Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4287 (men's guayabera (OOP)) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 1434 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 41 people   
Reviewed by:Elona
photo
Friend of PR
About Elonastar
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 9
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/21/08 1:45 AM
Last Updated:7/2/13 2:51 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
49 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherbelle said...
That is just beautiful, what a wonderfully stylish shirt with such detailing. I might have to get this pattern for my husband, he is the same height and weight as your son so I can see how the shirt would look (sadly mine wouldn't be exquisitely detailed...)!
5/20/08 11:55 PM
goldesdottar said...
It is a great review, and good detail offered about the pattern - the shaping of the side seams, for instance - and your process, and then the historic information about the shirt style. This is so much more impressive than the poly/cotton blend & machine embroidered versions i remember from the '70s. Your shirt shows the beauty the style can have. Congratulations - and how nice not to have to tackle a tux to do sewing for your son's wedding! ;-}
5/21/08 2:17 AM
Birgitte said...
I love this shirt. It is simply stunning. Thank you for the excellent review and congratulations on your handsome son and beautiful DIL' wedding. This shirt is art.
5/21/08 2:35 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Wow, your attention to detail on this shirt rivals most wedding gowns! Congratulations, it looks amazing.
5/21/08 6:43 AM
BillieJean said...
Beautiful shirt. I can't imagine that I will ever have a call to make something like this, but yours is lovely and your review so helpful.
5/21/08 6:45 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Elona Congratuations to your son & bride. Wonderful & beautiful outcome on the G shirt. You are always inspiring....
5/21/08 7:10 AM
nellc said...
This is beautiful work and I just love that you made your son the shirt to wear on his wedding day.
5/21/08 8:03 AM
Kellie R. said...
Just fantastic!!!!!!! You did a great job on the details! Thanks so much for a great review!
5/21/08 8:19 AM
cindyann said...
Ohhhh nice! I've always wanted to make my DH a guayabera. Your son's shirt is just lovely!
5/21/08 8:24 AM
Beek said...
How fabulous!
5/21/08 8:35 AM
Mahler said...
This shirt is something ! Congratulations for sewing such an original wedding shirt. The hand embroidery really impress me. Bravo !
5/21/08 8:37 AM
sew42mom said...
How beautiful! I love to embroider so I know that you spent lots of time and I would imagine a lot of love on this shirt.
5/21/08 8:51 AM
Jacqui315 said...
Beautiful shirt and fantastic review. I have this pattern because my dad use to wear these shirts. I hope to make one for my son. Such wonderful detail you've provided both in your finished garment and review. Thanks!
5/21/08 8:59 AM
CatMukai said...
"a large number of nonfunctional buttons" - love it! You did a great job!
5/21/08 9:17 AM
Leora said...
Beautiful details. You can see the love in this shirt.
5/21/08 9:43 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Wjhat a wonderful present to give to your son. It looks fabulous and comfortable - what a great combination.
5/21/08 9:55 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Elona, this is absolutely fabulous. Thanks so much for sharing it with all of us!
5/21/08 10:01 AM
carolynw said...
How incredibly beautiful and what a great idea to sew this for your son and wonderful that his wedding plans fit in with this. Beautiful son and well done proud MOG
5/21/08 11:39 AM
Ann Smith said...
What a beautiful shirt and inspiring review. This looks so much better than any guayabera I've ever seen. Often they are so boxy but this has such a nice shape. Bravo!
5/21/08 3:02 PM
Elona said...
Gee, ladies, thanks for your kind comments! I hope my efforts inspire you to make a guayabera for your guys, too.
5/21/08 4:54 PM
blue mooney said...
Lots of mamas make bridal gowns. It's great that you made your son's wedding garment! Thank you for reviewing this pattern, especially the comparison with vintage examples. I have it in stash and the spouse loves guyaberas.
5/21/08 5:49 PM
bananaoil said...
You did a wonderful job with that shirt. Your son looks great in it, and you're right, beautiful too, and HAPPY. Thanks for the review. Congratulations Mom!
5/21/08 6:08 PM
Annette1 said...
How very unique, and such a lovely gift to your son. The front is outstanding, but I REALLY love the back!
5/21/08 6:37 PM
jent said...
This is so lovely. Your review is excellent too. What a special special gift for your son.
5/21/08 8:56 PM
EveS said...
