Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6669 (Misses Tops and Bias Skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1258 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/29/08 3:37 PM
Last Updated:5/29/08 3:38 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
40 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gelbean said...
Your skirt is gorgeous. I just love the print of the fabric.
5/20/08 7:07 PM
Julie G said...
Nice looking fabric! Hope it turns out great :)
5/20/08 7:26 PM
Roxxygrl said...
It's looking lovely, beautiful fabric colours.
5/20/08 11:01 PM
camaro1952 said...
Wonderful choice of fabric!
5/21/08 6:26 AM
imsymphony said...
Very pretty, thanks for the review!
5/21/08 12:01 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW! Talk about letting the fabric speak for itself, this is just stunning!
5/21/08 6:54 PM
mylittleelephant said...
This is exciting, looking forward to reading your complete review!
5/21/08 7:40 PM
Rebecca H said...
I didn't know there were so many tricks to sewing bias skirts. One I didn't see mentioned was from Marcy Tilton's book on skirts, to cut the front & back pattern pieces in half and sew front & back center seams to get a better fit. Probably with a slinky fabric, it doesn't make as much difference, but with a woven, like linen, you avoid the folds falling at the sides, which makes you look wider. Sometimes, though, I think we over-think our crafts to the point it takes all the fun out of them.
5/22/08 9:18 AM
Deepika said...
well the skirt has been hanging in the closet and I dont see it growing. I did cut it on the bias so I am not sure what's happening. I am also not getting any figure hugging silhouette from it. Maybe I should have gone down a size?
5/23/08 11:37 AM
Jodi B. said...
Deepika, it looks fabulous! Beautiful job on your first bias skirt.
5/29/08 4:06 PM
CarolynGM said...
I am so envious of your tiny rolled hem. The skirt looks great, so sleek on you.
5/29/08 4:25 PM
Suzy Sews said...
Your bias skirt is truly gorgeous! Great job on the hem. Very professional...
5/29/08 4:39 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
OMG! This is the most fabulous skirt ever! Perfect combo of pattern and fabric. If you ever tire of that beauty, you know the address of where to send it...
5/29/08 4:42 PM
Flying Seamstress said...
Beautiful, beautiful...and a great review!
5/29/08 5:05 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Beautiful fabric and fit, this is really making me feel like trying a bias skirt which never done before, thanks for all tips and links, great review. I will come back on this when I finally sew a bias skirt!
5/29/08 5:09 PM
SueV said...
that skirt looks nice on you. a bias silk skirt! Beautiful and very flattering
5/29/08 5:09 PM
Gold said...
You look fabulous!!
5/29/08 5:55 PM
Twinset said...
Very nice skirt, looks great on you! Congrats for this 1st bias project!
5/29/08 6:03 PM
Elona said...
Wow, it's gorgeous, Deepika!
5/29/08 6:54 PM
Birgitte said...
Just fantastic, what a great first bias skirt! Pat yourself on the back for this one!
5/29/08 7:06 PM
Karla Kizer said...
That skirt should be in the pages of InStyle magazine. The perfect combination of fabric, design and workmanship.
5/29/08 7:31 PM
PVA said...
Omygosh, everything that everyone else has said! Even the machine rolled hem looks just perfect! That outfit is soooooo "uptown" -- just awesome!
5/29/08 7:39 PM
Catbird said...
I love the way this looks on you. The fabric is gorgeous and the hem is perfection. Congratulations!
5/29/08 8:19 PM
Fictionfan said...
Fantastic job and beautiful fit, Deepika. Maybe the best compliment I could give is that it looks better than any RTW skirt, and so pretty! The top and necklace really look great with the skirt. Don't you just love those rolled hem feet? I don't know what I ever did without them.
5/29/08 8:36 PM
mastdenman said...
I love the skirt. You look great in it. Note to self: Must hit Mikes next time.
5/29/08 10:57 PM
CynthiaSue said...
look at you slinky girl!! Great review. very pretty.
5/29/08 11:16 PM
Darla in PA said...
Your skirt turned out beautiful. Great job for the 1st bias skirt.
5/30/08 6:39 AM
RobinMCPA said...
I love your skirt - it looks like it fits you perfectly, and the fabric is beautiful as well. I haven't tried bias sewing yet, but I just bought this pattern and plan to! I will refer to my copy of that book too when doing so, as I recently acquired it.
5/30/08 8:00 AM
Sheila457 said...
Awesome skirt and just love the print.
5/30/08 10:02 AM
Em's Summer said...
That skirt looks perfect! I would never have guessed that this was your first attempt at a bias skirt! Great job!
5/30/08 12:00 PM
thaiyal said...
It's GORGEOUS!
5/30/08 2:06 PM
thaiyal said...
Deepika, Did you make the top too? If so, what pattern is it? It goes beautiful with your bias skirt!
5/30/08 2:10 PM
Deepika said...
Gazelle I did make the top. It's Vogue 2925 Thank you everyone for such nice comments. As I was writing a review, I thought to myself, I probably won't get a lot of comments on this one cause it's such a basic skirt but I was so excited to see such nice comments from all of you. This is where I find inspiration and motivation to sew more and better each time. I am very pleased with this project and already planning my next bias skirt.
5/30/08 3:03 PM
LisaG said...
Deepika, it's a gorgeous outfit. As always, I am inspired by you. I am also inspired by your "one wearable garment per month" goal. That sounds so do-able. Maybe I'll adopt it too.
5/30/08 3:10 PM
Winifred said...
Deepika, this is a beautiful shirt on you and you should be proud to wear it. I too have frequently seen that time on the clock when I,m at it!! Alo I am going to do the 1 a month thing - I've got too many UFO's and end up feeling stressed out with nothing much to show for it. Wish Mikes Fabrics was mail order!
5/30/08 4:36 PM
jhansby said...
Great skirt!!
5/30/08 7:59 PM
Deepika said...
That's great. Maybe I'll start a sew-along for one-garment-a-month.
5/31/08 10:12 AM
Sherril Miller said...
I love what you did with that pretty fabric. Great job getting it done, just in time.
6/1/08 12:13 PM
Eme said...
It looks WONDERFUL! You must be so proud of yourself - I knew you could do it! Yay! :) (BTW I love the one a month sew along idea).
6/1/08 10:57 PM
jojoeffe said...
The length is really flattering and the bold print works so well with this skirt. Gorgeous!
11/18/08 10:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

McCall's 3906
photo
Review by jessika on 6/22/07
Read Review

Blank Slate Trendy Tuxedo Shirt & Pants Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Trendy Tuxedo Shirt & Pants Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Surf's Up Board Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5661
photo
Review by JenYard on 1/1/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket
Petite Plus Patterns Walking Jacket

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7966 Pattern
Burda 7966 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3807 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3807 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us