, one you'd mind not having - there must be 35 Burda shirts exactly similar in the last 2 years..
5/16/08 5:51 AM
Caitycat said...
Love the photo - LOL! What a shame that it was such a rotten pattern.
5/16/08 1:59 AM
keelyb1 said...
If you can't make it work, I'm not even going near it! Thanks for the review. I'm off to make a note in the magazine.
5/16/08 1:08 AM
Annika said...
Foo! Foo! Foo! I do believe one of those darts is big enough to harbor the entire Bermuda Triangle!
5/15/08 11:55 PM
utz said...
I think you've discovered some Bermuda Triangle of pattern drafting ... or as Celeste above said - a Christmas party flub.
5/15/08 9:51 PM
Celeste said...
This must have been drafted at their Christmas party one year.... spin the bottle.... close your eyes and you make the darts.... spin the bottle... your turn! now close your eyes and you do the side seams... sheesh!!
5/15/08 9:35 PM
Patti B said...
Debbie, your photo is right up there with the one that showed the wadder in the trashcan -- on fire! No one can say that you didn't give this the old college try ... and try. Enough already; time to move on. And, PVA, you are 'retro' NOT vintage!
5/15/08 8:51 PM
PVA said...
Well, I guess even the best sewing diva I know of can have a wadder if the pattern is that seriously flawed! Great photo, Debbie -- it kind of says it all. Now, I want to register a serious objection to the blouse being designated "vintage"! I can go with "retro", but vintage -- no way! I've worn them most of my life. Worn them & loved them! Am I vintage -- (long silence) -- Well, am I? (even longer silence -- I insist, *Retro*!)
5/15/08 8:29 PM
BeckyC said...
I just had to laugh at the photo! No words were needed after seeing the picture! How many of us have felt this way when attempting a seemingly simple pattern that goes awry. I'm sure you'll get much better results with your PMB version. Thanks for sharing and the laugh!
5/15/08 8:06 PM
CarolynGM said...
Love your project photo. That is one of the strangest patterns I have ever seen. Good luck with your PMB version.
5/15/08 7:29 PM
angie.a said...
Bwahahaha!!! I seriously *heart* you. Man I remember tracing this and going over and over it trying to figure out those darts. I finally figured it would make sense if I ever got around to making it. Drat it.
5/15/08 6:37 PM
brrmm said...
Your pic made me belly-laugh! Aint touching this shirt with a barge-pole. If you can't do it, I sure couldn't. Thanks for the warning.
5/15/08 6:17 PM
goldesdottar said...
The opening picture is one of the most...eloquent...reviews, in any medium, i've seen ;-} . I thought i recognized this shirt, and i did. bananaoil did a SELF-DRAFTED copy for her wordrobe contest entry that turned out beautifully. So i can see the attraction to trying it - but copying a pattern from a sewing magazine shouldn't require drafting it from scratch, now should it...i hope you do conquer this pattern - the result should be very pleasing, as can be seen in bananaoil's work.
5/15/08 5:51 PM
Karla Kizer said...
Okay, I feel much better now. I traced the same design in (I think) 42 shoulders, 46 bust, hips. I used my beloved soil separator cloth, basted it together, slipped it on and said *what the HEY!!!????*. Your wadder looks better than mine, since mine wound up in the trash, covered with coffee grounds. I quit.
5/15/08 5:49 PM
Izzie said...
Well Debbie, thanks for at least proving to me that I wasn't a total goofball when I traced this pattern....I thought surely I must have made a mistake since I've never come across a pattern with the darts so wonky and out of place. I know this one is bad if YOU couldn't make it work!
5/15/08 5:03 PM
Kellie R. said...
Oh No!!! How disappointing! But thanks for the information and details on the design flaws.
5/15/08 4:54 PM
Nancy K said...
Woops! It's always good when sewers share their problems as well as the successes. Great picture and thanks for the details of what didn't work. Sometimes you just have to know when to give up.
5/15/08 4:43 PM
mssewcrazy said...
The photo made my day. At the moment I am sewing a tee shirt that I copied from an old one that I took apart. It's getting to be my uniform not that it's great but it sort of fits or is ata least wearable. I have a zillion dollars of patterns that usually result in something like your photo when I try one of them Thanks for the warning, I won't bother with that blouse if you wadded it up as I have similar fitting issues that I am trying to learn to deal with.
5/15/08 4:40 PM
sewsue said...
Thanks for such a detailed and informative review. I was considering making this pattern attracted to it by the photos on the model. We read and write so many positive reviews and it is good to hear which are duds. Thanks.
5/15/08 4:37 PM
Sigrid. said...
GREAT picture! I've long wanted to try this pattern. You gave me sufficient reasons not to try. Thank you for the warning.
5/15/08 4:01 PM
cabinbaby said...
hee hee, your picture cracked me up.
5/15/08 3:46 PM
EveS said...
Hehehe (laughing WITH you...you ARE laughing, aren't you?) :o Seriously, though, what a drag. I was thinking what Michelle wrote. A lot of us would be trying to figure out where we went wrong. I know I would be. And thanks for the chuckle. Been there, done that.
5/15/08 3:37 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Yikes! That's insane. Have you let Ottobre know about this?
5/15/08 3:36 PM
michellep74 said...
Thanks for the heads up about this! If I had this issue and attempted this pattern, I'd have probably thought that *I* had messed up somewhere...
5/15/08 3:20 PM
pterion said...
A picture worth a thousand words (although thanks for writing the words too!) What a disappointment! You know, it sounds like a draftsperson at OW goofed. Maybe an email to Tuula is in order. I don't know what she would do about it now...but if it were MY product, I'd want to know.
5/15/08 3:18 PM
Birgitte said...
First, thanks for the laugh! That picture says it all. Second, thanks for an excellent review.
5/15/08 3:02 PM
loohoo44 said...
Thank you Debbie for taking the time to post this, it probably feels like throwing even more time at a bad pattern but I'm sure you're saving other people the headache.
5/15/08 2:52 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Your picture is hilarious! I'm sorry it didn't work for you, that is always such a bummer.
5/15/08 2:35 PM
Frozzy said...
Holy Moley, that thing is frightening! Too bad it didn't work out, but your crumpled up pattern picture gave me a giggle for the day!
5/15/08 2:28 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Oh my gosh - Debbie - that is unbelievable. Thanks for all the warnings. If you can't fix it - no one can. Love ya.
5/15/08 2:27 PM
lauraborealis said...
Love your picture... I've made a few of those recently, too!
5/15/08 2:26 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

More Info
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

More Info
Vogue Patterns 1020

photo
by: Sweetiebop

Review