Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2635 (Misses wardrobe) - Type:Out of Print Classics    printable version
Viewed 427 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:morzel
photo
About morzelstarstar
GERMANY
Member since: 9/28/06
Reviews written: 81
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 79
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/24/08 12:49 PM
Last Updated:5/24/08 12:55 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tailypo said...
Aw. I love your fabric, love your construction, and love the jacket that you were trying to make. Too bad this one is a clunker. Thanks for saving me from ever trying this one -- I would no doubt have grabbed it if I ever came across it, since I love the style too!
5/24/08 1:21 PM
nancy2001 said...
How disappointing that the pattern turned out to be so oversized. But I think it's a great idea for you to draft your own pattern since the general safari style is very smart looking on you.
5/24/08 1:26 PM
Em's Summer said...
It's such a pretty style! I'm so sorry you don't like it. I have to say, though, that it looks good in the pic. Do you think you can save it? Since it's very big, maybe you can turn it into a hoodless anorak by finishing it and adding elastic at the waist? If you do turn it into an anorak and have extra fabric, you could also make a detachable hood for it.
5/24/08 1:41 PM
Heatherrique said...
This looks like it would have been a great style for you, chic and stylish! I agree with Em's suggestion if you can save it and not just leave it.
5/24/08 1:55 PM
mollyshark said...
As with most of the big 4 patterns, bust size will always be too big. Go by high bust always and then do FBA if you need it. When it says very loose fitting, I usually do another size down. The only way to tell is to do a quick tissue paper fit but the high bust is almost always in blood with these companies.
5/24/08 3:31 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, I find it somewhat irritating that you even look good in your VERY loose-fitting jacket. :o) Maybe you could wear it as outerwear! BUT ... I'm going to venture into the black hole, because seems to me I've got a real cute pattern that has that safari style, yet looks to be more fitted. I think it's out of print, but that's not a problem anymore, thanks to the omnipresent eBay. In fact, I think I even have TWO safari type patterns. I'll look and let you know. Great review!
5/24/08 3:35 PM
morzel said...
Thanks, Annette, would be very interested in those pattern numbers!
5/24/08 3:50 PM
Beek said...
Wow. I am so glad yo reviewed this pattern. It is in my stash and I, too, usually sew up the size 12. You've saved me the aggravation. Thanks!
5/24/08 4:33 PM
CarolynGM said...
Thank goodness I don't have this pattern in my stash, but if I did, your review would spare me the pain of making it. With Vogue, I either avoid styles described as very loose fitting, or go down a size. VLF jackets can have 10 inches or more of bust ease.
5/24/08 4:38 PM
Annette1 said...
Okay, I'm emerging from the black hole, looking considerably the worse for wear. I can't believe the ONE pattern I was thinking of, I COULDN'T FIND. This only reinforces my belief that you should NEVER clean up the sewing room. I did find it on eBay, though. It's Simplicity 4231, which you can find at this link: http://cgi.ebay.com/Simplicity-Sewing-Pattern-4231-Misses-Jacket-8-16_W0QQitemZ290126300991QQihZ019QQcategoryZ11801QQrdZ1QQssPageNameZWD1VQQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp1638Q2em118Q2el1247. While I was looking for it, though, I found these OTHER sajari-type jacket patterns. :o) I took a picture of them for you (front and back of envelopes) which you can find at THIS link: http://flickr.com/photos/14037321@N06/ The Simplicity and Vogue ones are current, the Butterick is out of print. It's REALLY neat, I think. You could probably find it online someplace. No doubt you can design one better yourself, but these will give you food for thought, if nothing else. :o)
5/24/08 6:27 PM
morzel said...
Thank you, Annette, for taking even photos! Great stuff, I love the style of your Vogue pattern (well, there envelopes do look stylish!). But the Simplicity is my favourite, another PRmember featured this on her blog just recently. Will try a draft similar to that...
5/25/08 0:50 AM
Annette1 said...
Yeah, I know what you mean about that Vogue one. When I was peering at it, I wondered if it would end up with the same problem of being VERY loose fitting. :o) I really like the PANTS on that one, though, so I'll probably try them sometime. Happy sewing!
5/25/08 1:50 AM
blue mooney said...
Too bad this didn't work out! That safari style looks great. The envelope photos really do make it look like it's supposed to be a little more fitted, and their sizing is off. Truth in photography, is that too much to ask? I hope you can save this - it's a good color for you, and you've put a lot of work into it.
5/25/08 8:22 AM
moushka said...
The style is very flattering on you so run with it! Vogue has the photo patterns fitted to each model individually, somebody nearly 6' tall, measuring around 33-24-35 with a 19-21 inch BW length. The patterns are not cut and sewn for a fit model who would have the exact same measurements as a size 10 or 12 pattern. The stylist in charge of the photo shoot will then refine the fit even more with clothespins. Even if the Vogue sewing room sewed the pattern with the ten inches of ease specified in the pattern, if you were to see the model from the back during the shoot, she's probably clothes-pinned from top to bottom to make the jacket look the way the stylist thinks it should. Normally, Vogue does print the bust, waist and hip finished measurements on the pattern tissue. I've found it worthwhile to measure myself, just in case, although they are usually right. Truly, you can't go by the picture any more, although the description is usually accurate. Years ago, you could rely on the photo to reflect the actual garment. Now, you must measure the tissue yourself and double check the printed measurement. HTH. Sue
5/25/08 1:07 PM
Kbenco said...
How annoying to have this turn out too big. I love the style and colour on you.
5/26/08 0:26 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 4412 Jacket
photo
Review by snowflake ... on 5/16/07
Read Review

Sis Boom Molly Peasant Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Molly Peasant Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2497 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by CissieW on 5/24/12
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $27.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8880 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6499 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6499 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us