Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
EvaDress: ACC-117 (Gloves - circa 1933) - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 377 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Liana
photo
About Lianastarstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 8/31/03
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 125 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/27/08 6:30 PM
Last Updated:5/27/08 6:30 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Yarndiva said...
Thank you for this great review. Inspirational. I can see these being a very cool accessory for formal wear and a practical and beautiful one for nights out in winter. The photos are helpful too.
5/27/08 6:58 PM
lcavagnolo said...
How dainty and elegant! I'd always said to myself that gloves were the one thing I'd never care to make, but then I'd never considered the hand sewing option before. Thanks for your review, and for changing my mind on that one! :)
5/27/08 7:00 PM
Elona said...
What a nice, complete review of your process and of the lovely finished gloves, Liana!
5/27/08 8:56 PM
Elona said...
What a nice, complete review of your process and of the lovely finished gloves, Liana!
5/27/08 8:58 PM
LouiseS said...
Liana, your gloves are just exquisite! The only glove pattern reference I've ever seen was one in which you traced your hand. From your blog it sounds as if you are disappointed not to be able to get at your sewing machine, but what a wonderful project to work on. Thank you for the inspiration! All the best, from an avid fan of your blog, - Louise
5/27/08 9:11 PM
Em's Summer said...
Your gloves look wonderful!!! I have some glove patterns and after seeing how great yours turned out, I'm feeling inspired and might try sewing a pair. BTW--your accessories pics are TDF! I love the way you covered your shoes! How did you do that?
5/27/08 9:45 PM
Liana said...
Thank you all! It's a fun project, but you're right Louise, I would like to get back to my machine. Em's Summer, Thanks for the shoe comment! I did a review of the process here. Shoe Covering Review
5/27/08 10:03 PM
Mufffet said...
These are lovely and looking at your photos, so are your kitties! How lovely they are.
5/27/08 10:15 PM
Eli said...
Wow! This is something I would have never attempted. They are beautiful and your review is so thorough! I love the beeded cuff as well, btw:)
5/27/08 11:06 PM
cmarie12 said...
Liana - this is one of the kewlest things you have EVER made! Amazing!!!
5/27/08 11:09 PM
Em's Summer said...
Thank you so much for the link!
5/28/08 0:08 AM
CA Eisenhour said...
WOW! I am ever so impressed! Your gloves are absolutely incredible! I also love your lingerie on your website. You are indeed a talented woman!! BTW, what types of stitches did you use throughout the glove making process? ~Connie
5/28/08 1:09 AM
blue mooney said...
What a unique project and very cool pair of gloves! Making the iron-on transfer was inspired.
5/28/08 7:17 AM
nancy2001 said...
Your gloves are absolutely amazing, and it was a brilliant idea to sew them by hand. I once tried to sew a pair by machine, and they were a disaster.
5/28/08 10:45 AM
sarahb said...
Gloves. Very cool.
5/28/08 10:02 PM
XandraReynolds said...
I loves the gloves, and your blog! Thank you for picking this pattern up from me!
6/7/08 12:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Simplicity 2187
photo
Review by TriciaZ on 10/23/11
Read Review

Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)
Sew Chic Starter Skirt Pattern (ln1000)

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Purse-Nickities
Purse-Nickities

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5419 Girls' Tops
photo
Review by Edris on 6/20/08
Read Review

Simplicity 2397 Pattern( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2397 Pattern( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1179 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1179 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us