Wow. I never thought I'd see the day that I was totally smitten with a man's shirt!! (heck, I barely LIKE most of the pattern offerings out there) This is just beautiful, and the PERFECT wedding attire - equal in importance to bridalwear! Beats the heck out of some nasty poly tux, that's for sure! Ok, back to my mundane sewing now, but my heart is still going pitter-pat. :)
5/21/08 10:12 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Thank you for your extremely detailed review. I learned a great deal from it. My main impression was how nice it was your could do this for your son. Such items make a special day more special and create long links for memory in the future. Thanks for sharing.
5/22/08 0:26 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Wow, I'm stunned!! thank you for an utterly original, heirloom sewing project. My husband is IN LOVE with latin culture and this would be an incredible gift. What a wonderful bond to have with your son to make the shirt he wears on is wedding day. It's beautiful!
5/22/08 2:05 AM
JayeKing said...
I just bought my first sewing machine a few weeks ago and I am teaching myself to sew. Now that I understand the work that sewing entails, I am awed by your workmanship and can see the love that went into the shirt. Congratulations also on the wedding of your son!
5/22/08 7:11 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great review, beautiful shirt! Congrats on your son's wedding. It looks like it was a lot of fun.
5/22/08 7:46 AM
kim*brown said...
Very nice.
5/22/08 11:39 AM
fuzzygalore said...
OH, how nice to see people doing a wedding on the beach again, instead of those stuffy affairs. The kids looks beautiful, and you did a great job of tying in to the theme of the bride's dress. What a great shirt, what a great Mom :-).
5/22/08 1:30 PM
Peggy L said...
Wonderful shirt! You did a beautiful job on this. thanks for sharing your son's special day.
6/4/08 11:15 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your son's wedding shirt looks like a true labor of love. Thanks for all the detail about how you did the embroidery and pleats. Great review.
6/4/08 1:03 PM
Linda E. said...
Wow that is beautiful.. love the details.
6/7/08 9:20 AM
mssewcrazy said...
This is a beautiful shirt and a fabulous idea to make it for your son's wedding day.
7/29/08 8:03 AM
PhyllisC said...
Very cool shirt on a cool dude!
7/30/08 9:45 AM
Brattyzmom said...
This shirt is an amazing work of art. My husband wants o shirt in this style--do you know where I can find the pattern? It is not abvailable from the supplier any longer.
8/5/09 1:11 PM
lally266 said...
does anyone have this pattern for sale?
12/14/09 4:04 PM
ElizabethDee said...
Your work takes my breath away.
3/23/10 10:14 AM
Grunter said...
I am looking for a copy for sale anyone?
10/3/10 3:26 AM
JillyBe said...
Great review and VERY helpful - thank you!
6/28/11 5:19 PM
Rhoda K said...
Your photos no longer available - would love to see updated ones.
7/1/13 7:16 PM
lakaribane said...
I am sooo impressed. If you had to break out the mini-iron, it's serious, LOL! Fantastic shirt and a lovely contribution to the wedding! Oh, and guayaberas are very popular here too, white linen in particular. (Our president and prime minister seem to own an infinite variation but that's another story right there!) And now I need this pattern in my life, LOL!
7/1/13 10:05 PM
MNBarb said...
What a work of art!
7/2/13 7:20 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Incredible! I like that you matched the shirt's motifs to the bride's dress.
7/2/13 7:36 AM
Rhoda K said...
I have to agree with all the above - exquisite!Thanks for the updated photos!
7/2/13 7:55 AM
Amanda.Claire said...
Unbelievable! Fabulous shirt and work you put into this!!
7/2/13 7:08 PM
WoodfordGormley said...
Beautiful guayabera! I wish I could find this patterns so I could make them for my son and husband. Is there such a thing as a pattern library? If not, there should be. I know patterns would be trickier than say, books, to lend, but really, in this digital age, could we not scan them and archive on computers? anyway, beautiful shirt, and how nice to be able to sew something so important for your son.
8/31/13 11:48 AM
Liana Krissoff said...
This is beautiful. I'm about to embark on a similar project using this pattern, and your notes and photos are very helpful. Thanks so much for posting.
4/14/14 9:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2013-123B
photo
Review by dillyo on 1/23/13
Read Review

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Prepster Pullover Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2559
photo
Review by cegehin on 10/31/12
Read Review

New Look 6932 Pattern
New Look 6932 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us